[README] How to be a High-Quality Noob

dbh97
contributor
contributor
Github Username: chuckwagoncomputing
Slack: dbh97

How to be a High-Quality Noob

Post by dbh97 »

Hello there. My name is David, and I am a noob.
We noobs can get a lot of flack. And for good reasons. We tend to ask a lot of dumb questions, try to solve problems with dumb solutions, and just get in the way in general. But that doesn't mean we need to go hide in a corner until we're not noobs any more! That ain't gonna work. Instead, we need to put forth some effort to be High-Quality Noobs. Not just your garden variety noob, but a noob that people won't hate. What does it take? Well, a core principle that I've been thinking about lately is "Teachability". Last Sunday the following writing was read over the pulpit, and I thought it was good enough to share:
So what does unteachabilty look like?
  • Don’t take notes, read books, or learn anything unless it’s the bare minimum or what’s essential for exam purposes.
  • Don’t ask questions or attempt anything that might reveal your ignorance or risk you looking stupid.
  • Don’t accept responsibility for your failures but blame anyone and everyone else.
  • Don’t seek or accept one-to-one personal guidance or mentoring from parents, teachers, pastors, elders, etc.
  • Don’t listen, but talk, talk, talk about yourself, especially when you’re with someone you could learn a lot from.
  • Don’t take criticism or correction without resentment or retaliation.
  • Resist moving out of personal comfort zones in work, study, ministry, or relationships, but always look for the easy and familiar route.
  • Don’t read, listen to, or learn anything that challenges existing presuppositions, practices, and prejudices.
In contrast, teachability means:
  • You’re aware of the limitations of your own knowledge and abilities.
  • You admit limitation, inability, and ignorance to others who can teach and help.