Troubleshooting: setting up the board with pre-compiled code

Post Reply
skeeters_keeper
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 3:18 am

Troubleshooting: setting up the board with pre-compiled code

Post by skeeters_keeper »

I have finally started playing with my STM32, and I've run into some questions and as others come along they may have the same problems. So I'll start by asking my questions here.

I have successfully installed ST-Link utility and followed the writeup here: http://rusefi.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=283

First I played with the original (pre-installed) program a little (using the STM32 as a "mouse") then followed the writeup. It connected and after programing using the rusefi.hex file I reset the board and it went back to flashing all the LEDs like it had before. I re-checked things and tried again - same thing. So I tried erasing the board and that was successful (no more flashing LEDs). So I tried re-programing again and it didn't change anything. I must be missing something - any ideas what I should try next?

User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 10640
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City

Re: Troubleshooting: setting up the board with pre-compiled

Post by AndreyB »

rusEfi expected behavior is
1) flash all four LEDs once - that's a 'hello LEDs' test
2) constantly flash the blue LED
3) if micro-USB is connected (the second, lower USB) we are expecting to see a Virtual COM device

So, you start ST LINK Utility,, hit Target>Program, Browse, Start. And what happens? What is the exact LED behavior?
https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239

skeeters_keeper
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 3:18 am

Re: Troubleshooting: setting up the board with pre-compiled

Post by skeeters_keeper »

Success now :)

As usual it was a user error - though I'm not sure how. When I downloaded the .hex file the first time it included some other lines of text (HTML, actually). I opened the .hex file with a text editor and realized right away that that was not right :roll:

So I downloaded the file again and all is well - flashing blue LED after reset. LD8 is also flashing red.

Next I will try getting tuner studio running I think. Tomorrow. Then to hook up to the tach output from the car!

User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 10640
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City

Re: Troubleshooting: setting up the board with pre-compiled

Post by AndreyB »

We still have this issue that each firmware is hardcoded to run either shell or TS on microUSB

So you will probably need a USB TTL to get TS because I am stuck in FL and I can confirm if trunk is now functional or not :)
https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239

Post Reply