Mazda Skyactive Cam sensor

User avatar
TechnicalAutoNZ
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed May 25, 2022 4:30 am
Location: Waikato New Zealand
Contact:

Mazda Skyactive Cam sensor

Post by TechnicalAutoNZ »

Hi peoples,
I have a triky one and I am looking for help.

The vehicle I am using has a mazda skyactive engine and I need to sync the injectors. The crank uses a 60-2 hall effect signal and the Cam is a odd one The yellow trace is the Inlet cam, the blue is cylinder 1 coil events so that I could get a full cam rotation. the purple was the fuel solinoid (can ignore for now). How do I set the proteus up to accept the cam signal also a hall effect?
Attachments
Screenshot 2022-08-22 150307.png
Screenshot 2022-08-22 150307.png (314.1 KiB) Viewed 22269 times
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14381
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Mazda Skyactive Cam sensor

Post by AndreyB »

Yellow signal looks like a custom six tooth wheel? As of today the way for you to decode this would be for me to add a bit of new code, new trigger pattern. Year/model of vehicle would be nice, a photo of the cam for me to put a protractor above it would be nice.

Technically your scope image is good enough for me to have all the angle data, really all I need is year/model to come up with a nice name for the new shape.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Skyactiv says G, X, D - I believe those are differences between those? Is it Skyactiv-X with cylinder pressure sensor?
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
mck1117
running engine in first post
running engine in first post
Posts: 1495
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 2:05 am
Location: Seattle-ish

Re: Mazda Skyactive Cam sensor

Post by mck1117 »

Skyactiv also has a lot of weirdness.....can we know a little more about the goals of the project?
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14381
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Mazda Skyactive Cam sensor

Post by AndreyB »

Just added "Mazda Mystery" VVT option. Please use snapshot version of the firmware from https://rusefi.com/build_server/
image.png
image.png (25.47 KiB) Viewed 22237 times
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
User avatar
TechnicalAutoNZ
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed May 25, 2022 4:30 am
Location: Waikato New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Mazda Skyactive Cam sensor

Post by TechnicalAutoNZ »

Hi Andrey,

As far as I know its a 2014 Mazda 2 Skyactive 1.3 petrol. I only have the engine and not the vehicle. Thanks for the updated camwheel. insidently the exhaust cam has the same pattern. I Didi not remove the cam cover to see the tone wheel.

Ray
mck1117
running engine in first post
running engine in first post
Posts: 1495
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 2:05 am
Location: Seattle-ish

Re: Mazda Skyactive Cam sensor

Post by mck1117 »

Ah, the tiny one!
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14381
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Mazda Skyactive Cam sensor

Post by AndreyB »

Mazda want you to drop the "e" at the end :)

So Skyactiv-G
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
mck1117
running engine in first post
running engine in first post
Posts: 1495
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 2:05 am
Location: Seattle-ish

Re: Mazda Skyactive Cam sensor

Post by mck1117 »

Do you plan to try and run the VVT on this engine? Does yours have the same insane brushless motor thing on the intake cam as my 2019 MX-5 (2 liter Skyactiv)?
mck1117
running engine in first post
running engine in first post
Posts: 1495
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 2:05 am
Location: Seattle-ish

Re: Mazda Skyactive Cam sensor

Post by mck1117 »

Service manual says
image.png
image.png (100.72 KiB) Viewed 22223 times
But later when looking at the electrical signal it says they are indeed positive pulses.
image.png
image.png (59.79 KiB) Viewed 22223 times
mck1117
running engine in first post
running engine in first post
Posts: 1495
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 2:05 am
Location: Seattle-ish

Re: Mazda Skyactive Cam sensor

Post by mck1117 »

Looks like the high pressure fuel pump is indeed the "spill valve" type that we support.
image.png
image.png (30.61 KiB) Viewed 22222 times
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14381
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Mazda Skyactive Cam sensor

Post by AndreyB »

2020 Mazda and 2020 Subaru ECU use similar case and connector? I wonder if there are pinout overlaps https://github.com/rusefi/rusefi/wiki/OEM-Docs/Toyota/Toyota-2022-GR86.pdf
image.png
image.png (110.85 KiB) Viewed 22206 times
image.png
image.png (164.52 KiB) Viewed 22206 times
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
User avatar
TechnicalAutoNZ
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed May 25, 2022 4:30 am
Location: Waikato New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Mazda Skyactive Cam sensor

Post by TechnicalAutoNZ »

Hi Andrey,

Sorry new guy here. I got the new firmware installed, eventually. My brain still a little lost.
I have also found where you have put the "mystery Mazda". Does this setting allow for a 60-2 Crank and Special Mazda cam signal?

I also now have a critical error this is new, how can I see what is causing it?

Regrads
Ray
User avatar
MHTSOS
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2019 6:46 pm
Github Username: MHTSOSVOODOO
Slack: Dimitri C

Re: Mazda Skyactive Cam sensor

Post by MHTSOS »

When you connect tunerstudio it should pop up a dialog box saying what's the critical error.

Στάλθηκε από το VOG-L29 μου χρησιμοποιώντας Tapatalk

User avatar
TechnicalAutoNZ
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed May 25, 2022 4:30 am
Location: Waikato New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Mazda Skyactive Cam sensor

Post by TechnicalAutoNZ »

Hi MHTSOS,

I get no errors when I connect TS. :(
mck1117
running engine in first post
running engine in first post
Posts: 1495
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 2:05 am
Location: Seattle-ish

Re: Mazda Skyactive Cam sensor

Post by mck1117 »

Cam you take a screenshot of whatever error you see? We haven't yet developed telepathy to read your mind directly, so we have to rely on pictures instead.
User avatar
TechnicalAutoNZ
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed May 25, 2022 4:30 am
Location: Waikato New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Mazda Skyactive Cam sensor

Post by TechnicalAutoNZ »

Hi I think i found something....

Might be this INI file error?


121 Warnings:
see the TXT file attached
Attachments
Errors.txt
(147.58 KiB) Downloaded 275 times
error.PNG
error.PNG (104.16 KiB) Viewed 22137 times
mck1117
running engine in first post
running engine in first post
Posts: 1495
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 2:05 am
Location: Seattle-ish

Re: Mazda Skyactive Cam sensor

Post by mck1117 »

TechnicalAutoNZ wrote:
Wed Aug 31, 2022 7:01 am
121 Warnings:
see the TXT file attached
Don't worry about those for now, it will be fixed in the next release of TunerStudio.

If you have that "CRITICAL ERROR" light lit up, you should have something that looks like this:
image.png
image.png (305.97 KiB) Viewed 22135 times
Have you updated TunerStudio lately?
User avatar
TechnicalAutoNZ
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed May 25, 2022 4:30 am
Location: Waikato New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Mazda Skyactive Cam sensor

Post by TechnicalAutoNZ »

I dont get any errors like yours.

I did make a new project and I now get this error. Wonder if the new firmware is the issue?
Attachments
Capture11.PNG
Capture11.PNG (97.23 KiB) Viewed 22129 times
mck1117
running engine in first post
running engine in first post
Posts: 1495
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 2:05 am
Location: Seattle-ish

Re: Mazda Skyactive Cam sensor

Post by mck1117 »

Hit "update ecu definition" and let it connect.
User avatar
TechnicalAutoNZ
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed May 25, 2022 4:30 am
Location: Waikato New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Mazda Skyactive Cam sensor

Post by TechnicalAutoNZ »

OK well that was a long night.

The issue seemes to be only isolated to the new firmware "20220831_023949_proteus_f4_rusefi" this one has the "mystery Mazda" option.

If i restore the firmare to a earlier one it functions again, go figure.....

I have no idea on how to fix this. :geek:
Attachments
Capture2.PNG
Capture2.PNG (102.63 KiB) Viewed 22070 times
mck1117
running engine in first post
running engine in first post
Posts: 1495
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 2:05 am
Location: Seattle-ish

Re: Mazda Skyactive Cam sensor

Post by mck1117 »

can you post your tune file at rusefi.com/online
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14381
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Mazda Skyactive Cam sensor

Post by AndreyB »

I believe that any crank decoder is expected to work with any cam decoder.

Without an exact URL of your tune at https://rusefi.com/online we are blind.
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
User avatar
TechnicalAutoNZ
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed May 25, 2022 4:30 am
Location: Waikato New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Mazda Skyactive Cam sensor

Post by TechnicalAutoNZ »

I have uploaded a tune that sort of works, but it is on the older firmware.
This tune does not have the skyactiv option.
mck1117
running engine in first post
running engine in first post
Posts: 1495
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 2:05 am
Location: Seattle-ish

Re: Mazda Skyactive Cam sensor

Post by mck1117 »

please upload your current tune (and link it here) in exactly the configuration that causes this issue
User avatar
TechnicalAutoNZ
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed May 25, 2022 4:30 am
Location: Waikato New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Mazda Skyactive Cam sensor

Post by TechnicalAutoNZ »

I have up loaded the new firmware and must have done something right :o

It now works no errors, dont know why. Recon because I started a new project in TS might have helped.

The interesting thing is this it seems that the "mystery Mazda" option places the cam signal on the crank.

The crank is a 60-2 signal and I need the new one for the cam
Attachments
Capture4.PNG
Capture4.PNG (22.44 KiB) Viewed 22056 times
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14381
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Mazda Skyactive Cam sensor

Post by AndreyB »

TechnicalAutoNZ wrote:
Wed Aug 31, 2022 11:38 pm
The interesting thing is this it seems that the "mystery Mazda" option places the cam signal on the crank.
That's a vague statement. What "places" in what regard?

We have a lot of moving pieces.
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
mck1117
running engine in first post
running engine in first post
Posts: 1495
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 2:05 am
Location: Seattle-ish

Re: Mazda Skyactive Cam sensor

Post by mck1117 »

AndreyB wrote:
Wed Aug 31, 2022 11:43 pm
TechnicalAutoNZ wrote:
Wed Aug 31, 2022 11:38 pm
The interesting thing is this it seems that the "mystery Mazda" option places the cam signal on the crank.
That's a vague statement. What "places" in what regard?

We have a lot of moving pieces.
You forgot to add it to the cam modes list, and instead added it to the crank modes list. I'll PR a fix.
mck1117
running engine in first post
running engine in first post
Posts: 1495
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 2:05 am
Location: Seattle-ish

Re: Mazda Skyactive Cam sensor

Post by mck1117 »

User avatar
TechnicalAutoNZ
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed May 25, 2022 4:30 am
Location: Waikato New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Mazda Skyactive Cam sensor

Post by TechnicalAutoNZ »

I used the ecu stimulator to get a idle speed then used diagnostic high speed loggers to capture the screen shot. I noticed that there is no 60-2 crank pattern but rather the cam pattern and in the what would be the cam patters is a single tooth pattern.

I am the new guy here and likley have thing wrong, please let me know :?
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14381
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Mazda Skyactive Cam sensor

Post by AndreyB »

1. please wait at least 33 minutes to let system build new snapshot with https://github.com/rusefi/rusefi/commit/ca4936d3fe85b4e78b8471ed2217692a7fd4bc9c fix

2. please update firmware and update project definition

3. please set 60/2 crank and mazda skyactiv cam mode on advanced trigger

4. please provide full exact URL of your tune from #3 with changes

5. please do not skip 4

6. please make sure to include full url in 4.
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
Post Reply