[README] Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

puff
contributor
contributor
Posts: 2961
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 11:28 am
Location: Moskau

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Post by puff »

file info has file created time, which is more exact than date. btw, you can learn the date after flashing the firmware - it's in the caption bar of the java console. the problem is if the day is good, the world wil see more than one firmware, which potentially leads to some misunderstanding...
User avatar
UnaClocker
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 12:14 am
Location: Tacoma, WA

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Post by UnaClocker »

Really shouldn't be releasing compiled versions more than once a day. We should have known good stable builds, not the bleeding edge "Oh, I tried this new trick and it didn't work out, sorry about your pistons" versions - obviously there's a time and a place for alpha alpha test versions, just need to have a stable version that gets periodically updated.
And my computer shows the date that I extracted the files from the zip, and the zip is dated the day I downloaded it. So that kind of file info must be highly operating system dependent.
Brian from Tacoma, WA
84 Dodge Rampage
01 PT Cruiser
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14292
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Post by AndreyB »

Yes you are right that the date should go into the file name and that would be the most user-friendly solution, but this and a zillion of other small improvements all cost time. We are still a bare bones operation, so I've added a line containing the date and time into the svnversion.h file which comes with the bundle. That's less user-friendly, but this I can do faster.

Yes you are right about a stable branch vs development branch, but again - we are a bare bones operation here, people come and people disappear. I do not have time to develop & test it properly, the people with real engines are not active, blah blah blah. (it's not THAT bad - there is some automated testing see http://rusefi.com/wiki/index.php?title=Development:Software:quality_assurance - without these tests it would have been impossible to develop anything)

Unfortunately right now I am not sure if we have enough for a nice stable branch - all this is still raw. We need more effort to get anything worth a branch, and currently there is not enough to attract & keep people. (Now that I am thinking about that, the version before the new high-precision timer was good. It's all in SVN history so maybe it would become a stable branch one day - current version with the new scheduler seem to still hang up randomly)
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
User avatar
UnaClocker
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 12:14 am
Location: Tacoma, WA

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Post by UnaClocker »

Yeah, that's cool, I understand. Another one of those things for the to-do list I mentioned in another thread. We'll get more contributors eventually. People who can both code microcontrollers, and understand the intricacies of the internal combustion engine and it's processes are pretty rare.
Brian from Tacoma, WA
84 Dodge Rampage
01 PT Cruiser
tomiata
contributor
contributor
Posts: 234
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 2:30 am
Location: Texas

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Post by tomiata »

I've added a line containing the date and time into the svnversion.h
Is this expected, yesterday's build for 7/17/16 firmware bundle shows:
#define VCS_VERSION "10233"

If I do an "svn update -r10233" the svnversion.h file shows:
#define VCS_VERSION "10205"

Is that because the sequencing of updating the svnversion.h file vs. the last file updated for a build?
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14292
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Post by AndreyB »

tomiata wrote:If I do an "svn update -r10233" the svnversion.h file shows:
#define VCS_VERSION "10205"
svnversion.h is updated with current SVN version locally while compiling but it's not being updated and/or checked into the repository on every commit. I just manually commit fresh svnversion.h into SVN mostly to trigger new build without changing the rest of the source code if build has failed for some reason.

This way the content of svnversion.h within a bundle reflects the right SVN version but not the actual content of the SVN. I believe back with CVS there was a native way of having true repository versions in the files, but not with SVN.
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
Dschantz
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2017 11:54 am

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Post by Dschantz »

Hi,

i just bought my self an STM32F4 Discovery STM32F407 Cortex-m4 Development Board to test the rusefi. I have loaded the firmware whit out a problem but when i connect the micro usb to use the console software the computer do not detect the hardware. I have installed the driver as described. And i use the mini usb for power. Is there a jumper setting that i am missing ? When i reset the board all the 4 led blink ones but i have one green blinking not a blue as described.

Best regards
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14292
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Post by AndreyB »

Welcome to the forum!

Can you upload a video of what you are doing to youtube? Problem is there are too many LEDs on the discovery and too many of these are red or green. I am not sure which green you are referring to.

Technically there are two firmwares to upload - discovery board firmware (optional upgrade from default weird version) and rusEfi firmware. I believe you have not uploaded rusEfi firmware. How did you do it exactly? Worth mentioning that rusEfi console own upload buttons are broken at the moment, you have to use st link utility.
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
Dschantz
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2017 11:54 am

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Post by Dschantz »

Thanks for the reply,

I used the st-link link software to upload the firmware. And i downloaded the firmware from the build server.

There are 4 green led in the center for the board. When i did power up the board for the first time with out the rusefi firmware these led where blinking. I will make a movie later on.

Thank you.
Dschantz
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2017 11:54 am

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Post by Dschantz »

How can i upload both firmware ? and where do i get the discovery board firmware ?

Thanks
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14292
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Post by AndreyB »

discovery firmware is not important for you at the moment - but that's st link utility > ST LINK > Firmware update

rusEfi firmware is probably what you want to update - st link utility > target > Program... and point at some rusefi file from uncompressed http://rusefi.com/build_server/rusefi_bundle.zip
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
Dschantz
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2017 11:54 am

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Post by Dschantz »

I have done this part:
rusEfi firmware is probably what you want to update - st link utility > target > Program... and point at some rusefi file from uncompressed http://rusefi.com/build_server/rusefi_bundle.zip

But when i connect the micro usb to the computer it is not detected, There are no com ports
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14292
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Post by AndreyB »

Did you have a chance to make a video of how the board looks after the firmware update?
What operating system are you using?
Can you please post a screen shot of your Device Manager window if you are using Windows?
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
Dschantz
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2017 11:54 am

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Post by Dschantz »

I`m sorry i cant get my youtube account to work, but i uploaded the movie to my google drive


I`m using windows 7
device.png
device.png (45.71 KiB) Viewed 45646 times
Abricos
contributor
contributor
Posts: 849
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2014 12:32 am
Location: Carteret, NJ 07008

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Post by Abricos »

ha ha ha )))) all led GREEN ))))
where did you buy it ??? link
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14292
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Post by AndreyB »

WHAT IS THIS? Where did you buy and what _exactly_ was it called? How much did you pay for it?

This looks different from my discovery boards: no ST logo, no revision number on the board next to the logo, audio jack is not black.

But on the other hand the right LED is blinking so it does look like rusEfi firmware.

Do you have a USB/TTL device by any chance to try the non-USB serial port?
Attachments
what_is_it.png
what_is_it.png (769.36 KiB) Viewed 45643 times
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
Dschantz
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2017 11:54 am

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Post by Dschantz »

I found it on ebay, did not pay much for it. i have a usb/ttl device

http://www.ebay.com/itm/321990090213
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14292
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Post by AndreyB »

Dschantz wrote:i have a usb/ttl device
I believe your board is not authentic, I would love to have one like that for my collection. Looking forward the exact eBay link.

With TTL you can do the following:

See http://rusefi.com/wiki/index.php?title=Manual:Software:User/en

Once the USB TTL Serial device and drivers are installed, connect GND wire to GND on the brain board
connect RX wire of the TTL to pin PC10
connect TX wire of the TTL to pin PC11
3) Set up the new serial port @ 38400 with 8/N/1 no flow control using your favorite terminal
4) Hit button 't' on the keyboard. You should get something like this:
4073 Alive
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
Dschantz
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2017 11:54 am

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Post by Dschantz »

http://www.ebay.com/itm/321990090213

My english and english grammar is not that grate so i apologize :roll:
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14292
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Post by AndreyB »

The picture on eBay shows ST logo and MB997C (older) part number - I believe you should request a full refund because your board is not real. LEDs colors are different - I believe eBay would take your side in this claim.

Where are you located?
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14292
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Post by AndreyB »

Would you allow me to post your video on youtube? I think it's pretty hilarious.
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
Dschantz
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2017 11:54 am

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Post by Dschantz »

Yes you can post the video on youtube.

And thanks i will ask for a refund =)

but it looks like the usb/ttl did the trick :P

I live in norway
rusefi.png
rusefi.png (107.33 KiB) Viewed 44897 times
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14292
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Post by AndreyB »

Dschantz wrote:i will ask for a refund =)
I believe http://www.mouser.com is big in Europe? You want manufacturer Part #: STM32F407G-DISC1
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
Dschantz
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2017 11:54 am

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Post by Dschantz »

Thanks =) I use https://www.elfadistrelec.no for buying parts, i see now that thay also have it :P
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14292
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Post by AndreyB »

@ can you please post a detailed picture of this board?
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
Dschantz
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2017 11:54 am

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Post by Dschantz »

IMG_1766.JPG
IMG_1766.JPG (2.41 MiB) Viewed 44882 times
IMG_1765.JPG
IMG_1765.JPG (2.9 MiB) Viewed 44882 times
Abricos
contributor
contributor
Posts: 849
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2014 12:32 am
Location: Carteret, NJ 07008

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Post by Abricos »

It may be the elimination of these problems (which I have highlighted in the photo) will help you ...
Attachments
IMG_1766.JPG
IMG_1766.JPG (2.27 MiB) Viewed 44867 times
Old Grey
contributor
contributor
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2016 10:20 pm
Location: AUS Sydney 2200

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Post by Old Grey »

The Wiki and Forum says to use the rusefi.hex, but when I did my tutorial 6mths ago the bundles(snapshot_20181013_1510_rusefi & snapshot_20180929_2303_rusefi) didn't have a rusefi.hex, so I used rusefi_release.hex.

It seams to work with both so I don't really know if there is a difference, but is there a difference, or more importantly is the rusefi.hex in the new bundle correct.
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14292
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Post by AndreyB »

rusefi.hex or rusefi_release.hex or rusefi_debug.hex is same thing for our purposes.
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
Post Reply