Page 1 of 1

Custom board base on Proteus Software trouble

Posted: Tue Aug 17, 2021 11:09 pm
by hugovw1976
I made my custom board base on Proteus:
Proteus_Little_2.png
Proteus_Little_2.png (421.38 KiB) Viewed 11874 times
20210810_172117.jpg
20210810_172117.jpg (1.88 MiB) Viewed 11874 times
Just with a few outputs omitted (only one electronic throttle body, only 12 Low-Side outputs).
I compile the proteus firmware for F4 without changes, I test all output and inputs and all works fine except for analog input 1, I have this error:
Proteus_error.png
Proteus_error.png (19.03 KiB) Viewed 11874 times
Someone know how can I fix this.

Re: custom board base on Proteus

Posted: Wed Aug 18, 2021 7:35 am
by JRD McLAREN
...you can use PC0 pin twice...

Check your configuration, change it, and restart ECU

Re: custom board base on Proteus

Posted: Wed Aug 18, 2021 9:00 am
by puff
is this remark on your github still valid? :)
Please do not use the gerber files, the board is not tested yet! P&P file not tested on JLC PCB (Board is hand soldering)

Re: custom board base on Proteus

Posted: Wed Aug 18, 2021 11:20 am
by hugovw1976
JRD McLAREN wrote:
Wed Aug 18, 2021 7:35 am
...you can use PC0 pin twice...

Check your configuration, change it, and restart ECU
I know, but I don't know why say pin pc0 is used by HIP9011 where can disable HIP9011 I don't have any.

Re: custom board base on Proteus

Posted: Wed Aug 18, 2021 11:21 am
by hugovw1976
puff wrote:
Wed Aug 18, 2021 9:00 am
is this remark on your github still valid? :)
Please do not use the gerber files, the board is not tested yet! P&P file not tested on JLC PCB (Board is hand soldering)
Yes, board not yet tested on real engine.

Re: Custom board base on Proteus Software trouble

Posted: Wed Aug 18, 2021 11:58 am
by puff
may be that was preset for proteus? try disabling hip in tuner studio?
if it is not a secret, what was the production cost per one unit and how did you cope with chip shortage? soldered it on your own?

Re: Custom board base on Proteus Software trouble

Posted: Wed Aug 18, 2021 1:59 pm
by hugovw1976
puff wrote:
Wed Aug 18, 2021 11:58 am
may be that was preset for proteus? try disabling hip in tuner studio?
if it is not a secret, what was the production cost per one unit and how did you cope with chip shortage? soldered it on your own?
In Tuner Studio don't have any option for dissable HIP9011. I Still need to check all component prices but about $250 per unit. The mos dificult to find was STM32F407ZGT6, I order some Develomped Board from Aliexpress and desolder chips. I use stencil and a reflow oven to solder front components and the back components solder by hand.

Re: Custom board base on Proteus Software trouble

Posted: Wed Aug 18, 2021 2:29 pm
by puff
isn't it in Controller menu?
Снимок экрана 2021-08-18 в 17.28.37.png
Снимок экрана 2021-08-18 в 17.28.37.png (200.4 KiB) Viewed 11821 times

Re: Custom board base on Proteus Software trouble

Posted: Wed Aug 18, 2021 6:07 pm
by mck1117
Did you really build proteus firmware? You mention F407, but the proteus firmware image requires F427/9 for the extra memory.

Re: Custom board base on Proteus Software trouble

Posted: Wed Aug 18, 2021 6:14 pm
by AndreyB
Please provide much more details. Please spell out how exactly have you build. please spell out why do you need to build at all not use one of official binaries.

Re: Custom board base on Proteus Software trouble

Posted: Thu Aug 19, 2021 1:35 am
by hugovw1976
puff wrote:
Wed Aug 18, 2021 2:29 pm
isn't it in Controller menu?
Снимок экрана 2021-08-18 в 17.28.37.png
In tuner studio I don't have thath menu the knock menu is diferent I think because proteus don't use HIP9011 for knock, proteus have two inputs for knock.
Proteus_knock.png
Proteus_knock.png (370.23 KiB) Viewed 11778 times
I don't know why say PC0 is used by HIP9011

Re: Custom board base on Proteus Software trouble

Posted: Thu Aug 19, 2021 1:41 am
by hugovw1976
mck1117 wrote:
Wed Aug 18, 2021 6:07 pm
Did you really build proteus firmware? You mention F407, but the proteus firmware image requires F427/9 for the extra memory.
In topic Proteus - Waterproof, High-feature ECU I ask if I can use STM32F407ZGT6 instead of STM32F429GT6 and AndreyB say YES.

I clone https://github.com/rusefi/rusefi.git and in folder rusefi/firmware7config/boards/proteus I run the !compile_proteus_f4.bat and compile for f4 I upload the rusefi.hex file created in rusefi/firmware/build folder to my board. and all inputs and outputs work fine except for analog1 (PC0) because is used by HIP9011 but proteus dont have HIP9011

Re: Custom board base on Proteus Software trouble

Posted: Thu Aug 19, 2021 1:51 am
by hugovw1976
AndreyB wrote:
Wed Aug 18, 2021 6:14 pm
Please provide much more details. Please spell out how exactly have you build. please spell out why do you need to build at all not use one of official binaries.
I made my board based on proteus schematics the STM32 chip is pin to pin compatible from proteus to my board just with some pins I don't use because I don't have 16 low side driver just 12, only one drive by wire and thath it's all other pins are the same.
I don't use official binaries because I modify the Haltech can communication because some of the channels proteus send I send them by another module (like Wheel speed). I made a custom module for 4 VR speed sensors and send those values over can bus to my datalogger display. And if this module and the ECU try to send the same channel it's a conflict.

Re: Custom board base on Proteus Software trouble

Posted: Thu Aug 19, 2021 2:01 am
by mck1117
hugovw1976 wrote:
Thu Aug 19, 2021 1:51 am
I don't use official binaries because I modify the Haltech can communication because some of the channels proteus send I send them by another module (like Wheel speed). I made a custom module for 4 VR speed sensors and send those values over can bus to my datalogger display. And if this module and the ECU try to send the same channel it's a conflict.
why not make a pull request to get that in to the official firmware?

Re: Custom board base on Proteus Software trouble

Posted: Tue Aug 24, 2021 1:12 pm
by hugovw1976
mck1117 wrote:
Thu Aug 19, 2021 2:01 am
hugovw1976 wrote:
Thu Aug 19, 2021 1:51 am
I don't use official binaries because I modify the Haltech can communication because some of the channels proteus send I send them by another module (like Wheel speed). I made a custom module for 4 VR speed sensors and send those values over can bus to my datalogger display. And if this module and the ECU try to send the same channel it's a conflict.
why not make a pull request to get that in to the official firmware?
I try official firmware but the last it's supported by STM32F407ZGT6 is 2021_05_04, new ones doesn't work I believe it because the ram memory (192 vs 256 KB).

Re: Custom board base on Proteus Software trouble

Posted: Sat Oct 23, 2021 8:05 pm
by Simon@FutureProof
I believe there are pin compatible stm32 f429 vg that will allow you to use the official firmware.

It might be worth doing a chip swap.

Proteus is intended to work with the larger ram on the 429 VG chips due to the number of features on the proteus.

Re: Custom board base on Proteus Software trouble

Posted: Tue Oct 26, 2021 8:23 pm
by mck1117
OrchardPerformance wrote:
Sat Oct 23, 2021 8:05 pm
I believe there are pin compatible stm32 f429 vg that will allow you to use the official firmware.

It might be worth doing a chip swap.

Proteus is intended to work with the larger ram on the 429 VG chips due to the number of features on the proteus.
yes, all 144 pin f407/427/429/f767/h743 are pin compatible