Proteus - Clutch Down not indicating when grounding pin

From Frankenstein to Proteus and everything in between
Post Reply
Cadence
contributor
contributor
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2020 3:50 pm

Proteus - Clutch Down not indicating when grounding pin

Post by Cadence »

I have Proteus 0.4 I am working on getting the clutch state into TS to use as an input.

Proteus firmware - Newest release loaded (20211008_163324) not snapshot
Clutch Down Switch - Digital/Switch 4 - Pin 3 on the black 23pin connector on Proteus.
Tune - https://rusefi.com/online/view.php?msq=689

I have tried setting the Clutch down settings as Pull Up, Default, and Pull Down. I have also set it as inverted with each of these settings. I see no changes when grounding Digital/Switch 4 Pin. I have tried opening console and trying to use the readpin command but both the laptop and tablet i am using with TS and RusEFI are ancient and do not play well with RusEFI console. In place of console I have set up a clutch down indicator in TS using the Rusefi clutchDownState Output Channel and see no response when grounding the Digital 4 pin. Am I missing something or should this be set differently to allow this pin to be grounded to indicate Clutch down?
Attachments
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (18.88 KiB) Viewed 1143 times
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 12215
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Proteus - Clutch Down not indicating when grounding pin

Post by AndreyB »

Cadence wrote:
Wed Oct 20, 2021 7:15 pm
I have tried opening console and trying to use the readpin command but both the laptop and tablet i am using with TS and RusEFI are ancient and do not play well with RusEFI console.
readpin command is the primary way to diagnose if hardware or software issue here. Any device running TunerStudio should have no trouble running rusEFI console.
Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239
Cadence
contributor
contributor
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2020 3:50 pm

Re: Proteus - Clutch Down not indicating when grounding pin

Post by Cadence »

I ran readpin PE13 in console after your help (thank you!)
it returns value 1 grounded and not grounded.

2021-10-20_16_07_14_200: EngineState: pin PE13 value 1
2021-10-20_16_07_14_200: EngineState: confirmation_readpin PE13:12
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 12215
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Proteus - Clutch Down not indicating when grounding pin

Post by AndreyB »

Good! Now we have reasons to suspect HW side not SW side of things :)
Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239
Cadence
contributor
contributor
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2020 3:50 pm

Re: Proteus - Clutch Down not indicating when grounding pin

Post by Cadence »

How should a Proteus digital pin be wired/configured to change the pin state in the ecu/TS?
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 12215
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Proteus - Clutch Down not indicating when grounding pin

Post by AndreyB »

Cadence wrote:
Thu Oct 21, 2021 2:54 am
How should a Proteus digital pin be wired/configured to change the pin state in the ecu/TS?
I barely understand electricity but I assume what your switch does matter as well? Typical switches are grounding in one state, and disconnected in another. Can try try testing clutch input on bench with grounding and not connecting?
Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239
Cadence
contributor
contributor
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2020 3:50 pm

Re: Proteus - Clutch Down not indicating when grounding pin

Post by Cadence »

It seems to be just digital 4 that does not respond. I tried digital 6 and 5 this morning and they are working correctly.
And as a note; pull down, pull up, and default all worked for a switch input once I switched the pin from digital 4.
Last edited by Cadence on Thu Oct 21, 2021 2:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 12215
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Proteus - Clutch Down not indicating when grounding pin

Post by AndreyB »

Cadence wrote:
Thu Oct 21, 2021 1:49 pm
It seems to be just digital 4 that does not respond. I tried digital 6 and 5 this morning and they are working correctly.
There is always a chance of hardware assembly defect :(
Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 12215
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Proteus - Clutch Down not indicating when grounding pin

Post by AndreyB »

We should have looked deeper but we did not :(

I've just wasted an hour of my life on https://github.com/rusefi/rusefi/issues/3418
Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239
Cadence
contributor
contributor
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2020 3:50 pm

Re: Proteus - Clutch Down not indicating when grounding pin

Post by Cadence »

AndreyB wrote:
Thu Oct 28, 2021 9:30 pm
We should have looked deeper but we did not :(

I've just wasted an hour of my life on https://github.com/rusefi/rusefi/issues/3418
Dang, atleast now it is known.
Post Reply