Proteus idle stepper setup

From Frankenstein to Proteus and everything in between
Post Reply
Krakert
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2021 5:31 pm
Location: Heemskerk
Github Username: Krakert

Proteus idle stepper setup

Post by Krakert »

Hey, everybody!

I got a Proteus V0.4 and I want to configure the stepper motor to control the idle adjustment on the throttle body.
For that, I need to configure some things, but not sure what is correct.
image.png
image.png (98.22 KiB) Viewed 8318 times
When I burn this configuration, I get:
image.png
image.png (29.73 KiB) Viewed 8318 times
Somebody here that could help me out, or can share their configuration.
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14361
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Proteus idle stepper setup

Post by AndreyB »

Please always include a URL of your full tune while posting those amazing settings screenshots.
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
Krakert
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2021 5:31 pm
Location: Heemskerk
Github Username: Krakert

Re: Proteus idle stepper setup

Post by Krakert »

AndreyB wrote:
Sun Dec 05, 2021 5:59 pm
Please always include a URL of your full tune while posting those amazing settings screenshots.
Of course, here are the latest settings:

https://www.rusefi.com/online/view.php?msq=760
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14361
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Proteus idle stepper setup

Post by AndreyB »

image.png
image.png (5.92 KiB) Viewed 8299 times
Let's change these to "idle valve"? We maybe/probably need better parameter validation here. I know that some work is planned in this area under https://github.com/rusefi/rusefi/issues/3657
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14361
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Proteus idle stepper setup

Post by AndreyB »

Overall the problem is that you are more or less the first person to try use this :( I am not aware of a reference configuration.

Kind of good news I need to try this _soon_ but soon could mean 4 or 12 weeks.
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14361
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Proteus idle stepper setup

Post by AndreyB »

Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
Krakert
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2021 5:31 pm
Location: Heemskerk
Github Username: Krakert

Re: Proteus idle stepper setup

Post by Krakert »

AndreyB wrote:
Sun Dec 05, 2021 10:07 pm
Overall the problem is that you are more or less the first person to try use this :( I am not aware of a reference configuration.

Kind of good news I need to try this _soon_ but soon could mean 4 or 12 weeks.
Ahh, oke, that's is a bit of a bummer, but good for the project, is there a way I could help out?
I'm not really familiar with the code or any, but I do understand those languages.
AndreyB wrote:
Sun Dec 05, 2021 10:04 pm
image.png

Let's change these to "idle valve"? We maybe/probably need better parameter validation here. I know that some work is planned in this area under https://github.com/rusefi/rusefi/issues/3657
Here are PD11 and PD8 already configured, but I am not running an ETB, should I just set these all to NONE?
image.png
image.png (18.91 KiB) Viewed 8292 times
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14361
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Proteus idle stepper setup

Post by AndreyB »

I do not know. I've asked Matt to help with https://github.com/rusefi/rusefi/issues/3661
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
Krakert
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2021 5:31 pm
Location: Heemskerk
Github Username: Krakert

Re: Proteus idle stepper setup

Post by Krakert »

This weekend I did some experimenting myself.

The current tune is online:
https://www.rusefi.com/online/view.php?msq=769

I have wired the stepper motor as following:

ETB1 negative: yellow tube (coil A)
ETB1 positive: yellow tube (coil A)
--------------------
ETB2 negative: Black tube (coil B)
ETB2 positive: Black tube (coil B)
See:


In the ETB menu, I remove all the pins that were assigned there.
image.png
image.png (59.37 KiB) Viewed 8137 times
And assigned them in the idle Valve menu:
image.png
image.png (58.79 KiB) Viewed 8137 times
When I upload this tune, I hear the steppers, power-up, and they do become a bit hot, after half a minute, so they are doing something.
But I don't know how to test/set-up them further.
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14361
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Proteus idle stepper setup

Post by AndreyB »

You can move position slider in open look idle valve control. If it does not move without RPM you can enable self-stimulation of RPM, but i think it should move even with zero RPM?
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
Krakert
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2021 5:31 pm
Location: Heemskerk
Github Username: Krakert

Re: Proteus idle stepper setup

Post by Krakert »

AndreyB wrote:
Sat Dec 11, 2021 5:45 pm
You can move position slider in open look idle valve control. If it does not move without RPM you can enable self-stimulation of RPM, but i think it should move even with zero RPM?
The menu is saying:
image.png
image.png (25.29 KiB) Viewed 8129 times
But still, with the internal trigger simulation, it is not doing anything.
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14361
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Proteus idle stepper setup

Post by AndreyB »

Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14361
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Proteus idle stepper setup

Post by AndreyB »

OMG this was all pretty broken on the UI side?!

https://github.com/rusefi/rusefi/issues/5972
image.png
image.png (90.03 KiB) Viewed 1883 times
image.png
image.png (71.97 KiB) Viewed 1877 times
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
Krakert
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2021 5:31 pm
Location: Heemskerk
Github Username: Krakert

Re: Proteus idle stepper setup

Post by Krakert »

I moved away from using the build in H-bridges, and started using a TB6600 driver.
Those drivers a cheap, and have optocoupler build in, so dont need to worry about destroying the driver.

I supply the driver with 5V of the proteus, and use 3 lowside drivers to pull down the signal.
Took me a while to get it working tho
Post Reply