Proteus using spare ign outputs

From Frankenstein to Proteus and everything in between
Post Reply
User avatar
kneelo
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2018 6:36 am
Location: Western Australia

Proteus using spare ign outputs

Post by kneelo »

I have used up all the low side outputs so want to use a spare ign output to drive a relay.

Will this work and do these function as high side outputs?
User avatar
kneelo
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2018 6:36 am
Location: Western Australia

Re: Proteus using spare ign outputs

Post by kneelo »

Just realised these are logic level outputs so hence the reason it doesnt work!
Simon@FutureProof
contributor
contributor
Posts: 413
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2018 8:55 pm
Github Username: Orchardperformance
Slack: Orchardperformance

Re: Proteus using spare ign outputs

Post by Simon@FutureProof »

One of the highside outputs should be able to do it though.

Due to some quirks of the setup we have a highside driving a solid state relay on the dirft car.
Now keeping MRE in stock in the UK - https://www.FutureProofPerformance.com
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14361
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Proteus using spare ign outputs

Post by AndreyB »

i think key idea is that we have two kinds: some high current high and some lower current ones
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
Simon@FutureProof
contributor
contributor
Posts: 413
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2018 8:55 pm
Github Username: Orchardperformance
Slack: Orchardperformance

Re: Proteus using spare ign outputs

Post by Simon@FutureProof »

Regardless of current the 5v may not be quite enough to get a relay to activate.

It's normally enough to keep one open once it has moved but not to get it to start moving.

I guess the question is, what are you after an extra relay for?
Is there another way it could be handled?

I am also curious how you have run out of 16 lowsides?
Now keeping MRE in stock in the UK - https://www.FutureProofPerformance.com
User avatar
kneelo
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2018 6:36 am
Location: Western Australia

Re: Proteus using spare ign outputs

Post by kneelo »

Its a relay to power the WBO2 sensor heater.

The existing outputs are used for
6 x injectors
2 x vvt solenoids
2 x fans
main relay
starter relay
smart alt control
intake manifold solenoid
fuel pump
check engine light

I could probably repurpose the check engine or consolidate the fans i guess
hugovw1976
Posts: 68
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2020 3:10 pm
Github Username: hugovw1976

Re: Proteus using spare ign outputs

Post by hugovw1976 »

You can add external transistor (BC337) to control the 12v relay.
Attachments
relay1.png
relay1.png (11.96 KiB) Viewed 14812 times
relay2.jpg
relay2.jpg (16.04 KiB) Viewed 14812 times
puff
contributor
contributor
Posts: 2962
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 11:28 am
Location: Moskau

Re: Proteus using spare ign outputs

Post by puff »

can a small mosfet be used instead of BC337 in this case? (with a flyback diode across the coil)
mck1117
running engine in first post
running engine in first post
Posts: 1495
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 2:05 am
Location: Seattle-ish

Re: Proteus using spare ign outputs

Post by mck1117 »

puff wrote:
Wed Apr 20, 2022 5:28 pm
can a small mosfet be used instead of BC337 in this case? (with a flyback diode across the coil)
of course
hugovw1976
Posts: 68
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2020 3:10 pm
Github Username: hugovw1976

Re: Proteus using spare ign outputs

Post by hugovw1976 »

puff wrote:can a small mosfet be used instead of BC337 in this case? (with a flyback diode across the coil)
Yes, no problem

Enviado desde mi SM-G988U1 mediante Tapatalk

Post Reply