Did I corrupt the Hellen 72c board?

This means Hellen
Post Reply
Mikeymx5
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2021 2:24 am

Did I corrupt the Hellen 72c board?

Post by Mikeymx5 »

This is day 2 with my Hellen 72c so I don’t have much to go on what is normal behavior. And I have not been able to sit down and familiarize my self with all the documentation yet.

Yesterday I connected it to my computer and did a firmware upgrade. All appeared to be working after and I was able to play with some maps.

Today I can’t get the usb connection and or dive to work. I noticed that all 4 of the mcu leds are on solid instead of rapidly flashing.

Is this a firmware issue?

If I need to reflash can it be done over usb or do I need to source a ST micro JTag device?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
BeerMoneyMotorsports
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2021 10:16 pm

Re: Did I corrupt the Hellen 72c board?

Post by BeerMoneyMotorsports »

What firmware did you use?
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 12215
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Did I corrupt the Hellen 72c board?

Post by AndreyB »

I am pretty sure that you have NOT corrupted the board.

Bad news is we need to improve continues integration testing on real hardware. https://github.com/rusefi/rusefi/issues/3265

Ticket for this specific issue https://github.com/rusefi/rusefi/issues/3264

I am not sure if JTag is the proper word I could be pretty wrong.

Best option is https://github.com/rusefi/rusefi/wiki/Tag-Connect-TC2030 but it's closer to $75 once you factor all needed shipping.
Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239
BeerMoneyMotorsports
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2021 10:16 pm

Re: Did I corrupt the Hellen 72c board?

Post by BeerMoneyMotorsports »

Please us firmware from https://github.com/rusefi/rusefi/wiki/Hellen72

Remove board from case. Press and hold the PROG button then power the board. This will put it in manual DFU mode. All lights next to the chip should be off. Then perform the manual firmware update through the console.
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 12215
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Did I corrupt the Hellen 72c board?

Post by AndreyB »

Well, maybe it's really much simpler and we have just both flashed not-hellen firmware into Hellen? https://github.com/rusefi/rusefi/issues/3266

Which makes me wonder: Mikey do you recall you exact path between links? Can you tell how exactly did you get to the whatever file you have downloaded?

Also what is the bundle name you have used, it's name would tell us if the theory here is correct.
Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239
Mikeymx5
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2021 2:24 am

Re: Did I corrupt the Hellen 72c board?

Post by Mikeymx5 »

Unfortunately no. I have kids and can be distracted. It asked me do you want to update and I clicked yes. I don’t recall if it was the console or the tuner soft. But the board was working when I quit the first night so I don’t know.

I will play with it later and see if I can get it working again. I’m glad to hear I do t need external hardware to program but I believe I can get my hands on one if needed.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Mikeymx5
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2021 2:24 am

Re: Did I corrupt the Hellen 72c board?

Post by Mikeymx5 »

Ordering the ST Link

V2 has a 8Pin header and V3 Has that quick header less connect. Found a Off brand one that has the exact header used on the Hellen for $10. might get that so I can just make a 1:1 IDC cable for fast connection.

And you are right it is more of a SWO interface than a JTag.
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 12215
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Did I corrupt the Hellen 72c board?

Post by AndreyB »

Mikeymx5 wrote:
Sun Sep 26, 2021 12:24 am
Found a Off brand one that has the exact header used on the Hellen for $10.
Please elaborate I love cheap stuff!
Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239
BeerMoneyMotorsports
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2021 10:16 pm

Re: Did I corrupt the Hellen 72c board?

Post by BeerMoneyMotorsports »

Hey mikey. Only use firmware from the link. As of now, firmware through TS isn’t supported. If you can at some point, id love to see the popup you saw.
BeerMoneyMotorsports
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2021 10:16 pm

Re: Did I corrupt the Hellen 72c board?

Post by BeerMoneyMotorsports »

Mikey, pm me your phone number. Id like to call and discuss.
Mikeymx5
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2021 2:24 am

Re: Did I corrupt the Hellen 72c board?

Post by Mikeymx5 »

PM sent.

Programmer arrives today so I will give it a try and see what pops up.

This is what I purchased, I will add a header on the board tonight.
https://www.amazon.com/Aideepen-ST-Link-Programming-Emulator-Downloader/dp/B01J7N3RE6/ref=sr_1_3?dchild=1&keywords=stlink+v2+mini&qid=1632754873&sr=8-3

As far as the popup screen I really am not sure, I was distracted by my kids. The board was working fine however until the next day, so maybe it required a power cycle for the boot loader to take the code.
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 12215
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Did I corrupt the Hellen 72c board?

Post by AndreyB »

I love those fake ST Link V2 I have too many of those :)

How would you connect it to the actual Hellen 72c?

Also reminder that any ST Link looks like an overkill in your specific case and manual DFU looks way more appropriate.

Code: Select all

Auto DFU is when your rusEFI console switches your rusEFI device into DFU mode

Manual DFU mode is when you hold "Program" button while powering your rusEFI in order to switch it into DFU mode. This mode is used to program brand new stm32 chips which do not have a running version of rusEFI firmware.
Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239
Mikeymx5
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2021 2:24 am

Re: Did I corrupt the Hellen 72c board?

Post by Mikeymx5 »

Guess that is what I was trying to figure out; can I re-flash over usb in program mode? So far I have not been able to get my system to see the board over USB in both modes. (could be a mac driver problem I don't know yet)

I will bring home my windows laptop to see if I have better luck today.
stlinkminiv2.JPG
stlinkminiv2.JPG (14.44 KiB) Viewed 1198 times
As far as programming I was just going to solder a 10pin header on the board, but maybe I'm over thinking this?
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 12215
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Did I corrupt the Hellen 72c board?

Post by AndreyB »

updated https://github.com/rusefi/rusefi/wiki/HOWTO-DFU intro
DFU is Device Firmware Update mode - that's a way to update firmware via the same USB cable you use for rusEFI communication. stm32 DFU is part of stm32 factory bootloader and we expect that any rusEFI board could be updated/reset via same USB connector as the one you use to communicate to your rusEFI ECU. Please let us know if that's not the case!
Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239
Mikeymx5
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2021 2:24 am

Re: Did I corrupt the Hellen 72c board?

Post by Mikeymx5 »

Thanks I was reading over that today. It may be a driver problem for DFU mode. I will try using windows later today and see if I have better luck.

If that works I will try again to get the MacOS driver working.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Mikeymx5
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2021 2:24 am

Re: Did I corrupt the Hellen 72c board?

Post by Mikeymx5 »

Wow so that was several hours of my life I'll never get back. :)

I could not get the Java console or auto updater to see the board. Ended up installing the STM32 CubeProgrammer. After fighting apples crazy file system security I got it installed and Im back up and running!!

I have only a solid orange and flashing blue LED on the MCU, I see to remember more LEDs.

Anyway I will look for the latest update are try again to do the latest firmware.

Thanks everyone, Looking forward to getting to play with Tuner-studio now.
Mikeymx5
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2021 2:24 am

Re: Did I corrupt the Hellen 72c board?

Post by Mikeymx5 »

Screen Shot 2021-09-27 at 7.58.57 PM.png
Screen Shot 2021-09-27 at 7.58.57 PM.png (586.68 KiB) Viewed 1178 times
BTW I think this was the update screen I remember but I believe it has something to do with the INI file mismatch. I will check the WIKI and see what it says.
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 12215
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Did I corrupt the Hellen 72c board?

Post by AndreyB »

Mikeymx5 wrote:
Tue Sep 28, 2021 12:47 am
I could not get the Java console or auto updater to see the board.
hold on... https://github.com/rusefi/rusefi/wiki/HOWTO-DFU#q-i-have-a-mac-or-even-better-i-have-a-linux-device

Let me change rusEFI console so that it admits it's limitations
image.png
image.png (11.61 KiB) Viewed 1177 times
Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239
Mikeymx5
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2021 2:24 am

Re: Did I corrupt the Hellen 72c board?

Post by Mikeymx5 »

Is that page new or did I miss it? :D
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 12215
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Did I corrupt the Hellen 72c board?

Post by AndreyB »

New.

We kind of forgot that real humans use stuff other than Windows while using rusEFI :( Your reports are making rusEFI better please keep coming up with legit feedback and we will keep making it better :)
Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239
puff
contributor
contributor
Posts: 2898
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 11:28 am
Location: Moskau

Re: Did I corrupt the Hellen 72c board?

Post by puff »

I would say, making rusEFI better = make it support Mac/Linux)
however, fair enough, adding explicit notifications also makes it better :D
BeerMoneyMotorsports
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2021 10:16 pm

Re: Did I corrupt the Hellen 72c board?

Post by BeerMoneyMotorsports »

@mikey how are things going?
Post Reply