MRE Honda K sequential cam trigger configuration.

Your chance to introduce yourself and your vehicle
Post Reply
Jtech2020
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2018 6:58 pm
Location: UK east Yorkshire
Slack: James Gar***

MRE Honda K sequential cam trigger configuration.

Post by Jtech2020 »

Hi Guys
please can anyone say how to configure sequential cam and crank triggers on MRE rusefi .
it seams that the options in Tuner Studio are a bit confusing , my setup is Honda K24A3 stock engine ,
original hall sensors cam and crank ,set to run sequential injection coil on plug ,i know all the crank and cam trigger positions
although its not clear in the advanced trigger options .??????
many thanks Jtech2020.
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 11310
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: MRE ,sequential cam trigger configuration.

Post by AndreyB »

where are you located?

have you cut your original harness or made an adapter? what does this engine go in? at some point i was thinking to make a honda PnP
https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 11310
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: MRE ,sequential cam trigger configuration.

Post by AndreyB »

i do not have all honda info in my head. what trigger shape is your crank? is it on out list of supported?

what is the shape of cam wheel? is it on out list of supported?
https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239
Jtech2020
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2018 6:58 pm
Location: UK east Yorkshire
Slack: James Gar***

Re: MRE ,sequential cam trigger configuration.

Post by Jtech2020 »

Hi yes i bought the MRE with a connector with unterminated harness and i spent around 3 months at the k24 accord ,OEM ecu and configuration
then i made a plug in adaptor to replace the OEM ecu , also running the MRE in paralell ,so i have done a fair bit of groundwork mainly out of Obsession, its an interesting cheep project.
Jtech2020
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2018 6:58 pm
Location: UK east Yorkshire
Slack: James Gar***

Re: MRE ,sequential cam trigger configuration.

Post by Jtech2020 »

Yes the Honda K24A3 Euro runs 12=1 4=1 4 on the intake for VTC the crank is timed at 311 ATDC or 49 Before TDC
cam sync is about 30 Degrees ATDC or about 680 Before static.
3 Hall sensors ,coil on plug.
Jtech2020
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2018 6:58 pm
Location: UK east Yorkshire
Slack: James Gar***

Re: MRE ,sequential cam trigger configuration.

Post by Jtech2020 »

Hi sorry i forgot my location ,i am based in the UK east Yorkshire.
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 11310
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: MRE Honda K sequential cam trigger configuration.

Post by AndreyB »

I would love to see the pictures of that adapter! Kind of a reminder for me to list my Honda breakout board for sale.


https://rusefi.com/online/view.php?msq=443&dialog=triggerConfiguration and https://rusefi.com/online/view.php?msq=443&dialog=triggerConfiguration_IO seem pretty close to what you need

Open question is how would we feed three Hall sensors into microRusEFI? I bet there must be a way to that it's just not officially documented.
https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239
Jtech2020
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2018 6:58 pm
Location: UK east Yorkshire
Slack: James Gar***

Re: MRE Honda K sequential cam trigger configuration.

Post by Jtech2020 »

Hi Guys
so i now have the K24 running on the MRE !!
Some setup and config problems and a pullup resister on the Exhaust cam Hall sensor.
So i am looking to configure one of the Digital inputs for Hall effect No 3 for the intake cam reference position.
I had a look at the ADC and how the hall input circuit is configured so i guess i can replicate this on another DI Plus
Some FISO Commands also which i need some help with ,are there any Ready Made FISO Information for VTC control ?.
Thanksjim
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 11310
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: MRE Honda K sequential cam trigger configuration.

Post by AndreyB »

We advertise microRusEFI as an ECU with only two trigger/cam inputs thus all the configurations are optimized for that usage.

3rd channel on microRusEFI is probably possible but that's outside of the norm. One would have to use "universal" rusefi.ini from "default" bundle instead of user-friendly rusefi_microrusefi.ini

variable valve timing does not require FSIO commands. In fact it's currently being migrated from weird "aux pid" naming convention into less weird "vvt" naming convention with all the menues having explicit VVT name.

For not latest version of firmware you should follow https://rusefi.com/online/view.php?msq=308&dialog=auxPidDialog example https://rusefi.com/online/view.php?msq=308&dialog=fsioTable1Tbl

As of right now there is no better example with latest improved naming convention.

Please post your current tune on https://github.com/rusefi/rusefi/wiki/HOWTO-upload-tune
https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239
Jtech2020
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2018 6:58 pm
Location: UK east Yorkshire
Slack: James Gar***

Re: MRE Honda K sequential cam trigger configuration.

Post by Jtech2020 »

Hi Andrey thanks for the information and help Much appreciated
many thanks Jim.
Jtech2020
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2018 6:58 pm
Location: UK east Yorkshire
Slack: James Gar***

Re: MRE Honda K sequential cam trigger configuration.

Post by Jtech2020 »

Hi Andrey
i am a little confused about the Universal bundle , do i have to simply apply the ini file that is on the link you sent me and flash the firmware from the TS console with the Rusefi powered up ?
Or do i have to find the universal bundle and auto dfu from the .exe in rusefi bundle ?
My concern is flashing it the incorrect manor and bricking the Micro,
thanks Jim.
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 11310
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: MRE Honda K sequential cam trigger configuration.

Post by AndreyB »

I do not have resources to properly support you on this project of using microRusEFI for something it is not set for. I am really sorry but I have to reduce my involvement in this project :(

Please try Slack there are potentially other people with opinions or advice.
https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239
Jtech2020
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2018 6:58 pm
Location: UK east Yorkshire
Slack: James Gar***

Re: MRE Honda K sequential cam trigger configuration.

Post by Jtech2020 »

Hi AndreyB.
Ok ,so i have invested a lot of time in this project ,there is no way i am prepared to stop now with my car unable to function
for the sake of some work on code EXT,
The idea for me was to use this hardware with a view to purchasing more hardware in the near future , i have several projects i require hardware for
and now its not possible !!. very upset .....
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 11310
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: MRE Honda K sequential cam trigger configuration.

Post by AndreyB »

i am sorry but that's what it is :(
no idea if related to EXT or not

proteus could be a bit mire suited for this vehicle
https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239
blundar
contributor
contributor
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue Jan 07, 2014 4:38 am
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Github Username: blundar
Slack: Dave B.
Contact:

Re: MRE Honda K sequential cam trigger configuration.

Post by blundar »

MRE would have been awesome to use for my RB20DET I6 but it would have required a lot of fiddling because 6cyl. Sometimes certain engines just aren't a good fit. MRE is intended for the "easy" use cases - 4 cylinders, not too much VR, not too many engine position sensors. A floppy cam motor with variable valve lift is more than it was intended for. For my application, I chose to take a step back and work on a plug n play using a larger ECU (namely rusEfi Proteus) because I didn't want to try to squeeze 60 lbs of shit into a 40lb bag. You're in a similar boat here. You're trying to squeeze 3 engine position sensors into an ECU designed for two. You're not going to do it without getting your hands dirty. Conceivably, you MIGHT be able to get away with not doing any hardware modifications (although it may be easier to add circuitry - depends on your approach) but you're almost certainly going to need to get your hands very dirty with firmware (maybe adding / customizing?) and TunerStudio configuration.
bill
Posts: 145
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2020 1:44 pm
Location: DC usa

Re: MRE Honda K sequential cam trigger configuration.

Post by bill »

so you do have the honda K engine running?
you got the crank trigger going okay?
and the cam trigger is working okay?

so now you are looking to control the VVT ? VTEC?

i think you should get on the SLACK channel, there are a few honda guys there who can help you out
Jtech2020
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2018 6:58 pm
Location: UK east Yorkshire
Slack: James Gar***

Re: MRE Honda K sequential cam trigger configuration.

Post by Jtech2020 »

Hi Yes I got the engine running ,just made a base map ,running sequential injection ,i dont have the oem injector data dead time table ECT
so its idling , and sounds good even though injector data is not on point as yet.
the only issue as yet is the VTC as i need the third hall input , the guys say it cant be done using the MRE , but i have a possibility as
i am running the OEM computer in parallel so i have all the oem can bus BCM ect ,so my thought is to run the OEM computer with cam crank and VTS
Signals through a teensy 4.0 to split the signals between the two computers, so the idea is to trigger Vtec from the micro and leave the VTS to the OEM
Computer to deal with ,not optimal but maybe i can get it working ,the original cable loom wont work as there are some issues with induction into
The cam and crank signal inputs ,normal problems ,just needed nice quality shielded cables , also good engine ground cables.
So i am hopeful to get it running soon on Vtec and VTC.
I should have bought the Proteus in hindsight but i think it will work just a little work. :D
Jtech2020
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2018 6:58 pm
Location: UK east Yorkshire
Slack: James Gar***

Re: MRE Honda K sequential cam trigger configuration.

Post by Jtech2020 »

Ok thanks for the tip ,sorry dislexic .. missed the details...
Post Reply