Hello From iran

Your chance to introduce yourself and your vehicle
Post Reply
hossein
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 8:10 am

Hello From iran

Post by hossein »

Hello guys, I am hossein from iran, i am a sysadmin and have some experience with programming and a bit with micros ;).
I want to run my father's old bike cbr250 hurricane with your EFI magical, so i bought a frankenstein board and assembled it ;), it works.


My challenge is :
The crankshaft tooth number is 7 and has one gap so i have 8 tooth(s).
So i have nothing pattern like this in my mind now, but i guess some ways - not sure witch one is useful -

What I did :
I wrote some c code to find how the trigger is working....
And trying to find how can i use this tool for 18200 RPM? :(

What i have :
just one coil is triggered
4 injector running

My questions :
why one coil ?
Is some way to deal with 18200 rpm red-line ?
what is the
operation mode

And at least :
Thanks for making open-source tools and programs & sorry for poor English .
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14331
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Hello From iran

Post by AndreyB »

Hello!

Pictures? :)

Have you found "enable self_stimulation" in console? Can you post consile Engine Sniffer picture showing a problem with one coil? What is your setting about coils? Can you post your CurrentTune.msq file with your whole tune?

There is a red line setting somewhere . With this relatively easy trigger shape I hope 18K would work but I am really looking trying you testing it!
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
hossein
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 8:10 am

Re: Hello From iran

Post by hossein »

Thanks for reply
russian wrote: Have you found "enable self_stimulation" in console?
1 ) No i have not found "enable self_stimulation" in console"
russian wrote:
Can you post consile Engine Sniffer picture showing a problem with one coil? What is your setting about coils?
2 ) 2017-04-10_20_49_33rpm_0_maf_NaN.png ( attached in efi-img.tar.gz)
russian wrote: Can you post your CurrentTune.msq file with your whole tune?
3 ) snapshot472.png
I searched for CurrentTune.msq and nothing was found in "snapshot_20170402_2324_rusefi" but :

Code: Select all

$ cp  ../../latest/code/tags/tag20160101_9139/misc/logs/1993_escort_gt/2015.12.20/CurrentTune.msq . 

Code: Select all

$ grep -i hardlimit CurrentTune.msq 
<constant digits="2" name="rpmHardLimit" units="rpm">18500.0</constant>
<constant name="cutFuelOnHardLimit">"true"</constant>
<constant name="cutSparkOnHardLimit">"true"</constant>
<constant digits="0" name="noAccelAfterHardLimitPeriodSecs" units="sec">3.0</constant>
but nothing is changed in console yet.
snapshot473.png
Attachments
efi-img.tar.gz
(185.71 KiB) Downloaded 761 times
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14331
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Hello From iran

Post by AndreyB »

Trigger signal is the top line, that does not look like 8/1 skipped, where is the skip?

'enable self_stimulation' is something you can type in the command or you can see it in 'messages' on the right side.

You need to install http://www.tunerstudio.com/index.php/downloads it's easier to configure there.
Attachments
2017-04-10_19_08_37rpm_2043_maf_NaN.png
2017-04-10_19_08_37rpm_2043_maf_NaN.png (54.96 KiB) Viewed 16840 times
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
hossein
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 8:10 am

Re: Hello From iran

Post by hossein »

Thanks for reply.
That is a simple trigger, made by a simple code on rpi2 - attached.
I will try. ;)
Attachments
test.c
(1.14 KiB) Downloaded 763 times
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14331
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Hello From iran

Post by AndreyB »

I do not follow. If you are trying to simulate a 8 tooth with one tooth missing you do not need anything external, rusEfi can do it itself.

What kind of trigger does not vehicle have? What exactly are you trying to do now?

I believe a bunch of pictures and more details on what EXACTLY you are trying to archive RIGHT NOW would help me help you.
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
User avatar
kb1gtt
contributor
contributor
Posts: 3758
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 1:42 am
Location: ME of USA

Re: Hello From iran

Post by kb1gtt »

Hello and welcome along.

Please provide information about your engines crank wheel. We understand you need to decode 8 teeth with a gap. Is this 10 position with 2 missing teeth? Are the teeth wide, or narrow? Are these teeth evenly spaced? Do you have a picture of your wheel? A picture would answer many questions about what crank wheel pattern you are trying to decode.

Once we know the crank wheel you are tying to use, we can help guild you about if self simulation has already been done. It is very likely that you do not need an external piece of hardware for simulation. The rusEFI firmware can generate simulated crank wheel pulses as well as decode them. However we need to know your crank wheel pattern.
Welcome to the friendlier side of internet crazy :)
hossein
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 8:10 am

Re: Hello From iran

Post by hossein »

my crankshaft
Attachments
IMG_1471.JPG
IMG_1471.JPG (1.07 MiB) Viewed 16805 times
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14331
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Hello From iran

Post by AndreyB »

I see "total 8", "skipped 1" skipped wheel signal - that's how you can configure this with rusEfi, this would allow simulated signal on pin PD1 and with self_stimulation you will have virtual callbacks into the logic.

On the engine sniffer snapshots you've shared I do not see the skipped tooth. At the moment I believe that your external simulator is not right, I could be wrong.
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
hossein
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 8:10 am

Re: Hello From iran

Post by hossein »

OK, i did what you said, it works, but please tell me that "Hard Limit RPM" is changeable.
Thanks.
Last edited by hossein on Tue Apr 11, 2017 12:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14331
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Hello From iran

Post by AndreyB »

Did you get tunerstudio working? Will post a screenshot of where that setting is located in a bit
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14331
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Hello From iran

Post by AndreyB »

Here you are
Attachments
screenshot.png
screenshot.png (219.04 KiB) Viewed 16779 times
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
hossein
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 8:10 am

Re: Hello From iran

Post by hossein »

It's working now ...
Thanks @ @ ;)
And now just last question:
I changed trigger type to custom toothed wheel and
total tooth -> 8
skipped toooth -> 1
and then i have no green led - crank input -, so i decided to use honda cbr 600.
Anything needs to change for custom trigger ?
Attachments
snapshot476.png
snapshot476.png (371.64 KiB) Viewed 16764 times
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14331
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Hello From iran

Post by AndreyB »

Unfortunately I have very limited telepathic abilities :( I believe you are providing very little information.

Please post a couple of Engine Sniffer screenshots where it does not run right, and a .csv log file from rusEfi console/out folder.

There is no gap on Honda trigger, why would you use it? It's same as using 8 total, skipped 0.

Image

I still believe that the trigger signal you are trying with is not 8/1 skipped wheel.
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
hossein
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 8:10 am

Re: Hello From iran

Post by hossein »

The bts2140 is replaced by a circuit that based on irfz48-n and i have true spark.
Then i tried to run the engine... but !! after reading this site http://www.useasydocs.com/details/autotrig.htm and setting up trigger offset angle to 135< i have nothing i mean no spark on time no sound just nothing!.
I have tried to use a large scale of offsets from 80 (deg) to 180, and the results are similar, i mention : i can run it with carb and the old CDI transistor circuit.
In other word : how to calculate the right angle for trigger offset if the sensor is faced to tooth #3 at the TDC time.
he engine has two sensors, one on top face to face with tooth #3 on TDC #1, the other is 20-30 degree before tooth #7.

Thanks and i will apologize if i can not write correctly all important thing because of my poor English and mechanical knowledge.
Thank you all of you especially Russian ;).
Attachments
crankshaft.JPG
crankshaft.JPG (921.65 KiB) Viewed 16623 times
User avatar
kb1gtt
contributor
contributor
Posts: 3758
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 1:42 am
Location: ME of USA

Re: Hello From iran

Post by kb1gtt »

I'm still concerned about your electrical. That MOSFET is 55V, I believe you need 350V to 450V for spark under compression. Your 55V will probably spark when you put the plug on the side of the block, but I would expect failed spark when compression increases the amount of air between the spark plug gap. See some stuff about ignition modules are this thread.

http://rusefi.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=286
Welcome to the friendlier side of internet crazy :)
hossein
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 8:10 am

Re: Hello From iran

Post by hossein »

I'm using a coil that running with 14V 7A : 5WY2843A => usage in PEUGEOT 504 ef7 engine for spark.
and this is my circuit -with some changes for biasing .
Attachments
coil.pdf
(899.65 KiB) Downloaded 293 times
snapshot479.png
snapshot479.png (75.78 KiB) Viewed 16614 times
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14331
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Hello From iran

Post by AndreyB »

Does tachometer work when you are cranking your engine?

Does spark fire in bench mode without cranking your engine?
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
hossein
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 8:10 am

Re: Hello From iran

Post by hossein »

No it does not work.
But is it necessary to work ? i mean i mount the engine on a frame and i just run it step by step, and at the step one i need to spark, i fed the engine by its own carburetor.
Yes sometimes when the engine has tdc on any cylinder i can see the crank when i push the spark on 1-4 in tuner-studio program.
puff
contributor
contributor
Posts: 2961
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 11:28 am
Location: Moskau

Re: Hello From iran

Post by puff »

I'd suggest looking at the engine sniffer in dev console while cranking.
Looking at your pictures, I can see two disks (so to say) - the bigger one with many teeth (does it have a missing tooth?) and the smaller one with 8-1 teeth. could it be that you are using the bigger one instead of the small one? how does the sensor look like and how do you connect it to the board?
User avatar
kb1gtt
contributor
contributor
Posts: 3758
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 1:42 am
Location: ME of USA

Re: Hello From iran

Post by kb1gtt »

I still expect the irfz48-n may spark when plug is on the side of the block, but will fail when there is compression. I also expect that when it fails, it will damage up stream components, probably the port on the STM. This irfz48-n is bad as an ignition driver chip.
Welcome to the friendlier side of internet crazy :)
hossein
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 8:10 am

Re: Hello From iran

Post by hossein »

kb1gtt wrote:I still expect the irfz48-n may spark when plug is on the side of the block, but will fail when there is compression. I also expect that when it fails, it will damage up stream components, probably the port on the STM. This irfz48-n is bad as an ignition driver chip.
even using BC557 as a driver ?
User avatar
kb1gtt
contributor
contributor
Posts: 3758
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 1:42 am
Location: ME of USA

Re: Hello From iran

Post by kb1gtt »

Correct, the BC557 does not matter. The problem is that the 55V driver will see far more than 55V which will either prevent spark, or damage the irfz48-n.
Welcome to the friendlier side of internet crazy :)
hossein
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 8:10 am

Re: Hello From iran

Post by hossein »

OK. i will change it, And the correct angle of offset is 135 in my case ?
User avatar
kb1gtt
contributor
contributor
Posts: 3758
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 1:42 am
Location: ME of USA

Re: Hello From iran

Post by kb1gtt »

For the driver chip, I suggest you get one that specifies ignition in the list of applications. For example, this 410V chip from ST.

http://datasheet.octopart.com/STGB10NB37LZT4-STMicroelectronics-datasheet-12523196.pdf

I do not know your angle offset. Perhaps @ can guess. However he's very busy preparing for a race right now. I would guess he might tell you to use a timing light and adjust until the timing light indicates you are correct.
Welcome to the friendlier side of internet crazy :)
User avatar
kb1gtt
contributor
contributor
Posts: 3758
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 1:42 am
Location: ME of USA

Re: Hello From iran

Post by kb1gtt »

Some other suggested chips include the two noted here.

http://rusefi.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=286&start=26
Welcome to the friendlier side of internet crazy :)
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14331
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Hello From iran

Post by AndreyB »

hossein wrote:the correct angle of offset is 135 in my case ?
timing light is the best solution, do you have access to one?
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
matt
donator
donator
Posts: 271
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2016 11:32 am
Location: Malaysia

Re: Hello From iran

Post by matt »

i think it related with issue #297.
hossein
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 8:10 am

Re: Hello From iran

Post by hossein »

Thanks for replies.

And a question :
Is this chip usable or better to use for better performance and design ?
http://www.st.com/resource/en/datasheet/vb525sp-e.pdf
Last edited by hossein on Mon May 08, 2017 4:33 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
kb1gtt
contributor
contributor
Posts: 3758
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 1:42 am
Location: ME of USA

Re: Hello From iran

Post by kb1gtt »

Looks costly to me, but yes it should work. I see "Driving circuitry supply current ±200 mA" which means you need a chip like Frankenso hi/lo driver chip in addition to this chip. The STM32 can not drive this chip directly. As well, beware the diagnostic feedback. I would suggest you avoid using the diagnostic features, those will cause you problems. There are many design details not included in that datasheet which are required to make good use of those diagnostic features.
Welcome to the friendlier side of internet crazy :)
Post Reply