Greetings from Greece

Your chance to introduce yourself and your vehicle
vosk

Greetings from Greece

Post by vosk »

Hello everyone,

I am currently messing with a French TU3JP engine and I realized that somehow this car has no cam sensor, at all. It has a skipped tooth flywheel, (not sure the ratio but it doesnt matter). I was thinking of building a rusefi in the long run, I am a software developer by profession, I have worked in various robotics platforms that require precise event timing, and I am have worked with AVR microcontrollers quite a lot. I was hopping to contribute.
So, my first question, as I get around to reading and compiling the code and the wiki and the forums. How on earth does the crappy Sagem ECU figure out the cam angle without a primary trigger?? I read somewhere that the software detects the primary coil current, and since this a waste spark coil pack engine, (I think it groups 1+2, 3+4) but then again how does it figure the injection cycle? I am really confused.

Thanks
v
puff
contributor
contributor

Re: Greetings from Greece

Post by puff »

no exact answer, but probably by angle acceleration/deceleration?
let's suppose that skipped tooth on the crank allows to figure tdc for cylinders no1 and no3.
During starting, it might inject fuel simultaneously to all cylinders. Then, it switches to batched injection (1+3, then 2+4), and then, to define the cam angle, it doubles the fuel to cyl1 and gives no fuel on inj3. if the crank continues to rotate at the same speed, it detected cam phase correctly. if the crank deccelerates - then it missed the phase. could be a cheap alternative to installing a cam sensor.. %-)
vosk

Post by vosk »