Hello from MA USA

Your chance to introduce yourself and your vehicle
NBytevenom

Hello from MA USA

Post by NBytevenom »

Hello everyone!
I'm currently a college student at UML in MA studying Electrical engineering. I have a 2000 Mazda Miata with a Garret turbo from a Nissan SR20. It's currently running a DIYAutotune DIYPNP V 1.5. I built it in my college dorm, but I've quickly reached the limits of it. I'm very curious as to how rusefi can help me both learn and increase the driveability of my Miata.
AndreyB
Site Admin
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Hello from MA USA

Post by AndreyB »

Hello and welcome!

What are your driveability issues with your current MS? I guess it would be more about tuning less about which ecu you run?
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
stefanst
contributor
contributor

Post by stefanst »

Welcome!

And check out the wiki. If you're familiar with Megasquirt already, you'll be pleased to hear that rusefi uses Tunerstudio as well, so you won't have to learn a new tuning-suite.
rusefi is Open Source, so, even if you're missing a feature and the main developer(s) don't have the time or desire to implement it, you can just do it yourself, assuming your programming skills are up to the task....
AFAIK there are no pre-manufactured boards available on the shelf as of this moment, so you either have to wait, or assemble your own- not sure if anybody has un-populated boards left over.

Of course you can just buy a brainboard- essentially the processor with some supporting hardware ($25) and play with that. You can hook it up to your tuning computer and play with it to see if you like it.