hello from france

Your chance to introduce yourself and to ask your first question
Post Reply
cyrille
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2017 8:37 am

hello from france

Post by cyrille »

Hello everyone.
At first, excuse me for my english, I am french.
I had been following the projects on megasquirt for a few years to make a montage on my impreza with ej20g and I fell by chance on this forum, and it challenged me, lol.
For now I roll with a powerfc that I would like to replace with a RUSEFI ecu, already to remove the MAF and because the adventure I like.
I do not know what I would need for it to work, because I'd like to keep the original connector.
Thank you for your indulgence to all.

User avatar
kb1gtt
contributor
contributor
Posts: 3664
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 1:42 am
Location: ME of USA

Re: hello from france

Post by kb1gtt »

Hello and welcome to the forum.

Do you know the connector for your ECU? If so do you know the dimensions for it's pins? If you can get a second ECU side connector, and if you know the dimensions, we can make an adapter board which will allow you to connect wires to it, such that all the special wiring is done on the ECU side and the harness side stays the same.

For moving one wire at a time, this board can be helpful.
http://rusefi.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=454

As well we have made connector boards like this which allows you to probe the wires.
http://rusefi.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=507

One possible way to do this is to obtain an salvage yard ECU with a pigtail from the OEM harness. Then re-capture the ECU connector, and install it on a break-out board. Then install wires into the break out board. Then you can install the wires from the the OEM pig tail, and the wires from this ECU break out connector into the breakout module. At this point you would have an extension which should allow you to extend the OEM harness and connect the OEM ECU. Once you have this you can then use the breakout module to migrate one wire at a time. A good first step would be to get the cam and crank to the rusEFI and then get it reading the RPM and matching your OEM RPM. After that you can migrate one injector and one ignition at a time, such that the OEM ECU controls 3 cyl's and you are tuning one cyl.

However that long and drawn out approach all hinges on making the ECU break out board. To make that board you need dimensions, such that a board can be designed in the PCB software.
Welcome to the friendlier side of internet crazy :)

cyrille
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2017 8:37 am

Re: hello from france

Post by cyrille »

Image

]It is a JECS ecu with 3 connectors.
I do not have it on hand to measure the connector, but it can be done.
I do not want to destroy the original beam, I have an old ecu on which I can retrieve the connector.
Perhaps it is possible to weld it on the adapter card? http://rusefi.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=507

thanks you

User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 10652
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City

Re: hello from france

Post by AndreyB »

Oh, that's the same connector we have on Frankenso http://rusefi.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=569
https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239

stefanst
contributor
contributor
Posts: 633
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2016 12:24 am
Location: USA 08530

Re: hello from france

Post by stefanst »

russian wrote:Oh, that's the same connector we have on Frankenso http://rusefi.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=569
To further elaborate on that: Since it's the same connector that is standard on the frankenso board, you should be able to come up with a very tidy and clean solution. The frankenso board has a patch-area that you can use to route any signal to any pin. Similar to the MSPNP boards.
If you order a frankenso, it actually comes with a new connector.

Do you have a wiring diagram/explanation of signals for you engine?
In order to make the engine "run" you usually only need the triggers (cam/crank), ignition and injectors. All the other in- and outputs are only needed for making it run nicely.

cyrille
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2017 8:37 am

Re: hello from france

Post by cyrille »

Good evening
If it's the same connector, that's good news.
I must have the electrical schema somewhere, I have to find it.
Is it possible to start in MAF mode at first, so that I can switch from one ECU to another to be able to drive and in a second time go into speed / density mode without too much modification of frankenso.
Thank you and still sorry for my english.

stefanst
contributor
contributor
Posts: 633
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2016 12:24 am
Location: USA 08530

Re: hello from france

Post by stefanst »

Please stop apologizing for your English. My guess is that more than 50% of people on this forum don't have English as their first language.

It's possible to run MAF at first, but it's largely untested and, depending on what type signal you MAF generates *may* require custom code. It also may work real well right out of the box- hard to say.

Many people run an external MAP sensor and feed the signal to rusefi, without making any change to the stock wiring. So you can easily switch between ECUs, but you are running Speed-Density with rusefi and MAF with stock ECU. Speed-Density is much more proven with rusefi and many other aftermarket ECUs, so it's the safe bet. And at approx. $15 for a MAP sensor, at least in the US, the investment is not too prohibitive.

User avatar
kb1gtt
contributor
contributor
Posts: 3664
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 1:42 am
Location: ME of USA

Re: hello from france

Post by kb1gtt »

Your English is much better than my French. I only know a couple words and phrases.

What year Subaru is it? Are you Close to Saint-Nazaire?
Welcome to the friendlier side of internet crazy :)

cyrille
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2017 8:37 am

Re: hello from france

Post by cyrille »

stefanst wrote:Please stop apologizing for your English. My guess is that more than 50% of people on this forum don't have English as their first language.

It's possible to run MAF at first, but it's largely untested and, depending on what type signal you MAF generates *may* require custom code. It also may work real well right out of the box- hard to say.

Many people run an external MAP sensor and feed the signal to rusefi, without making any change to the stock wiring. So you can easily switch between ECUs, but you are running Speed-Density with rusefi and MAF with stock ECU. Speed-Density is much more proven with rusefi and many other aftermarket ECUs, so it's the safe bet. And at approx. $15 for a MAP sensor, at least in the US, the investment is not too prohibitive.


Ok, no problem, but in france we are not very courageous for foreign languages.
I could use the wiring of the MAF to connect the MAP and switch from one to the other.
kb1gtt wrote:Your English is much better than my French. I only know a couple words and phrases.

What year Subaru is it? Are you Close to Saint-Nazaire?

thank you.
This is an impreza gt turbo (wrx) from 1998.
It currently runs with a power fc, turbo greedy t518z, 850cc injectors, 76mm exhaust trust, avcr, FMIC.
I live in the south of france (french riviera), between Monaco and saint-tropez.

User avatar
kb1gtt
contributor
contributor
Posts: 3664
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 1:42 am
Location: ME of USA

Re: hello from france

Post by kb1gtt »

Hmm, that looks close to this one, but that shows a 4 connector ECU connector.
http://rusefi.com/wiki/index.php?title=Vehicle:Subaru_Impreza_1991-1996

How close is a 2003 WRX?
http://rusefi.com/wiki/index.php?title=Vehicle:Subaru_Impreza_WRX_2003
Welcome to the friendlier side of internet crazy :)

cyrille
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2017 8:37 am

Re: hello from france

Post by cyrille »


User avatar
kb1gtt
contributor
contributor
Posts: 3664
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 1:42 am
Location: ME of USA

Re: hello from france

Post by kb1gtt »

Am I seeing this correctly that you do not have the emissions flapper thing? Many engines had this flap which would restrict your intake. It had something to do with emissions during idle, and if you do not control it it would limit high end HP. Many people simply remove, others simply hold it open. In your case it looks like it might not have this flapper.

What does your ECU look like? I wonder if it's the same physical package as the Frankenso. We are re-using OEM ECU enclosures to get a low cost enclosure. The Frankenso might have the same case, and might bolt in.
Welcome to the friendlier side of internet crazy :)

cyrille
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2017 8:37 am

Re: hello from france

Post by cyrille »

I have no emission control system.
I do not have an ECU at home at the moment, but I could if necessary go and measure it.
I know that somebody have installed an MSII in the original case and there is room.

cyrille
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2017 8:37 am

Re: hello from france

Post by cyrille »

Hello
I think it is this connector that would go with my beam, but I think even if the connector is the same, surely the slots are not used for the same thing following the manufacturer.
It will solder many wires between the connector and the card I suppose.

have a nice week end

https://www.tindie.com/products/russian/64p-ecu-connector/

User avatar
kb1gtt
contributor
contributor
Posts: 3664
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 1:42 am
Location: ME of USA

Re: hello from france

Post by kb1gtt »

We have not found problems with keying on that connector. We have also found that there is a 4 plug version of that connector, and the 3 plugs from this connector work just find with that 4 plug connector.
Welcome to the friendlier side of internet crazy :)

Post Reply