New to Fuel Injection Control

Your chance to introduce yourself and your vehicle
Bullhoose

New to Fuel Injection Control

Post by Bullhoose »

Guy's, I'm needing all the help I can get. I'm new to fuel injection all together. This is my project: Im building a Porsche 914-4 powered rail buggy. The engine has dual carbs now, but id rather have the throttle response of fuel injection.
I'm wanting to install fuel injection but don't want to spend thousands of dollars on 4 injectors, an O2 sensor, two throttle bodies and a controller. Could someone please recommend a setup that I could build? I do know a little electronics and wiring.
Abricos
contributor
contributor

Re: New to Fuel Injection Control

Post by Abricos »

First welcome to the candy shop ...
Second what sensors do you already have on the motor ???
need more information what kind of motor what kind of car year ?????foto video info !!!
ZHoob2004
contributor
contributor

Post by ZHoob2004 »

The 914-4 originally came with a Volkswagen type-4 engine and a Bosch k-jetronic? EFI system. I don't know much about it, except that it was totally analog and completely open loop. I don't recall much in the way of sensors, aside from a switch on the throttle body to differentiate between idle, part-throttle, and WOT. It's little wonder that the first thing anyone does with these motors is switch to carbs...

As for converting back to EFI here's what you need:
  • Intake manifold - Somewhere to put your injectors and throttle body/bodies. It sounds like you've looked at individual/dual throttle bodies already, and found that they're quite expensive. If you can find a factory intake manifold, that has a single throttle body for all 4 runners and should do nicely.