1986 Ford Mustang 5.0 EFI swap

Your chance to introduce yourself and your vehicle
wstefan20
Github Username: wstefan20

1986 Ford Mustang 5.0 EFI swap

Post by wstefan20 »

Been lurking for a while and I'm finally going to start on a build for my friend's Ford Mustang 5.0.

A little background on me, I am an electrical engineer working in research and have some slight experience in PCB design, though I would not call me an expert by any means.

As a warning (and yes, I know I'm going to get flack for this) but I learned PCB design with Eagle and then Fusion 360 so I'm going to be designing everything for my build using that platform. I've been told it's pretty easy to port from Eagle to KiCad though so I might convert them once I get it done in Fusion.

I will be running an MSD ignition and probably speed density to begin with. The goal is to swap my friend's 5.0 from carb to EFI using a stock harness (though I will be going through and cleaning up the harness to so yes, I know it's probably unnecessary). To keep costs down I plan on re-using the stock mustang computer connector and case.

While I know that it's much easier to just rely on prior designs and use the 60 pin breakout board, I really want something custom that doesn't require a bunch of janky jumpers (not bashing just preference), and I won't require a lot of circuitry for this build that is included in generic builds. What would be nice is if I got a base tune, board, and everything and could help other mustang owners from paying $300+ for a stock computer (A9L is getting crazy).

I do work full-time, working on my Master's degree in EE, have more projects in my garage then I'd like to admit, and have a newborn so this might be a bit slow-paced.

As a start, I created a library for the ford 60 pin connector for Eagle and will layout the board once I get the old computer for measurements.

TL,DR:
https://github.com/wstefan20/5.0mustangProteusPnP
https://github.com/rusefi/proteus-mustang5.0-60-pin