1973 GMC MotorHome (Oldsmobile 455 V8)

Your chance to introduce yourself and your vehicle
aglass0fmilk

1973 GMC MotorHome (Oldsmobile 455 V8)

Post by aglass0fmilk »

Hi everyone!

I've been watching the rusEfi project for over a year now and this might be the first time I'm actually posting.

So long story short, I'm restoring a 1973 GMC MotorHome that's been in my family since it was bought new by my grandfather. There's a lot of history and memories in this vehicle... but it needed a new frame and entire rehab. So now it's a nut and bolt restoration!

I'm an embedded software engineer by day and wanted to add a bunch of instrumentation while keeping it's classic driving experience. I'm not a huge fan of having a cluttered dash with 30 analog gauges, so I wanted to add a 70's stylized digital gauge cluster to supplement the original speedo and fuel/temp/oil pressure gauges.

I found rusEfi because I wasn't satisfied with the other options for DIY EFI and automotive electronics out there. Some platforms have lame restrictive licensing agreements (MegaSquirt) or are based on platforms that have a questionable track record when it comes to robust operation and reliability (eg: Arduino/SpeedDuino). That's just when it comes to DIY engine computers! I have many more electronic modules planned for my GMC MotorHome restomod.

The other options I found were all closed-source solutions, such as Holley, with little to no customization. I want full control over the look, feel, operation, and performance of my vehicle systems.

As professional practice in both hardware and embedded software development, I have started designing my own automotive electronics. I'm a huge fan of open source and I think there's a lot to be gained through collaboration towards a common goal. I am an avid contributor to Mbed-OS, an RTOS from ARM that you may be familiar with, and it's my go-to platform.