Hello from Norway! (Honda VFR800 2005)

Your chance to introduce yourself and your vehicle
Andre AA
Slack: Andre AA

Hello from Norway! (Honda VFR800 2005)

Post by Andre AA »

Hello, my name is André and I'm a mechanic (Both hobby and occupation) from Norway. My family runs a repair shop, we primarily do normal car work, but also do a lot of EFI, engine rebuilds, tuning, paint, and bodywork, etc. That's not important, the important part is the EFI, we haven't installed/tuned thousands of ECUs, but well over 100 which isn't a small number (in my opinion). I also have access to a wide array of equipment including a dyno and the ability to have widebands for every cylinder for testing. I'm more than happy to use the equipment and the knowledge I have access to, to help the rusEFI team with testing ECUs and features. I will most likely be installing these ECUs in everything from single-cylinder engines to v8s pushing over 1500hp. We also have a lot of experience installing and tuning EFI, so I doubt there will ever be a problem with that part. If the rusEFI team needs help with testing something let me know, keep in mind I'm not an electronics engineer but I still have a good understanding of both hardware and software.

My current project is a Honda VFR800 from 2005. I purchased a crashed bike which I will be using the engine in a different project. The key was missing so I wasn't able to start it since the bike is a European model and has the HISS immobilizer. I decided on the rusEFI over an original ECU for two primary reasons. Reason one is I want to try the rusEFI system, and second, I might be supercharging the engine.

The best explanation I can give of the vehicle I'm building is a tiny single-seater front-mounted engine vehicle. Think of a giant go-kart with suspension and a front-mounted engine, designed for a much greater speed with much better handling. The entire thing would weigh under 250kg and have roughly 150hp (Supercharged).