Pps not reading in Tunerstudio

Your chance to introduce yourself and your vehicle
Slim804
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2022 1:53 am
Github Username: Slim804

Pps not reading in Tunerstudio

Post by Slim804 »

ok guys im still having this issue so i updated it with a little more information.

Hoping you all can give me some insight, I’ve searched the forums and found nothing. Putting a M111 into a 190e using a MRE. Struggling with PPS. It’s wired correctly and I’m getting 5v at the ecu pin out and at the plug to the pps but it’s not showing that I am in Tunerstudio. Tried multiple pin outs and configurations and still nothing.
I've also uploaded a data log

Current wiring:
Attachments
image.png
image.png (12.24 KiB) Viewed 10983 times
IMG_1927.jpg
IMG_1927.jpg (134.7 KiB) Viewed 10983 times
Last edited by Slim804 on Mon Jan 30, 2023 6:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14317
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Pps not reading in Tunerstudio

Post by AndreyB »

Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
mck1117
running engine in first post
running engine in first post
Posts: 1494
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 2:05 am
Location: Seattle-ish

Re: Pps not reading in Tunerstudio

Post by mck1117 »

Do the raw PPS gauges move when you move the pedal?
Slim804
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2022 1:53 am
Github Username: Slim804

Re: Pps not reading in Tunerstudio

Post by Slim804 »

Raw gauges are not moving
duhafnusa4
contributor
contributor
Posts: 140
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2020 7:18 pm
Location: USA Kentucky
Github Username: duhafnusa4
Slack: Jimmy *un*el

Re: Pps not reading in Tunerstudio

Post by duhafnusa4 »

what voltages are you getting with your voltmeter out of the pps?
User avatar
md_sanci
Posts: 69
Joined: Thu May 30, 2019 6:13 am
Location: Romania
Github Username: shadowm60
Slack: Alex M
Contact:

Re: Pps not reading in Tunerstudio

Post by md_sanci »

Two years ago i was running mre m111, with oem harness, made an adapter.

Connector E
Pin 31 tps1 connected to an volt2 on mre
Pin 32 tps- connected to sgnd on mre
Pin 33 tps 5v, connected to 5v on mre
Pin 34 tps2 connected to an volt10

Check my old tunes
https://rusefi.com/online/view.php?msq=259

You can also see how i had them configured

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

User avatar
md_sanci
Posts: 69
Joined: Thu May 30, 2019 6:13 am
Location: Romania
Github Username: shadowm60
Slack: Alex M
Contact:

Re: Pps not reading in Tunerstudio

Post by md_sanci »

md_sanci wrote:Two years ago i was running mre m111, with oem harness, made an adapter.

Connector E
Pin 31 tps1 connected to an volt2 on mre
Pin 32 tps- connected to sgnd on mre
Pin 33 tps 5v, connected to 5v on mre
Pin 34 tps2 connected to an volt10

Check my old tunes
https://rusefi.com/online/view.php?msq=259

You can also see how i had them configured

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
Forget this, i mixed it up, that was etb

Pps is connector c
Pin 22 - pwg1-2 is 5v
Pin 23 - pwg1-0 is 0v
Pin 24 pwg1-1 is an3 on mre
Pin 25 pwg2-1 is an 7 on mre
Pin 26 pwg0-2 is 0v

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

Slim804
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2022 1:53 am
Github Username: Slim804

Re: Pps not reading in Tunerstudio

Post by Slim804 »

I can acuate the pedal sensor and the voltage reflects on the multimeter but not in Tunerstudio
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14317
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Pps not reading in Tunerstudio

Post by AndreyB »

Slim804 wrote:
Mon Jan 30, 2023 9:37 pm
I can acuate the pedal sensor and the voltage reflects on the multimeter but not in Tunerstudio
Something is not working.

Without a log we are blind. https://github.com/rusefi/rusefi/wiki/HOWTO-upload-log
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
Slim804
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2022 1:53 am
Github Username: Slim804

Re: Pps not reading in Tunerstudio

Post by Slim804 »

I actually did put up a log
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14317
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Pps not reading in Tunerstudio

Post by AndreyB »

Very limited telepathic abilities - it was not obvious that you did :) https://rusefi.com/online/view.php?log=1154
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
Slim804
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2022 1:53 am
Github Username: Slim804

Re: Pps not reading in Tunerstudio

Post by Slim804 »

Apologies, I did an edit to the original post saying that i uploaded a log
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14317
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Pps not reading in Tunerstudio

Post by AndreyB »

I've noticed that log shows 7v battery which does not look right.

Without USB cables/laptop does car power up your microRusEFI? Do you see blue LED blinking without USB cable?

Time for some wiring photos, something looks very very broken.
image.png
image.png (55.27 KiB) Viewed 10949 times
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
Slim804
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2022 1:53 am
Github Username: Slim804

Re: Pps not reading in Tunerstudio

Post by Slim804 »

Mre does power up without the usb being connected and there is a blue light blinking . Probaly reads 7V because i had it on for a while going over a lot of things
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14317
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Pps not reading in Tunerstudio

Post by AndreyB »

https://rusefi.com/online/view.php?msq=1208 are those still your settings?

I see CLT and TPS showing legit values so at least something works. If I saw av8/av9/av10 used for PPS I would ask about corresponding resistors but since I do not see av8/av9/av10 used for PPS I have no ideas.
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
Slim804
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2022 1:53 am
Github Username: Slim804

Re: Pps not reading in Tunerstudio

Post by Slim804 »

TPS does show legit values in TS but the auto calibrate button is not illuminated. so it wont let me do anything with the TPS. Should I swap to one of the AV's to the PPS and run another log? Those are not my settings
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14317
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Pps not reading in Tunerstudio

Post by AndreyB »

I am done guessing for today. Your choice not to share your current settings :(
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
Slim804
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2022 1:53 am
Github Username: Slim804

Re: Pps not reading in Tunerstudio

Post by Slim804 »

I'm not choosing not to share,I'm looking at the log that was loaded and wonder why its not showing what the current tune and logs are
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14317
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Pps not reading in Tunerstudio

Post by AndreyB »

Tunes have to be uploaded manually and separately :(

https://rusefi.com/forum/memberlist.php?mode=viewprofile&u=1808 looks like you have not uploaded any tunes recently.
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
Slim804
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2022 1:53 am
Github Username: Slim804

Re: Pps not reading in Tunerstudio

Post by Slim804 »

I have just now uploaded current log and tune
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14317
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Pps not reading in Tunerstudio

Post by AndreyB »

I do not know what exactly is going on :(

But here is an observation: on my microRusEFI unit when it is disconnected channels never show exact 0.0000 like in your log - my raw gauges and low show some noise. I wonder why does your log not show similar noise?

Also AV4 seems to be pulled up (note 4.7v on disconnected unit not 0v) which would also be messing with your pedal if you have same pull-up on AV4.
image.png
image.png (130.59 KiB) Viewed 10677 times
image.png
image.png (459.51 KiB) Viewed 10677 times
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14317
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Pps not reading in Tunerstudio

Post by AndreyB »

Maybe try temporarily connecting TPS to these pedal wires just to test how physical inputs behave, just to confirm that it's NOT a board/input problem?
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
Slim804
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2022 1:53 am
Github Username: Slim804

Re: Pps not reading in Tunerstudio

Post by Slim804 »

https://rusefi.com/online/view.php?msq=1384 Here is the link to the most current that i uploaded. None of the gauge pictures look familar
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14317
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Pps not reading in Tunerstudio

Post by AndreyB »

my pictures who my local setup in NJ i was using to experiment. The point was that it shows 0.002 not 0.000
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
Slim804
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2022 1:53 am
Github Username: Slim804

Re: Pps not reading in Tunerstudio

Post by Slim804 »

Ok, I get it. So I will do what you suggested and see what results I come up with.
Slim804
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2022 1:53 am
Github Username: Slim804

Re: Pps not reading in Tunerstudio

Post by Slim804 »

I did get around to swapping the PPS sensor wires to the TPS. The TPS is showing that it is receiving voltage in Tunerstudio on the gauges.
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14317
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Pps not reading in Tunerstudio

Post by AndreyB »

Missing the big picture, you would need both TPS and PPS to work in the end right?
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
Slim804
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2022 1:53 am
Github Username: Slim804

Re: Pps not reading in Tunerstudio

Post by Slim804 »

Yes,even with the TPS showing that its getting voltage the auto calibrate button in tunerstudio was not illuminated at the startof all this for me to click on it.
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14317
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Pps not reading in Tunerstudio

Post by AndreyB »

Latest snapshot version of the firmware might be displaying this a bit better
* First of all you have a fat red CRITICAL ERROR - as a rule of thump your primary focus has to be on resolving the CRITICAL ERROR
* Secondly ETB is disabled probably due to that exact CRITICAL ERROR
image.png
image.png (409.53 KiB) Viewed 10603 times
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
Slim804
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2022 1:53 am
Github Username: Slim804

Re: Pps not reading in Tunerstudio

Post by Slim804 »

I completely agree the critical error is the biggest red flag at the moment. I updated to the latest version of firmware back on the 28th of January.
Post Reply