New 4-cyl ECU design

Your chance to introduce yourself and your vehicle
tmbryhn

New 4-cyl ECU design

Post by tmbryhn »

I'm contemplating a new 4-cyl ECU design for a business project that involves creating a complete bolt-on EFi conversion kit for old aircooled VW engines. The kits will be marketed and sold through my business. I appreciate the helpful and ever growing RusEFi community, so I'd like to make this design open source and available to anyone who would like to use it for their own work. For the record, I'm a noob when it comes to GitHub, but I assume that's the way to go :)

This thread is thus for the purpose of sharing experiences and ideas along the way, and asking for some guidance to help reaching the goal of making a design that meets the following requirements for a hypothetical use case:

OUTPUTs:
4x Inj (high-Z/saturated only)
4x Ign (passive or "smart" coil control, internal solder selectable)
1x ETB (TLE9201)
4x GPO (low-side, 1x allocated for WBO2 heater)
2x GPO (high-side, 12V)

INPUTs:
1x Integrated WBO2 (I'll implement my own tried and tested circuit)
2x VR/Hall (MAX9926)
4x Analog TEMP: CLT, IAT, Oil-T, Spare
10x Analog VOLT (Digital w. solder config. pullup): PPS1, PPS2, TPS1, TPS2, MAP, BARO, Oil-P, Fuel-P, Batt-V (internal), WBO2 (internal)
1x Software knock (If possible, similar to Proteus, but single channel)
1x USB
1x CAN
1x SD-card (internal)

The MRE is more/less a perfect match (minus the integrated WBO2 controller), but for this design, I'd rather skip the LTE8888 and instead use regular N-FETs w. active clamping similar to what I've done on previous ECU designs. Reason being a combination of components availability, cost and simplicity.

There are a couple of details I need to sort out before I can start on the design though:

In the MRE release firmware, there are settings in TS for disabling the LTE8888 chip;