HONDA R18Z TURBO

Your chance to introduce yourself and your vehicle
Dabb

HONDA R18Z TURBO

Post by Dabb »

I am really excited to start playing with uaEFI for my project. I am a mechanical engineer with some knowledge in Python and base knowledge in electronics, looking for a custom solution for a project of mine for which my old megasquirts ecus will not fit and are outdated completely compared to the possibilities that rusefi is offering. In fact I remember when I first use a TEC system and looking how things had improve thanks to the community and projects as rusefi,

My idea is to work out the prototype with uaEFI and then go for a custom solution with a more compact aluminium case and milspec terminals.

The honda engine does 140HP N/A and its going to be turbocharged. Its going to receive a lot of modifications in its parts in order to make it bulletproof at only 200HP@5000rpm with a 10:1 of static compression ratio. The main objective is mechanical reliability and fuel efficiency. I need to operate with the ECU:
.- VTEC on/off.
.- LSU 4.9
.- Wastegate electronic actuators ( VW OEM PART image attached)
.- Brushless DC 12V-2A motor.
.- Electronic throttle body
.- 4 oem ignition coils
.- 4 injectors
.- connect with dash and external buttons via CAN.

What I pretend from the ECU:

.- Acceleration by the user is controlled by the ECU this way: At full power it has maximum turbo boost for that engine operating point and throttle at 95%. When the user takes the foot out of the gas pedal, the ECU first reduce boost keeping the throttle at 95% and when boost is at its minimums it start closing the throttle. So in this way I always prioritize keeping the throttle as open as possible to reduce pumping looses and increase engine efficiency for a certain load.