[rusEfi] Skoda 120L + ITB

Your chance to introduce yourself and your vehicle
tAB

Skoda 120L + ITB

Post by tAB »

Hello All,

First of all a little introduction of me. I'm an electrical engineer, but dealing with cars in my free time as a hobby. I repair everything including engine, suspension, electronic, bodywork and also doing paint jobs as well. In parallel I'm building my old Skoda's. I have a 120L which is in daily use, running ~150km/day. My other long term project is an 1000MB from 1967, but it will be an other story...

The subject of this topic would be the Skoda 120L from 1985. It has several modifications in the engine: bigger bore/stroke, camshaft, bigger valves, rockers with higher lift and finally got a cylinder head from the legendary RS. It's an 8 channel head, instead of the original 5 channel (2 intake, 3 exhaust). The engine is equipped with an ITB setup. The throttle bodies were coming from Yamaha R6. Intake and exhaust manifolds are self/custom made. Currently the engine is running with a stock ECU from Skoda Felicia.

The current setup looks like as follows:
- stock Felicia 136MPi ECU
- ITB's from Yamaha R6
- idle motor + TPS from Felicia
- injectors from Felicia, driven in pairs (custom fuel rail)
- HALL crankshaft sensor
- flywheel from Felicia (like here: https://rusefi.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=1133)
- wasted spark ignition, no distributor
- MAP sensor hooked up to a merged line coming from each throttle bodies
- narrow band lambda sensor
- knock sensor

Due to the stock ECU it has it's limitations... Especially in the lower end, but at least it's running...
https://photos.app.goo.gl/2YPWrnz9KpsGNwc39

So, here comes why I'm here :-)
I'd like to build and tune my own ECU. The idea is to build a model specific board with the stock connector, so I could reuse 95% of the original harness.
The base would be Frankenso board with some simplifications:
- less driver outputs
- no CAN bus
- 4 injectors only