[info] ATLAB X5- MX5 PNP

Hardware inside and outside of the ECU
Post Reply
atntpt
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2018 8:21 pm

ATLAB X5- MX5 PNP

Post by atntpt »

Hello, I have recently been gaining interest in the creation and development of ecus. my first project was based on speeduino- an ecu pnp for the mx5 mk2.
Everything became functional but some software limitations led me to want to do the same but based on rusefi!
I'll probably need some help :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Anyway, I'm posting updates of what I'm doing.
Attachments
37537741_2086471871372201_2302559773003874304_n.jpg
37537741_2086471871372201_2302559773003874304_n.jpg (310.64 KiB) Viewed 7213 times
video-1538861255.mp4
(1.82 MiB) Downloaded 660 times
37338451_2086471894705532_7420312188667035648_n.jpg
37338451_2086471894705532_7420312188667035648_n.jpg (359.38 KiB) Viewed 7213 times
User avatar
kb1gtt
contributor
contributor
Posts: 3758
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 1:42 am
Location: ME of USA

Re: ATLAB X5- MX5 PNP

Post by kb1gtt »

Sweet and feel free to ask questions.

If you post your schematics and such, I can offer my comments from a hardware level review.

Do you plan to do a re-spin of the board which includes the STM32 components? It appears you have some kind of brain board area. Do you plan to spin a board with includes the STM32 chip used by rusEFI, then place it in that area?
Welcome to the friendlier side of internet crazy :)
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14327
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: ATLAB X5- MX5 PNP

Post by AndreyB »

Mk2 or nb2?
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
atntpt
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2018 8:21 pm

Re: ATLAB X5- MX5 PNP

Post by atntpt »

kb1gtt wrote:
Wed Oct 24, 2018 9:20 pm
Sweet and feel free to ask questions.

If you post your schematics and such, I can offer my comments from a hardware level review.

Do you plan to do a re-spin of the board which includes the STM32 components? It appears you have some kind of brain board area. Do you plan to spin a board with includes the STM32 chip used by rusEFI, then place it in that area?
hello, thanks for the availability!
I'm doing it all over again and I want it to be as clean as possible. When I have something more composed I share so you can comment!

Regarding the hardware I have a few questions, I used tc4427 to control the mosfets on my board. I noticed that in the frankenso scheme they are linked directly to the stm output. but in the name of the links it refers to "5v" the stm only has 3.3v outputs right?
- any special care with the pinout outputs / inputs that have to be specific for certain functions?
-I'm using the lib from stmf407 but being able to use the 469 pinout is equal right? both lqfp100 obviously
- What is the purpose of the 32mhz crystal? programming?


- about software .. being that the pinout can be all configured will the firmware will work without any changes? in Prometheus git there is an .oic file that seems to me to be some kind of configuration
Attachments
x55.PNG
x55.PNG (55.62 KiB) Viewed 7203 times
atntpt
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2018 8:21 pm

Re: ATLAB X5- MX5 PNP

Post by atntpt »

russian wrote:
Wed Oct 24, 2018 9:22 pm
Mk2 or nb2?
the idea is to make both bit i own a mk2 not mk2.5 so i will do it first
User avatar
kb1gtt
contributor
contributor
Posts: 3758
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 1:42 am
Location: ME of USA

Re: ATLAB X5- MX5 PNP

Post by kb1gtt »

I recall the STM32 was 5V compatible, but can only drive 3.3V. My labels are perhaps less than clear. When I made the labels I did not know it was 3.3V drive. I saw the 5V compatible note, and made my labels. With how flexible this has ended up being, it's probably best because if my labels did not reference voltages.

I understand the use of a small MOSFET driver to drive a larger MOSFET, as it helps prevent the channel energy from holding the gate on. However I don't understand the use of a small MOSFET driving a small MOSFET. You are still driving a MOFET and it still has the ability to self latch. Also I have not found any OEM ECU's which use a MOSFET driver for 1A loads. To me the TC4427 seems like it's just extra components. I'm not sure it's providing the benefits you might think it's providing.

I recall CAM / CRANK are fairly specific. I recall those have limited IO that they can be attached to. I think everything else is fairly universal / obvious. This would be better known by @.

I think you are referencing X2, the 32.768kHz. I recall that's a low energy slow clock for sleeping cycles. Or perhaps it was a RTC thing. I forget. I don't think we are using it yet, but if we end up doing sleep stuff some day, then it would likely be useful.
Welcome to the friendlier side of internet crazy :)
User avatar
andreika
donator
donator
Posts: 461
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 2:35 pm
Location: Kiev

Re: ATLAB X5- MX5 PNP

Post by andreika »

atntpt wrote:
Wed Oct 24, 2018 10:34 pm
-I'm using the lib from stmf407 but being able to use the 469 pinout is equal right? both lqfp100 obviously
These are NOT compatible pinouts, beware!
atntpt wrote:
Wed Oct 24, 2018 10:34 pm
being that the pinout can be all configured will the firmware will work without any changes? in Prometheus git there is an .oic file that seems to me to be some kind of configuration
There are several pinout configurations available inside the firmware. But you need to clean-and-rebuild the firmware (and reset flash config) to switch them. See /rusefi/firmware/config/boards/ folder for more details.
1) The default is a ST_STM32F4 "Discovery" config pinout which is compatible with Frankenso/Frankenstein boards on 407 chip.
2) Another is "Prometheus" config which contains two pinouts for 469 chip (in 64 and 100-pin packages) for the Prometheus board (rev 0.1 and 0.2).
And also there are plenty of "engine" configurations on top of them.
atntpt
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2018 8:21 pm

Re: ATLAB X5- MX5 PNP

Post by atntpt »

andreika wrote:
Thu Oct 25, 2018 7:56 am

These are NOT compatible pinouts, beware!

I mean hardware wise - I didn't confirm them all but did put both sheats side by side and looked similar ! Will double check every pin! Don't you happened to have eagle lib ?

andreika wrote:
Thu Oct 25, 2018 7:56 am
There are several pinout configurations available inside the firmware. But you need to clean-and-rebuild the firmware (and reset flash config) to switch them. See /rusefi/firmware/config/boards/ folder for more details.
1) The default is a ST_STM32F4 "Discovery" config pinout which is compatible with Frankenso/Frankenstein boards on 407 chip.
2) Another is "Prometheus" config which contains two pinouts for 469 chip (in 64 and 100-pin packages) for the Prometheus board (rev 0.1 and 0.2).
And also there are plenty of "engine" configurations on top of them.
About being a custom board, I saw the file board_configuration.cpp contains most of the pin assignment. Is this the only modification I need to make if I use same processor ? If don't how hard is it and if Im able to finish the board could someone help me ?
User avatar
andreika
donator
donator
Posts: 461
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 2:35 pm
Location: Kiev

Re: ATLAB X5- MX5 PNP

Post by andreika »

atntpt wrote:
Thu Oct 25, 2018 12:58 pm
Don't you happened to have eagle lib ?
No, I didn't use eagle, sorry...
atntpt wrote:
Thu Oct 25, 2018 12:58 pm
board_configuration.cpp contains most of the pin assignment. Is this the only modification I need to make if I use same processor ? If don't how hard is it and if Im able to finish the board could someone help me ?
If you're using different UART/SPI channels, you might also want to modify mcuconf.h (see rusefi/firmware/config/boards/Prometheus/mcuconf.h as example -- just use #undef+#define scheme to override non-default values). Alse look into efifeatures.h - to disable unused hardware ("#define EFI_HD44780_LCD FALSE" etc.) and setup some internal non-configurable channels and interfaces ("#define ADC_CHANNEL_VREF ADC_CHANNEL_IN14")...
We've already put some effort to make multiple HAL-configs possible, so basically it should work.
atntpt
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2018 8:21 pm

Re: ATLAB X5- MX5 PNP

Post by atntpt »

litle update
Attachments
v5-rus.png
v5-rus.png (56.42 KiB) Viewed 7087 times
Post Reply