[info] Proteus - Waterproof, High-feature ECU!

Hardware inside and outside of the ECU
OrchardPerformance
contributor
contributor
Posts: 346
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2018 8:55 pm
Github Username: Orchardperformance
Slack: Orchardperformance

Re: Proteus - Waterproof, High-feature ECU!

Post by OrchardPerformance »

Are you thinking a little more room around the board to get the wire in?
There is a USB header that is designed for a wire in USB, it's through holes so could be wired from either side.
Now keeping MRE and Proteus in stock in the UK, PM or slack for details.
Lambo97
Posts: 132
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2020 9:51 pm

Re: Proteus - Waterproof, High-feature ECU!

Post by Lambo97 »

Ahh thanks I see there are 5 through holes close to the USB on the back on the v2. That would make it easier to extend a USB port into my glove box or something. Where do I get the pin outs for the through holes?
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 12215
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Proteus - Waterproof, High-feature ECU!

Post by AndreyB »

Lambo97 wrote:
Tue Apr 13, 2021 3:11 am
Thanks for case, what about increasing the wall height to allow the rear USB to be cabled to the front on a plug? Just a thought.
https://www.ebay.com/itm/333958050504 is an alternative case bundled with a relevant connector
Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239
MrRobogoat
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2021 7:54 am

Re: Proteus - Waterproof, High-feature ECU!

Post by MrRobogoat »

AndreyB wrote:
Sun Mar 28, 2021 4:14 pm
A little birdie told me the Proteus 0.6 uses single TLE9202 instead of two TLE9201.

That's because as of today end of life https://octopart.com/tle9202edxuma1-infineon-81704134 is way more available than https://octopart.com/search?q=TLE9201
So I've got 5 80% complete v0.5 boards here that I ordered from JLCPCB in January, and I just found this out inconveniently when I went to order the hand place parts. It also looks like some other parts are in short supply, but I think I can find alternate parts or suppliers. Any tips? I spent a summer doing PCBA professionally, so I'm not afraid of some tricky soldering if need be.
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 12215
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Proteus - Waterproof, High-feature ECU!

Post by AndreyB »

MrRobogoat wrote:
Fri Apr 16, 2021 8:54 am
Any tips?
Please be more specific. I believe that spelling out what you were able to order would help someone help you. Maybe pictures of your boards? Maybe "Hello World" thread? :)
Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239
Mohammed
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2021 3:08 am

Re: Proteus - Waterproof, High-feature ECU!

Post by Mohammed »

Hello, I would like to order a board to use it with vag awt 1.8t and I have question why you don't replace the concter to 121 pin to be plug and play for 1.8t.
What the difference between v0.4 and v0.6 ?
OrchardPerformance
contributor
contributor
Posts: 346
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2018 8:55 pm
Github Username: Orchardperformance
Slack: Orchardperformance

Re: Proteus - Waterproof, High-feature ECU!

Post by OrchardPerformance »

Very little.

There are some small changes between 0.4 and 0.5 but nothing significant. The 0.6 is more a reaction to the chip shortage, functions are exactly the same but a couple of chips changed due to unavailability.

Changes I am aware of on 0.5:
Added Barro sensor
Changed capacitors to through hole for easier assembly

Changes on 0.6:
Swapped ETB chip due to lack of availability.
Now keeping MRE and Proteus in stock in the UK, PM or slack for details.
Sanya3m
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2021 12:13 pm
Github Username: Sanya3m

Re: Proteus - Waterproof, High-feature ECU!

Post by Sanya3m »

Hello, Can you please tell me if I can use STM32F429ZIT6 instead of ..GT?
The differences are only in the amount of memory, 2 MB instead of 1 MB ... :D
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 12215
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Proteus - Waterproof, High-feature ECU!

Post by AndreyB »

Sanya3m wrote:
Thu Apr 22, 2021 4:06 pm
Hello, Can you please tell me if I can use STM32F429ZIT6 instead of ..GT?
The differences are only in the amount of memory, 2 MB instead of 1 MB ... :D
More memory would be totally fine.
Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239
OrchardPerformance
contributor
contributor
Posts: 346
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2018 8:55 pm
Github Username: Orchardperformance
Slack: Orchardperformance

Re: Proteus - Waterproof, High-feature ECU!

Post by OrchardPerformance »

I am not sure but one of the others will confirm.

What I can say is that it is not a good idea, simply because we can only really offer support for the chips listed on the wiki page (https://github.com/rusefi/rusefi/wiki/stm32-readme).

With a different processor you are kind of in uncharted territory and might find crazy outcomes you were not expecting.

For a few $$ it is not worth the pain of heading into the unknown on the first try.
Now keeping MRE and Proteus in stock in the UK, PM or slack for details.
OrchardPerformance
contributor
contributor
Posts: 346
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2018 8:55 pm
Github Username: Orchardperformance
Slack: Orchardperformance

Re: Proteus - Waterproof, High-feature ECU!

Post by OrchardPerformance »

AndreyB wrote:
Thu Apr 22, 2021 4:09 pm
Sanya3m wrote:
Thu Apr 22, 2021 4:06 pm
Hello, Can you please tell me if I can use STM32F429ZIT6 instead of ..GT?
The differences are only in the amount of memory, 2 MB instead of 1 MB ... :D
More memory would be totally fine.
Do we know that one is pin compatible and has not other changes?
Now keeping MRE and Proteus in stock in the UK, PM or slack for details.
Mohammed
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2021 3:08 am

Re: Proteus - Waterproof, High-feature ECU!

Post by Mohammed »

how to order it and is it supporting wideband o2 sensor ?
mck1117
running engine in first post
running engine in first post
Posts: 1126
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 2:05 am
Location: Seattle-ish

Re: Proteus - Waterproof, High-feature ECU!

Post by mck1117 »

OrchardPerformance wrote:
Thu Apr 22, 2021 4:14 pm
Do we know that one is pin compatible and has not other changes?
Yes, they are. The numbers indicate the feature set of the chip (429), first letter is package size/pinout (V = lqfp100, Z = lqfp144), second letter is memory size (G = 1MB, I = 2MB).
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 12215
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Proteus - Waterproof, High-feature ECU!

Post by AndreyB »

Mohammed wrote:
Thu Apr 22, 2021 5:06 pm
how to order it and is it supporting wideband o2 sensor ?
Our documentation and marketing efforts are very naïve.

I have to be honest - if you are unable to find two separate ways to order Proteus listed within this thread all well, mentioned in MANY places, you would probably have a hard time using that board. Please consider doing way more research prior to asking questions that basic.
Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239
Mohammed
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2021 3:08 am

Re: Proteus - Waterproof, High-feature ECU!

Post by Mohammed »

AndreyB wrote:
Thu Apr 22, 2021 6:21 pm
Mohammed wrote:
Thu Apr 22, 2021 5:06 pm
how to order it and is it supporting wideband o2 sensor ?
Our documentation and marketing efforts are very naïve.

I have to be honest - if you are unable to find two separate ways to order Proteus listed within this thread all well, mentioned in MANY places, you would probably have a hard time using that board. Please consider doing way more research prior to asking questions that basic.
I know two separate ways how to order ebay and I can go to github and download the gerbers files then order it from Jlcpcb, but you and mr mck1117 offering ready boards and I couldn't PM any one of you, It was simpler and shorter to answer my questions , second thing you don't know me to say that I will have hard time using that board..... with my respect
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 12215
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Proteus - Waterproof, High-feature ECU!

Post by AndreyB »

Mohammed wrote:
Thu Apr 22, 2021 6:55 pm
I know two separate ways how to order ebay and I can go to github and download the gerbers files then order it from Jlcpcb, but you and mr mck1117 offering ready boards and I couldn't PM any one of you, It was simpler and shorter to answer my questions
I do not know that you are aware of eBay way and Jlcpcb way and PM mck1117, your questions could have interpreted like you know nothing. Please look at the way you were asking the questions through my eyes.

Now that you know about eBay and Jlcpcb I am even more confused what else could you be asking.

Please consider adding way more context information when you ask your question in the future on this forum.
Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239
hugovw1976
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2020 3:10 pm
Github Username: hugovw1976

Re: Proteus - Waterproof, High-feature ECU!

Post by hugovw1976 »

Can use STM32F407ZGTx instead of STM32F429ZGTx?
Sorry if this is a silly question but I designed a custom board and I need some boards to run on rusEfi firmware and some boards run on Speeduino firmware, but Speeduino is not compatible with STM32F429GTx
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 12215
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Proteus - Waterproof, High-feature ECU!

Post by AndreyB »

hugovw1976 wrote:
Sat Apr 24, 2021 12:36 am
Can use STM32F407ZGTx instead of STM32F429ZGTx?
yes
Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239
hugovw1976
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2020 3:10 pm
Github Username: hugovw1976

Re: Proteus - Waterproof, High-feature ECU!

Post by hugovw1976 »

Hi, checking proteus board (v5.0 and 6.0) there is no connection for Analog voltage 12, the hardware is there (U901,U3, etc.) but there's no connection to AV12 IN on connector and no connection to MCU nither.
If I'm not wrong still analog pin in PF10 (PIN 22).
Lambo97
Posts: 132
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2020 9:51 pm

Re: Proteus - Waterproof, High-feature ECU!

Post by Lambo97 »

Hey there not sure if I should put this in this thread, Proteus works great just plugging it into the USB, but when I use rusEFI console to auto update DFU she's giving me the STLink error. I checked the device manager there is no device there. Here's the screen shot of successful install of the STLink. Just wondering if there is an alternate firmware update method, maybe you've run into this before?
image.png
image.png (411.42 KiB) Viewed 5021 times
I'll move this question if this is the wrong spot, I'll try another computer meanwhile.
mck1117
running engine in first post
running engine in first post
Posts: 1126
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 2:05 am
Location: Seattle-ish

Re: Proteus - Waterproof, High-feature ECU!

Post by mck1117 »

Lambo97 wrote:
Thu Apr 29, 2021 4:37 am
Hey there not sure if I should put this in this thread, Proteus works great just plugging it into the USB, but when I use rusEFI console to auto update DFU she's giving me the STLink error. I checked the device manager there is no device there. Here's the screen shot of successful install of the STLink. Just wondering if there is an alternate firmware update method, maybe you've run into this before?


I'll move this question if this is the wrong spot, I'll try another computer meanwhile.
Did you try the "manual DFU" option after manually putting it in DFU mode? You can force an entry to the programming mode by holding the "PROG" button while plugging in the USB cable (then you can release the button). It should show up in device manager as "STM32 BOOTLOADER" or something like that.

PS: Thank you for a high quality, clear screenshot of the complete picture of what's going on!
Lambo97
Posts: 132
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2020 9:51 pm

Re: Proteus - Waterproof, High-feature ECU!

Post by Lambo97 »

Hi there, this is for the v4. I've done every method of reboot and button pushing. So I plug the board in and it's available on COM3. I open rusEFI console and all good it sees it. I flip to manual and unplug and hold prog, then replug and only green light is on. Seems to be in DFU mode. It' now doesn't show up in the device manager where before it showed up as a serial device on COM3. I checked under USB devices and as you can see no USB DFU mode device. Let me try another computer, seems to have something to do with the STLink drivers. I'd like to run your latest firmware, almost ready to boot up the engine, things are getting interesting!

Thanks I'll update my results on another machine.
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 12215
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Proteus - Waterproof, High-feature ECU!

Post by AndreyB »

Lambo97 wrote:
Thu Apr 29, 2021 4:16 pm
STLink drivers
My preference is to be precise with small little details. There is no STLink in your life - you are using build in stm32 DFU which is Device Firmware Update protocol. STLink is separate hardware for debugging which you do not have to the best of my knowledge.
Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239
Lambo97
Posts: 132
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2020 9:51 pm

Re: Proteus - Waterproof, High-feature ECU!

Post by Lambo97 »

Ahh OK, so I just downloaded the proteus package on another computer with a slightly older version of windows: 1909 and after a reboot it updated the board. The windows box it failed on was 20H2. Not sure if it was a hardware or software issue. But at least I'm up to date. Thanks for letting me verbalize my issue, it let me run through the standard troubleshooting steps.
Lambo97
Posts: 132
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2020 9:51 pm

Re: Proteus - Waterproof, High-feature ECU!

Post by Lambo97 »

I just updated my second V2 board using the square USB. I soldered on a USB header in the same orientation as the V4 and the computer is not recognizing the V2 as a USB device. The V2 Just wondering if there were any board issues with the V2 that would stop me from using an extension USB soldered to the 5 through holes in the board?
mck1117
running engine in first post
running engine in first post
Posts: 1126
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 2:05 am
Location: Seattle-ish

Re: Proteus - Waterproof, High-feature ECU!

Post by mck1117 »

If I recall correctly, I got the pinout wrong on the USB pigtail on that rev of the board. You may need to de-pin and swap the USB data lines (white and green). I will double check on my working 0.2 board tonight.
mck1117
running engine in first post
running engine in first post
Posts: 1126
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 2:05 am
Location: Seattle-ish

Re: Proteus - Waterproof, High-feature ECU!

Post by mck1117 »

Ok, just checked, and I did indeed get the v0.2 wrong. The wires for the USB pigtail on v0.2 should go red-green-white-black-black. You'll need to swap the USB data lines, green and white.
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 12215
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Proteus - Waterproof, High-feature ECU!

Post by AndreyB »

Proteus 0.6 brought some new drama https://github.com/rusefi/rusefi/wiki/HOWTO-nDBANK

At the moment we only know how to deal with it via Stm32CubeProgrammer. They say it should be possible to handle via OpenOCD and St-Link?
Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239
puff
contributor
contributor
Posts: 2898
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 11:28 am
Location: Moskau

Re: Proteus - Waterproof, High-feature ECU!

Post by puff »

there is also jlink with their workaround
https://wiki.segger.com/STM32F7

fiy, you can get a jlink officially out of your stlink (and if needed, switch it back to stlink)
mck1117
running engine in first post
running engine in first post
Posts: 1126
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 2:05 am
Location: Seattle-ish

Re: Proteus - Waterproof, High-feature ECU!

Post by mck1117 »

puff wrote:
Tue May 11, 2021 12:00 am
there is also jlink with their workaround
https://wiki.segger.com/STM32F7

fiy, you can get a jlink officially out of your stlink (and if needed, switch it back to stlink)
Workaround? The problem isn't programming the chip.

The problem is that when we go to store the engine's config, we need two pages to write to so that if we lose power in the middle of a flash, you don't lose any data. However, in single bank mode on 1MB devices, the pages are too big (256K). We only need 20k per config copy. Blowing 512k on config means we don't have enough space for the program. Switching to dual bank mode splits pages in to 128k each, so we only use 256k on config total instead.
Post Reply