CAN BUS Gauges

Hardware inside and outside of the ECU
Post Reply
Javidrifter
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 2:35 am

CAN BUS Gauges

Post by Javidrifter »

Has anyone tried using Freedom CAN BUS gauges with Frankenso? If so, issues? Results? :?:

mck1117
running engine in first post
running engine in first post
Posts: 735
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 2:05 am
Location: Seattle-ish

Re: CAN BUS Gauges

Post by mck1117 »

I don't think anybody has tried, but if they specify what CAN messages are required, we can easily add a preset for it.

mck1117
running engine in first post
running engine in first post
Posts: 735
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 2:05 am
Location: Seattle-ish

Re: CAN BUS Gauges

Post by mck1117 »

Oh, it looks like they use standard J1979 (OBD2) messages, which we already support. There's a good chance they'll work out of the box without any firmware changes.

Javidrifter
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 2:35 am

Re: CAN BUS Gauges

Post by Javidrifter »

mck1117 wrote:
Mon Jul 06, 2020 8:36 pm
Oh, it looks like they use standard J1979 (OBD2) messages, which we already support. There's a good chance they'll work out of the box without any firmware changes.
Excellent! :!: I will test them when I get my board assembled. Can I run my frankenso on the Bench to try them ?

mck1117
running engine in first post
running engine in first post
Posts: 735
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 2:05 am
Location: Seattle-ish

Re: CAN BUS Gauges

Post by mck1117 »

Yep, CAN should work fine on the bench.

Javidrifter
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 2:35 am

Re: CAN BUS Gauges

Post by Javidrifter »

mck1117 wrote:
Mon Jul 06, 2020 9:57 pm
Yep, CAN should work fine on the bench.

Thanks for the feed back.
:D

Post Reply