Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Hardware inside and outside of the ECU
Lambo97
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2020 9:51 pm

Re: Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Post by Lambo97 »

That's good news, I purchased the 17323 would be nice to hear about that sensor.
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 11403
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Post by AndreyB »

LQFP-32 seems to be pretty unavailable these days while there might be some hope with LQFP-48?

Would STM32F103C8T6 or STM32F030C8T6 or else in 48 pad package be an option to have WBO fabricateble again?
https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239
puff
contributor
contributor
Posts: 2861
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 11:28 am
Location: Moskau

Re: Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Post by puff »

considering this ongoing crisis, why not GD32?
GD32F190 is a 5-V series.
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 11403
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Post by AndreyB »

puff wrote:
Thu Apr 01, 2021 6:13 pm
considering this ongoing crisis, why not GD32?
GD32F190 is a 5-V series.
This question was raised at https://github.com/mck1117/proteus/issues/94 and I agree that cost/benefit is just not there. It's not like GD32 is more available, overall it's even LESS available.
https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239
mck1117
running engine in first post
running engine in first post
Posts: 875
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 2:05 am
Location: Seattle-ish

Re: Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Post by mck1117 »

puff wrote:
Thu Apr 01, 2021 6:13 pm
considering this ongoing crisis, why not GD32?
GD32F190 is a 5-V series.
I don't think GD32 will necessarily have any better availability than ST. They're fabricated using essentially the same wafers. There is not really much point in trying to redesign during a shortage like this, since by the time you've done your big engineering work to redesign, the chips are back in stock.
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 11403
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Post by AndreyB »

mck1117 wrote:
Thu Apr 01, 2021 6:20 pm
There is not really much point in trying to redesign during a shortage like this, since by the time you've done your big engineering work to redesign, the chips are back in stock.
Does this apply to GD or does this apply to original 48 pad package ask?
https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239
mck1117
running engine in first post
running engine in first post
Posts: 875
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 2:05 am
Location: Seattle-ish

Re: Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Post by mck1117 »

AndreyB wrote:
Thu Apr 01, 2021 5:07 pm
LQFP-32 seems to be pretty unavailable these days while there might be some hope with LQFP-48?

Would STM32F103C8T6 or STM32F030C8T6 or else in 48 pad package be an option to have WBO fabricateble again?
the availability problem is with the f042 die, not just with the lqfp32. The F030 doesn't have CAN iirc, so that's a non-starter. Dave's variant of the board uses an F103, so that's a viable option.
mck1117
running engine in first post
running engine in first post
Posts: 875
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 2:05 am
Location: Seattle-ish

Re: Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Post by mck1117 »

AndreyB wrote:
Thu Apr 01, 2021 6:30 pm
Does this apply to GD or does this apply to original 48 pad package ask?
probably both, but especially GD since the firmware is less compatible than a different F0
puff
contributor
contributor
Posts: 2861
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 11:28 am
Location: Moskau

Re: Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Post by puff »

I thought that GD was a full-cycle manufacturer. Do they source wafers from some other companies?
People say, this crisis will last for at least a year.
Changing a package in the PCB probably takes a few hours. If you are switching to a different package within the same MCU, probably there won't be too much trouble to update the code. But anyway there are no guarrantees that by the time you send your board to fabrication, these parts are still in stock.
SHOf429
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 11:37 pm

Re: Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Post by SHOf429 »

US $13.85 9%OFF | 10pcs/lot STM32F031 STM32F031K6T6 LQFP32
https://a.aliexpress.com/_mMRiurp

Could this be a substitute? Decent availability, at least for the moment. Cheap enough, too.
Josh
94 Ford Taurus SHO
Frankenso in progress
mck1117
running engine in first post
running engine in first post
Posts: 875
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 2:05 am
Location: Seattle-ish

Re: Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Post by mck1117 »

SHOf429 wrote:
Mon Apr 05, 2021 3:50 am
US $13.85 9%OFF | 10pcs/lot STM32F031 STM32F031K6T6 LQFP32
https://a.aliexpress.com/_mMRiurp

Could this be a substitute? Decent availability, at least for the moment. Cheap enough, too.
IIRC the F031 doesn't have CAN.
OrchardPerformance
contributor
contributor
Posts: 286
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2018 8:55 pm

Re: Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Post by OrchardPerformance »

puff wrote:
Thu Apr 01, 2021 6:58 pm
But anyway there are no guarrantees that by the time you send your board to fabrication, these parts are still in stock.
Totally this, things seem to be in and out of stock on a daily basis. Predicting what is going to be available is becoming a gamble.
Now keeping MRE and Proteus in stock in the UK, PM or slack for details.
hugovw1976
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2020 3:10 pm
Github Username: hugovw1976

Re: Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Post by hugovw1976 »

mck1117 wrote:
Wed Dec 16, 2020 1:48 am
Ok, time for updates! After some basic testing (idling in the driveway) of the first revision of the board, I ordered a batch of a second revision with some modifications to make it a small module instead of a development board:

image.png

left: USB programming adapter center: wideband controller module right: module installed on its carrier board

The carrier board has a 12-pin sealed connector, protected 5v regulator, and CAN interface chip.

Here's a snip of a log from the very first drive:

image.png

Channel "Lambda" (red) is an AEM X-Series inline controller, sniffing the right hand bank of the engine (even number cylinders).
Channel "Lambda 2" (green) is the new custom controller, sniffing the left hand bank of the engine (odd number cylinders).

The engine itself is a GM LS 5.3 liter V8. The Bosch sensors themselves are identical - but I don't expect the two banks of the engine to be perfectly identical. But they are always within a few percent, which is reflected by the log.

It certainly works! The PID loops for the pump control and heater both need some tuning (less bandwidth, mostly), and the output needs some better filtering. but it's a very promising start.

Tune and log are uploaded here and here.
How you set Tuner studio for dual wideband sensors, how you set wideband controller ID for dual sensors? Do you change ID direct in firmware before upload to board?
mck1117
running engine in first post
running engine in first post
Posts: 875
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 2:05 am
Location: Seattle-ish

Re: Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Post by mck1117 »

I need to write that section for the wiki page at http://rusefi.com/s/wb

The short version is that there are "set ID 0" and "set ID 1" buttons in tunerstudio that will set the ID of all attached rusEFI wideband controllers. Plug in only the first controller, push the ID 0 button. Unplug that, plug in the second controller, push the ID 1 button.
hugovw1976
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2020 3:10 pm
Github Username: hugovw1976

Re: Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Post by hugovw1976 »

mck1117 wrote:
Thu May 06, 2021 6:52 pm
I need to write that section for the wiki page at http://rusefi.com/s/wb

The short version is that there are "set ID 0" and "set ID 1" buttons in tunerstudio that will set the ID of all attached rusEFI wideband controllers. Plug in only the first controller, push the ID 0 button. Unplug that, plug in the second controller, push the ID 1 button.
Thanks. One last question, wideband controllers connect to can1 or can2 on proteus.
mck1117
running engine in first post
running engine in first post
Posts: 875
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 2:05 am
Location: Seattle-ish

Re: Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Post by mck1117 »

right now can2 is not fully implemented, so everything goes through CAN1
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 11403
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Post by AndreyB »

I am using eBay v2 ST-Link device.

I am able to flash Hellen WBO module using stm32cube but not using ST-Link utility 4.5

I've tried playing with different connect modes in ST-Link utility but no luck. Is that any sort of 042 magic or else?
image.png
image.png (127.44 KiB) Viewed 80 times
https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239
mck1117
running engine in first post
running engine in first post
Posts: 875
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 2:05 am
Location: Seattle-ish

Re: Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Post by mck1117 »

Was the board powered via USB or no?
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 11403
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Post by AndreyB »

mck1117 wrote:
Wed May 12, 2021 4:38 am
Was the board powered via USB or no?
Tried both ways, without USB power stm32cube does not connect always, with USB power stm32cube seems to connect more often.

Still did not work with USB power via ST-Link utility.
https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239
vvk74
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2020 11:13 am

Re: Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Post by vvk74 »

Does the sensor matter for which fuel? i want to apply bosch 0 281 004 133 (lsu4.9) from a diesel mercedes
mck1117
running engine in first post
running engine in first post
Posts: 875
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 2:05 am
Location: Seattle-ish

Re: Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Post by mck1117 »

vvk74 wrote:
Fri May 14, 2021 3:09 am
Does the sensor matter for which fuel? i want to apply bosch 0 281 004 133 (lsu4.9) from a diesel mercedes
Shouldn't matter, no. AFAIK the diesel LSU4.9 has the same sensing element, but a different metal shroud to prevent soot buildup.
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 11403
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Post by AndreyB »

Poke poke hellen121vag is asking for 4.2 support :)
https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239
Post Reply