Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Hardware inside and outside of the ECU
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 12800
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Post by AndreyB »

I am soldering a pair of those on hellen121nissan

One flashed OK and blinks LED happily now, but the other one I have GND and VCC connected somehow. Image is with chip already removed and flux and stuff. I only have one board here so cannot confirm if untouched board is like that.

Does anyone see any questionable spots? I know those images are not great but that's the best I am able to manage :(
image.png
image.png (26.96 KiB) Viewed 6007 times
Attachments
_IMG_7305.JPG
_IMG_7305.JPG (1003.4 KiB) Viewed 6007 times
_IMG_7298.JPG
_IMG_7298.JPG (718.08 KiB) Viewed 6007 times
_IMG_7297.JPG
_IMG_7297.JPG (869.28 KiB) Viewed 6007 times
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
JRD McLAREN
contributor
contributor
Posts: 373
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 10:19 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Post by JRD McLAREN »

I'm found some STM32F072CBT6 MCUs in LQFP48 ..
Will it work ..??

has CAN
instruction set M0
Last edited by JRD McLAREN on Mon Nov 22, 2021 8:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
.. some Proteus and microRusEFI for sale in Europe ..
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 12800
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Post by AndreyB »

JRD McLAREN wrote:
Mon Nov 22, 2021 5:33 pm
LQFP48 ..
would be hard to solder it on the existing LQFP32 PCB
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
JRD McLAREN
contributor
contributor
Posts: 373
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 10:19 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Post by JRD McLAREN »

.. some Proteus and microRusEFI for sale in Europe ..
joaodh
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2021 7:25 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Post by joaodh »

Great project,
I'm trying to get the stm32f042k6, but seems to be out of stock into almost everywhere. It's expected to be compatible with another MCU?
ssmith
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2021 10:21 pm

Re: Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Post by ssmith »

I was looking through the code and schematics, and noticed that both Vm and LSU_Vm are routed to the MCU. At first I thought that was so the MCU could detect if LSU_Vm was being dragged down for some reason, but as far as I can tell the code only samples at Vm, not LSU_Vm. Is this just a left over connection from development?

If so you might want to remove it; leaving it in means the MCU is directly connected to an external pin. Not that the 10 ohm resistor for R9 is going to save the MCU from an external event, but still....
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 12800
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Post by AndreyB »

Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
ssmith
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2021 10:21 pm

Re: Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Post by ssmith »

Maybe this is more of a software question, but any plan to implement barometric compensation for lambda calculation?

Bosch has a nice chart that shows at 0.85bar ambient the 'lp' value is about 5% lower for the same lambda. That's like driving in Salt Lake City (well maybe more like 0.88bar).

Interestingly the chart goes up to 2+ bar, presumably to account for exhaust backpressure, maybe in case it's mounted pre-turbo? Though I don't think it can withstand pre-turbo temperatures. I assume post turbo in an adequate exhaust that pressure is close to ambient? I really don't want to have to install a post-turbo exhaust pressure sensors...
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 12800
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Post by AndreyB »

I'd say that should be a GH ticket not a forum post :)
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
mck1117
running engine in first post
running engine in first post
Posts: 1272
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 2:05 am
Location: Seattle-ish

Re: Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Post by mck1117 »

ssmith wrote:
Tue Dec 07, 2021 4:31 am
Maybe this is more of a software question, but any plan to implement barometric compensation for lambda calculation?

Bosch has a nice chart that shows at 0.85bar ambient the 'lp' value is about 5% lower for the same lambda. That's like driving in Salt Lake City (well maybe more like 0.88bar).

Interestingly the chart goes up to 2+ bar, presumably to account for exhaust backpressure, maybe in case it's mounted pre-turbo? Though I don't think it can withstand pre-turbo temperatures. I assume post turbo in an adequate exhaust that pressure is close to ambient? I really don't want to have to install a post-turbo exhaust pressure sensors...
I think that refers to *differential* pressure, right? Not absolute pressure?
ssmith
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2021 10:21 pm

Re: Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Post by ssmith »

mck1117 wrote:
Tue Dec 07, 2021 4:38 am
I think that refers to *differential* pressure, right? Not absolute pressure?
It says absolute pressure of the exhaust gas. Section 3.3 of https://www.ecotrons.com/files/Bosch_LSU49_Tech_Info.pdf
Is there better PDF?
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 12800
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Post by AndreyB »

ssmith wrote:
Tue Dec 07, 2021 5:57 am
Is there better PDF?
our collection at https://github.com/rusefi/rusefi_documentation/tree/master/OEM-Docs/Bosch
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
joaodh
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2021 7:25 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Post by joaodh »

Today I received 5 boards, need to get the components to insert.
I'm expecting use the module as standalone without CAN, I will add a display to show the current values.
It's ok if I use the STM32F031K6T6?
I know that I will need to adapt some code, but I already have to do it to add the display.

Thanks for this great project 😀
Attachments
IMG_2021-12-17-15-04-15-401_copy_768x1024.jpg
IMG_2021-12-17-15-04-15-401_copy_768x1024.jpg (311.73 KiB) Viewed 5246 times
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 12800
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Post by AndreyB »

joaodh wrote:
Thu Nov 25, 2021 7:46 pm
I'm trying to get the stm32f042k6
Please fill in "location" on your profile. Please post a "hello world" topic maybe?

I have some stm32f042k6 chips
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
JRD McLAREN
contributor
contributor
Posts: 373
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 10:19 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Post by JRD McLAREN »

joaodh wrote:
Fri Dec 17, 2021 3:09 pm
......., I will add a display to show the current values. ....
This is good Idea for the future ...
"Standard" 0-5V output will be welcome ... in my case ...
(and "1V" output also ... LAMBDA 1 = 1Volt)
(to use "standard Voltmeter" for lambda readings)
.. some Proteus and microRusEFI for sale in Europe ..
joaodh
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2021 7:25 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Post by joaodh »

AndreyB wrote:
Fri Dec 17, 2021 3:32 pm

Please fill in "location" on your profile. Please post a "hello world" topic maybe?

I have some stm32f042k6 chips
Sorry for that, I have updated some info about me on my profile. I don't see where should I make the hello world post.

I'm asking for the STM32F031K6T6 because I can get some of these one from AliExpress, without pay a lot for the shipping.
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 12800
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Post by AndreyB »

joaodh wrote:
Sun Dec 19, 2021 4:30 pm
I don't see where should I make the hello world post.
https://rusefi.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=2
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
stefanst
contributor
contributor
Posts: 696
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2016 12:24 am
Location: USA 08530

Re: Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Post by stefanst »

I am currently bench testing a Proteus Honda K-125 board. This board has a built-in WBO controller. I built an adapter harness for the O2 sensor from the JST connector to an LSU 4.9.
The board is fully connected to a Proteus via pigtails. The Proteus is powered via USB. I'm feeding 12V from a lab power supply to the WB sensor and also into the proto area on the Honda board. Without the WB sensor we're sucking approx. 85mA, with the WB it's 120mA. The red LED on the WBO controller is dim. RPM self-stim is enabled at 1200rpm. I expected to see the WB sensor heating up with the rpm signal, but it seems to be in standby.
The canReadCounter is happily counting up. canWriteOk is also counting up.

This is the tune in question: https://rusefi.com/online/view.php?msq=787
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 12800
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Post by AndreyB »

stefanst wrote:
Thu Dec 23, 2021 1:45 am
The Proteus is powered via USB.
I believe it cares about proteus voltage as received via CAN. Let's give Proteus +12 volts as well?
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
stefanst
contributor
contributor
Posts: 696
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2016 12:24 am
Location: USA 08530

Re: Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Post by stefanst »

I am here to report success. Turns out there were some conditions that needed to be met for the WBO module to even kick on the heater:

Under "Controller" -> "Can Bus Communication" -> "Enable rusEFI Can Broadcast" = "true" must be set
Under "Sensors" -> "EGO Sensor" -> "Enable Can Wideband" = "true" must be set

There was also an opinion voiced that the board needs to see voltage on the "vBatt ADC Input" pin. This is as yet unconfirmed.
de1phi
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri May 07, 2021 12:48 pm

Re: Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Post by de1phi »

can you share information on how to connect this module to the Frankenso board?
mck1117
running engine in first post
running engine in first post
Posts: 1272
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 2:05 am
Location: Seattle-ish

Re: Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Post by mck1117 »

de1phi wrote:
Mon Jan 17, 2022 7:13 am
can you share information on how to connect this module to the Frankenso board?
Connect CANH, connect CANL, make sure there's a terminating resistor at both ends of the bus, and that's it!
opelpanfan
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2021 1:38 pm
Github Username: opelpanfan
Slack: U01R7FT55M2

Re: Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Post by opelpanfan »

Does anyone have STM32F042K6T in stock? Need 10 units in UK :)
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 12800
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Post by AndreyB »

opelpanfan wrote:
Tue Feb 22, 2022 5:00 pm
Does anyone have STM32F042K6T in stock? Need 10 units in UK :)
https://www.shop.rusefi.com/shop/p/stm32f042k6t-lot-of-5
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
Hmelik
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2022 5:07 pm

Re: Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Post by Hmelik »

JRD McLAREN wrote:
Fri Dec 17, 2021 4:00 pm
joaodh wrote:
Fri Dec 17, 2021 3:09 pm
......., I will add a display to show the current values. ....
This is good Idea for the future ...
"Standard" 0-5V output will be welcome ... in my case ...
(and "1V" output also ... LAMBDA 1 = 1Volt)
(to use "standard Voltmeter" for lambda readings)
I also need this ))
Attachments
IMG_20220328_124740.jpg
IMG_20220328_124740.jpg (628.14 KiB) Viewed 1562 times
Hmelik
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2022 5:07 pm

Re: Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Post by Hmelik »

Hello!
I try connect to controller, after pressit set index 0.
Wats wrong I do?
Attachments
Untitled.png
Untitled.png (401.29 KiB) Viewed 1204 times
Last edited by Hmelik on Sat Apr 09, 2022 2:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 12800
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Post by AndreyB »

Hmelik wrote:
Sat Apr 09, 2022 2:32 pm
Wats wrong I do?
You do not post picture of your controller, you do not tell state of LEDs, you did not clarify if you have flashed your controller somehow. We have to assume the worst because humans are sometimes strange.
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
Hmelik
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2022 5:07 pm

Re: Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Post by Hmelik »

AndreyB wrote:
Sat Apr 09, 2022 2:40 pm
You do not post picture of your controller, you do not tell state of LEDs, you did not clarify if you have flashed your controller somehow. We have to assume the worst because humans are sometimes strange.
OK My mistake
Attachments
IMG_20220328_124740.png
IMG_20220328_124740.png (2.4 MiB) Viewed 1199 times
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 12800
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Post by AndreyB »

Who would be the first one to try using FCM32F042? Maybe at least glance over Chinses datasheet?

But that's LQFP-48 not LQFP-32 like the official board.

https://lcsc.com/product-detail/Microcontroller-Units-MCUs-MPUs-SOCs_Flashchip-Microelectronics-FCM32F042C6T6_C2972836.html
image.png
image.png (29.31 KiB) Viewed 889 times
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
JRD McLAREN
contributor
contributor
Posts: 373
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 10:19 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: Wideband Controller: Fully Custom, no ASIC!

Post by JRD McLAREN »

I have some PCBs for LQFP48 ...

EDITED:
10 pieces ordered ...
.. some Proteus and microRusEFI for sale in Europe ..
Post Reply