MRE Wireless communication - BT or WiFi

Hardware inside and outside of the ECU
Post Reply
JRD McLAREN
contributor
contributor
Posts: 374
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 10:19 pm
Location: Slovakia

MRE Wireless communication - BT or WiFi

Post by JRD McLAREN »

Now I have successfully tested communication for MRE via Bluetooh and WiFi module.

I'm use HC-05 for BT communication and ESP8285MOD for WiFi communication
(you can use any compatible modules)

Requirements:
HW side: any kind of serial communication module capable for TTL level signal (3.3Volts)
+ some wires
SW side: set "serial port" baudrate to 38400 8N1
+ all other required settings in TS

Wiring:
Connect "power pins" to power - GND, 5V or 3.3V to "any power source" - J8 header (or anything else)
Connect "signal pins" to RX and TX - on my mre 0.5.3 are J12 J13 headers - J12 is PB11 RX and J13 is PB10 TX

(it looks so easy ... at this moment :mrgreen: )
Attachments
rusefi_TS_RFCOMM_Settings.png
rusefi_TS_RFCOMM_Settings.png (935.29 KiB) Viewed 4366 times
rusefi_TS_RFCOMM.png
rusefi_TS_RFCOMM.png (714.99 KiB) Viewed 4366 times
DSCN5330.JPG
DSCN5330.JPG (106.45 KiB) Viewed 4366 times
.. some Proteus and microRusEFI for sale in Europe ..
JRD McLAREN
contributor
contributor
Posts: 374
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 10:19 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: MRE Wireless communication - BT or WiFi

Post by JRD McLAREN »

I have one question:

Can I increase serial port speed (in rusefi console or TS) .. ??
.. some Proteus and microRusEFI for sale in Europe ..
mck1117
running engine in first post
running engine in first post
Posts: 1275
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 2:05 am
Location: Seattle-ish

Re: MRE Wireless communication - BT or WiFi

Post by mck1117 »

you might have to configure the BT module for it, but you can pick a new serial speed in the "connection" menu
image.png
image.png (20.05 KiB) Viewed 4360 times
JRD McLAREN
contributor
contributor
Posts: 374
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 10:19 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: MRE Wireless communication - BT or WiFi

Post by JRD McLAREN »

.on mre ... ??
Attachments
Screenshot_20210212_231619.png
Screenshot_20210212_231619.png (97.25 KiB) Viewed 4360 times
.. some Proteus and microRusEFI for sale in Europe ..
mck1117
running engine in first post
running engine in first post
Posts: 1275
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 2:05 am
Location: Seattle-ish

Re: MRE Wireless communication - BT or WiFi

Post by mck1117 »

Oops I guess that menu is hidden on MRE.
mck1117
running engine in first post
running engine in first post
Posts: 1275
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 2:05 am
Location: Seattle-ish

Re: MRE Wireless communication - BT or WiFi

Post by mck1117 »

User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 12803
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: MRE Wireless communication - BT or WiFi

Post by AndreyB »

Maybe the other speed is the one relevant here? I've changed something not 100% sure if it's right
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
JRD McLAREN
contributor
contributor
Posts: 374
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 10:19 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: MRE Wireless communication - BT or WiFi

Post by JRD McLAREN »

...115200 or 57600bps are most common speeds ... . ...

I have no problem with 38400, but it is little bit slow ...

(Have some external GPS modules woks on 10 or 20Hz, and they have no problem with 115200bps)
.. some Proteus and microRusEFI for sale in Europe ..
JRD McLAREN
contributor
contributor
Posts: 374
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 10:19 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: MRE Wireless communication - BT or WiFi

Post by JRD McLAREN »

Mounted BT-TTL device ..
DSCN5337.JPG
DSCN5337.JPG (132.33 KiB) Viewed 4279 times
and tested on some APPS ...
Shadow Dash MS seems to be work ... connected doing something
MD Droid connected, but not work ...
DSCN5336.JPG
DSCN5336.JPG (115.46 KiB) Viewed 4279 times
.. some Proteus and microRusEFI for sale in Europe ..
Abricos
contributor
contributor
Posts: 843
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2014 12:32 am
Location: Carteret, NJ 07008

Re: MRE Wireless communication - BT or WiFi

Post by Abricos »

JRD McLAREN
contributor
contributor
Posts: 374
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 10:19 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: MRE Wireless communication - BT or WiFi

Post by JRD McLAREN »

..it is in ini file .. by default ... since XYZ .
[SettingGroups]
; the referenceName will over-ride previous, so if you are creating a
; settingGroup with a reference name of lambdaSensor, it will replace the
; setting group defined in the settingGroups.xml of the TunerStudio config
; folder. If is is an undefined referenceName, it will be added.
; keyword = referenceName, DisplayName

[MegaTune]
; https://rusefi.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=36201#p36201
signature = "rusEFI 2021.01.06.mre_f4.4213847723"

[TunerStudio]
queryCommand = "S"
versionInfo = "V" ; firmwave version for title bar.
signature = "rusEFI 2021.01.06.mre_f4.4213847723" ; signature is expected to be 7 or more characters.
.. some Proteus and microRusEFI for sale in Europe ..
Lambo97
Posts: 145
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2020 9:51 pm

Re: MRE Wireless communication - BT or WiFi

Post by Lambo97 »

I'm adding this to both my .4 and .6 Proteus. Was wondering if the HC-08 Slave module is fine to use? OR do you need both HC-05 Master / Slave module only for this to work?
JRD McLAREN
contributor
contributor
Posts: 374
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 10:19 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: MRE Wireless communication - BT or WiFi

Post by JRD McLAREN »

HC-08 is BLE 4.0 module ...

you need HC-05 or HC-06 Bluetooth SPP (Serial Port Protocol)
.. some Proteus and microRusEFI for sale in Europe ..
Lambo97
Posts: 145
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2020 9:51 pm

Re: MRE Wireless communication - BT or WiFi

Post by Lambo97 »

The module description is: SH-HC-08 Bluetooth 4.0 BLE Slave Module to UART Transceiver for Arduino Compatible with iOS

I've already connected using USB to Serial cable, set Bluetooth Name, PIN and 153600 Baud for serial communication. I can talk to it using AT commands so I'm guessing it's compatible? The only thing I'm worried about is it's slave only, not sure if that matters.

Also what is the agreed apon wireless management software for our boards? Shadow Dash or MD Droid? Does Tuner studio not have an Android app?

Thanks for the help.
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 12803
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: MRE Wireless communication - BT or WiFi

Post by AndreyB »

Grrrrr. https://www.tunerstudio.com/ mentions Shadow Dash MS as authored by tuner studio authors.

Grrrrr. AT commands do not mean anything. BLE Bluethoot Low Energy does not have https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Bluetooth_profiles#Serial_Port_Profile_(SPP) AT commands do not mean anything.
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
Lambo97
Posts: 145
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2020 9:51 pm

Re: MRE Wireless communication - BT or WiFi

Post by Lambo97 »

OK I have the HC-05 and USB adaptor. I was able to terminal into the HC-08 no issue but the HC-05 is not responding. I'm in AT mode slow blink 2 seconds. Do you need a voltage divider "resistors" to get the V down to 3.3 to be able to communicate with HC-05? My terminal connects but AT comes back with nothing.
JRD McLAREN
contributor
contributor
Posts: 374
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 10:19 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: MRE Wireless communication - BT or WiFi

Post by JRD McLAREN »

no pullup needed ...

try different speed ... no flow control .. uppercase chars ...
https://components101.com/sites/default/files/component_datasheet/HC-05%20Datasheet.pdf
.. some Proteus and microRusEFI for sale in Europe ..
Lambo97
Posts: 145
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2020 9:51 pm

Re: MRE Wireless communication - BT or WiFi

Post by Lambo97 »

What Terminal are you using. I've tried Putty no go, every setting just sits there. Just a note that I can connect to the Bluetooth no issue, with pass 1234. Just would like to increase speed and set name. I was using "Mybotic Serial Connector" terminal to successfully connect to HC-08 but not working on 05.
JRD McLAREN
contributor
contributor
Posts: 374
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 10:19 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: MRE Wireless communication - BT or WiFi

Post by JRD McLAREN »

I have linux ... picocom minicom or CuteCom ...

try to connect RX TX GND, run terminal ... and then connect VCC ...
you should see "+READY" message .. or "+OK"
.. some Proteus and microRusEFI for sale in Europe ..
Lambo97
Posts: 145
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2020 9:51 pm

Re: MRE Wireless communication - BT or WiFi

Post by Lambo97 »

I have to hold down the AT button while I boot the device to get into AT mode correct? 2 second slow red blink.
JRD McLAREN
contributor
contributor
Posts: 374
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 10:19 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: MRE Wireless communication - BT or WiFi

Post by JRD McLAREN »

I'm not sure ... maybe NOT ..
I don't have any "free" HC05 at this moment ..
.. some Proteus and microRusEFI for sale in Europe ..
Post Reply