R42 Board, for V8 engines.

Hardware inside and outside of the ECU
Post Reply
hugovw1976
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2020 3:10 pm
Github Username: hugovw1976

R42 Board, for V8 engines.

Post by hugovw1976 »

Hi, I want to run my engine (Audi V8 ABZ) on rusEFI but I have a problem, microrusefi don't support sequential v8, and proteus it's too much for my engine (my engine has no VVT, my engine has no ETB). So Y decide to make my own board.
It's based on proteus (I don't want to mess with software, so it's pin compatible with proteus) just with less inputs/outputs.
  • 12x 4A low-side drivers
  • 2x High Current low-side drivers
  • 8x 5v ignition or general purpose outputs (or 4 igniters/ 4general purpose otputs)
  • One H-bridge for electronic throttle
  • 8x Analog voltage inputs
  • 4x Analog temperature (5v pullup) inputs
  • 2x VR crank/cam/vehicle speed inputs
  • 6x hall cam/crank or digital input (2 reserved for cam/crank you can't use VR and hall pins at same time )
Some hardware change compared with proteus:
  • No high side outputs
  • Low side drivers VNS3N04 instead of VNLD5160 (just because I have a bunch of this)
  • One VNLD5090 for High Current Low Side driver
  • Add bluetooth pad
  • Selector switchs for select if Crank/Cam go to hall or VR (I don't have enough pins for both)
  • Votage trackers TLS115 changed for one TLE 4251
I want to know if you see any problem on my board before I seend to production, I apreciate your support.

https://github.com/hugovw1976/rusEFI_R42_ECU
Attachments
R42_ECU2.png
R42_ECU2.png (361 KiB) Viewed 1152 times
-7249991271863115366.jpg
-7249991271863115366.jpg (43.17 KiB) Viewed 1331 times
Last edited by hugovw1976 on Tue Feb 23, 2021 1:22 am, edited 6 times in total.
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 11403
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: "Proteus Little"

Post by AndreyB »

Open question what's the best way to use or not use "Proteus" term here.

Please spell out connector part number if you know it. Please point at the exact KiCad footprint files I would copy-paste into https://github.com/rusefi/kicad-libraries if you do not mind

Please spell out case part number or description or else.

Please consider adding https://github.com/rusefi/rusefi and https://github.com/mck1117/proteus links into https://github.com/hugovw1976/rusEFI-Proteus-Little/blob/main/README.md

Do not see BOM and placement files in https://github.com/hugovw1976/rusEFI-Proteus-Little/tree/main/Export/v1.0 if you plan JLC?

I see SMD capacitors so this was inspired by Proteus 0.4 not Proteus 0.5? Proteus 0.5 has on-board baro sensor and through-hole caps.
https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239
puff
contributor
contributor
Posts: 2861
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 11:28 am
Location: Moskau

Re: "Proteus Little"

Post by puff »

Nice!
Couple of dozen components are on the other side of the board - probably need to be soldered manually, but that's okay.
If there are some extra pins abailable in the connector - I would add an onboard pull-up to 12V resistor for the vehicle speed sensor + corresponding pins.
What's the purpose of that jack connector?
What is the estimated cost for such a board?
hugovw1976
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2020 3:10 pm
Github Username: hugovw1976

Re: "Proteus Little"

Post by hugovw1976 »

AndreyB wrote:
Sat Feb 20, 2021 3:16 am
Open question what's the best way to use or not use "Proteus" term here.

Please spell out connector part number if you know it. Please point at the exact KiCad footprint files I would copy-paste into https://github.com/rusefi/kicad-libraries if you do not mind

Please spell out case part number or description or else.

Please consider adding https://github.com/rusefi/rusefi and https://github.com/mck1117/proteus links into https://github.com/hugovw1976/rusEFI-Proteus-Little/blob/main/README.md

Do not see BOM and placement files in https://github.com/hugovw1976/rusEFI-Proteus-Little/tree/main/Export/v1.0 if you plan JLC?

I see SMD capacitors so this was inspired by Proteus 0.4 not Proteus 0.5? Proteus 0.5 has on-board baro sensor and through-hole caps.
Changes made to readme file (connector, case, add links to rusefi and proteus project).
Non standar footprints are in kicad-libraries-master folder
BOM and placement files updated on monday (I left memory with files at work)
Baro sensor is already in board, I update capacitor footprint.
puff
contributor
contributor
Posts: 2861
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 11:28 am
Location: Moskau

Re: "Proteus Little"

Post by puff »

what are the benefits of onboard MAP sensor?
the enclosure is made of aluminium - will it work with bluetooth?
hugovw1976
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2020 3:10 pm
Github Username: hugovw1976

Re: "Proteus Little"

Post by hugovw1976 »

puff wrote:
Sat Feb 20, 2021 12:12 pm
Nice!
Couple of dozen components are on the other side of the board - probably need to be soldered manually, but that's okay.
If there are some extra pins abailable in the connector - I would add an onboard pull-up to 12V resistor for the vehicle speed sensor + corresponding pins.
What's the purpose of that jack connector?
What is the estimated cost for such a board?
No pins available.
3.5mm jack is for knock sensor monitor
Cost not yet fine calculating but have a estimate of $400-$450 for complete set (with case, connectors) for 5pcs
hugovw1976
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2020 3:10 pm
Github Username: hugovw1976

Re: "Proteus Little"

Post by hugovw1976 »

puff wrote:
Sat Feb 20, 2021 2:29 pm
what are the benefits of onboard MAP sensor?
the enclosure is made of aluminium - will it work with bluetooth?
On board baro is for altitude correction
Bluetooth need to be modified for external antenna or maybe trim case and replace part with 3d printed plastic part (still to be determined)
Gepro
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2020 2:15 pm
Location: France

Re: "Proteus Little"

Post by Gepro »

Nice ! I like new boards :D
But, don't you prefer a more personal name ? It is confusing.

And I don't understand the analog input, if you send 5V to the analog input from mcu, it's gonna burn ! 330ohms and 10K behind MCP6004 looks wrong to me. But I am maybe wrong too :P

Same problem with 12V_DIVIDED, on the proteus it is behind a 3.3v SRV05. Just for safety.
hugovw1976
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2020 3:10 pm
Github Username: hugovw1976

Re: "Proteus Little"

Post by hugovw1976 »

Gepro wrote:
Sat Feb 20, 2021 4:33 pm
Nice ! I like new boards :D
But, don't you prefer a more personal name ? It is confusing.

And I don't understand the analog input, if you send 5V to the analog input from mcu, it's gonna burn ! 330ohms and 10K behind MCP6004 looks wrong to me. But I am maybe wrong too :P

Same problem with 12V_DIVIDED, on the proteus it is behind a 3.3v SRV05. Just for safety.
I plan to change the name just don't have any on mind yet.
I original designed board in Eagle 9.6.2 and inported to Kicad and now I notice that some values are changed (no idea wy) in kicad must have to check all values to know if they are correct.
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 11403
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: "Proteus Little"

Post by AndreyB »

hugovw1976 wrote:
Sat Feb 20, 2021 6:40 pm
I original designed board in Eagle 9.6.2 and inported to Kicad and now I notice that some values are changed
Is this board still 100% pin compatible with Proteus in terms of firmware? What is your firmware plan for this board?
https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239
puff
contributor
contributor
Posts: 2861
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 11:28 am
Location: Moskau

Re: "Proteus Little"

Post by puff »

funny thing: I was about to place an order for a breakout board for an automotive ECU connector to be wired to my old frankenstein (finally realized that those small round-shape connectors I had first chosen were just pain in the ass), and the very same day there was a post by andreika with his modular design "Hellen81", and now, few day later, you somewhat announed your 'Little" Proteus. So you are about to make a batch of five? Will you be selling the surplus?

Speaking of names - there are so manny other gods and creatures in ancient greece :D Ποσειδῶν, Πάν, Βοῤῥᾶς, Δεῖμος - to name a few)
hugovw1976
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2020 3:10 pm
Github Username: hugovw1976

Re: "Proteus Little"

Post by hugovw1976 »

AndreyB wrote:
Sat Feb 20, 2021 7:32 pm
hugovw1976 wrote:
Sat Feb 20, 2021 6:40 pm
I original designed board in Eagle 9.6.2 and inported to Kicad and now I notice that some values are changed
Is this board still 100% pin compatible with Proteus in terms of firmware? What is your firmware plan for this board?
Yes all pins on STM32F429ZGT6 match proteus board, I dont have experience programming this, my plan it's to run proteus firmware just with knowlage of limited input/outputs, LS1 to LS14, AV1 to AV8, AT1 to AT4, etc. are maped to the same pin.

By the way it's the firs time I work with Kicad (5.1.9), I follow onstrucction for generate gerbers for JLCPCB but the previsualitation don't work, the same board in Eagle work just fine. Do you know why?
Last edited by hugovw1976 on Sat Feb 20, 2021 7:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
hugovw1976
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2020 3:10 pm
Github Username: hugovw1976

Re: "Proteus Little"

Post by hugovw1976 »

puff wrote:
Sat Feb 20, 2021 7:35 pm
funny thing: I was about to place an order for a breakout board for an automotive ECU connector to be wired to my old frankenstein (finally realized that those small round-shape connectors I had first chosen were just pain in the ass), and the very same day there was a post by andreika with his modular design "Hellen81", and now, few day later, you somewhat announed your 'Little" Proteus. So you are about to make a batch of five? Will you be selling the surplus?

Speaking of names - there are so manny other gods and creatures in ancient greece :D Ποσειδῶν, Πάν, Βοῤῥᾶς, Δεῖμος - to name a few)
Yes, I plan a batch of five (it's the minimal qty from JLCPCB), at some point after some test I sell the boards I don't use. (not for commercial purpose, just to recover the money invested)
blundar
contributor
contributor
Posts: 93
Joined: Tue Jan 07, 2014 4:38 am
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Github Username: blundar
Slack: Dave B.
Contact:

Re: "Proteus Little"

Post by blundar »

Small suggestion: Use a ESP32 module instead of the one you have chosen. (it looks like HC06 maybe?) The ESP32 can do Bluetooth AND Wifi and is generally much more flexible. And they're very inexpensive (~$4 single here in US, < $2 in the quantity I buy them for another product, <$1 for the SoC only if you want to do the RF and supporting chips yourself)

I also agree that choosing your own name different from "Little P" would be great. Nice work! I'm planning on doing something similar (ish) eventually after we get the wideband stuff stabilized and proofed fully for 6 cylinder stuff as I have a I6, which is too big to comfortably use MRE and too small to take advantage of all OG P offers.
hugovw1976
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2020 3:10 pm
Github Username: hugovw1976

Re: "Proteus Little"

Post by hugovw1976 »

blundar wrote:
Mon Feb 22, 2021 4:20 pm
Small suggestion: Use a ESP32 module instead of the one you have chosen. (it looks like HC06 maybe?) The ESP32 can do Bluetooth AND Wifi and is generally much more flexible. And they're very inexpensive (~$4 single here in US, < $2 in the quantity I buy them for another product, <$1 for the SoC only if you want to do the RF and supporting chips yourself)

I also agree that choosing your own name different from "Little P" would be great. Nice work! I'm planning on doing something similar (ish) eventually after we get the wideband stuff stabilized and proofed fully for 6 cylinder stuff as I have a I6, which is too big to comfortably use MRE and too small to take advantage of all OG P offers.
HC-05/HC-06 are almost plug and play for serial bridge, why to replace with esp32, this must be programed to act as serial bridge any advantage?
puff
contributor
contributor
Posts: 2861
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 11:28 am
Location: Moskau

Re: R42 Board, for V8 engines.

Post by puff »

Let me know when (if) you start selling it - I would be happy to by one of these. :D

The advantage of esp32 is that it can be used not only via bluetooth, but also as a wifi (dunno, either a client, or an access point)
The drawbacks are: these boards are probably trickier to set up, plus BT is BLE-mode only, which makes it more difficult to implement for the client side. E.g. many of modern android car audios don't support ble, but might still be working with BT2.0 (not sure though), plus you would need software that supports BLE.
hugovw1976
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2020 3:10 pm
Github Username: hugovw1976

Re: R42 Board, for V8 engines.

Post by hugovw1976 »

Hi, someone can confirm if the proteus firmware use the two canbus channels. Or just can1.
I don't have free pins on connector and if can2 is not implemented in actual firmware I can use those pins for the second electronic throttle body.
I ask this because I check tuner studio and can't find any reference to can2.
Thanks.
puff
contributor
contributor
Posts: 2861
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 11:28 am
Location: Moskau

Re: R42 Board, for V8 engines.

Post by puff »

I believe, it's the matter of your preferences. If you need a second ETB, and the firmware supports it, go this way. If you need extra can-bus port (for can-based o2 sensors?) - sacrifice your second ETB (or, better, leave it as an onboard pins/connector). Even if it is not implemented in actual firmware, this doesn't necessarily mean it won't be implemented in future.

How is it going in general? Your github hasn't been updated since february... ;-(
hugovw1976
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2020 3:10 pm
Github Username: hugovw1976

Re: R42 Board, for V8 engines.

Post by hugovw1976 »

puff wrote:
Tue Apr 27, 2021 9:25 am
I believe, it's the matter of your preferences. If you need a second ETB, and the firmware supports it, go this way. If you need extra can-bus port (for can-based o2 sensors?) - sacrifice your second ETB (or, better, leave it as an onboard pins/connector). Even if it is not implemented in actual firmware, this doesn't necessarily mean it won't be implemented in future.

How is it going in general? Your github hasn't been updated since february... ;-(
Still working on check PCB and minor chenge to hardware.
motorhead1991
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2021 9:03 am
Location: Idaho 83605
Github Username: Motorhead

Re: R42 Board, for V8 engines.

Post by motorhead1991 »

Well, the nice thing about using the Proteus is that the ECU supports electronic wastegate control, so if you wanted to get fancy down the road you could

Or swap on a DBW intake which likely flows better.
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 11403
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: R42 Board, for V8 engines.

Post by AndreyB »

hugovw1976 wrote:
Sat Feb 20, 2021 3:00 am
Hi, I want to run my engine (Audi V8 ABZ)
Does this vehicle use 121 pin or else originally? The dream is to have https://github.com/rusefi/rusefi/wiki/Hellen121VAG support up to v8.
https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239
hugovw1976
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2020 3:10 pm
Github Username: hugovw1976

Re: R42 Board, for V8 engines.

Post by hugovw1976 »

AndreyB wrote:
Thu May 13, 2021 6:10 pm
hugovw1976 wrote:
Sat Feb 20, 2021 3:00 am
Hi, I want to run my engine (Audi V8 ABZ)
Does this vehicle use 121 pin or else originally? The dream is to have https://github.com/rusefi/rusefi/wiki/Hellen121VAG support up to v8.
Sorry, I don't have originall engine harnes and ECU, I buy only engine with the porpuse to run stand alone unit (Tec3r) I do all the custome engine harnes but when I'm in the proces to test signal on ecu I decide upgrade ecu firmware and the ecu frezee I contact Electromotive and for the money they charge to repair I think is not worth it to repair a old designed unit, and prefer to go with a custom rusEFI.
Post Reply