Eclipse madness

It's all about the code!
Post Reply
NBytevenom
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2017 8:23 pm

Eclipse madness

Post by NBytevenom »

Hi All,

I have not used eclipse in a while, so please be warned.

I followed all the instructions in this guide http://rusefi.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=9

However I still cannot compile within eclipse. I have no problem compiling from console.
I get this error in eclipse

Code: Select all

Compiling chcoreasm_v7m.s
make: arm-none-eabi-gcc: Command not found
Compiling crt1.c
make: arm-none-eabi-gcc: Command not found
ChibiOS3/os/common/ports/ARMCMx/compilers/GCC/rules.mk:226: recipe for target 'build/obj/chcoreasm_v7m.o' failed
make: *** [build/obj/chcoreasm_v7m.o] Error 127
ChibiOS3/os/common/ports/ARMCMx/compilers/GCC/rules.mk:226: recipe for target 'build/obj/crt0_v7m.o' failed
make: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....
make: *** [build/obj/crt0_v7m.o] Error 127
make: arm-none-eabi-gcc: Command not found
ChibiOS3/os/common/ports/ARMCMx/compilers/GCC/rules.mk:217: recipe for target 'build/obj/crt1.o' failed
make: *** [build/obj/crt1.o] Error 127
Any idea of a configuration setting that I might have wrong in Eclipse?
User avatar
kb1gtt
contributor
contributor
Posts: 3758
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 1:42 am
Location: ME of USA

Re: Eclipse madness

Post by kb1gtt »

Did you get a proper validation when you did this step?
Validation: in cmd, type "arm-none-eabi-gcc -v" and you should see "...gcc version ... something"
Welcome to the friendlier side of internet crazy :)
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14327
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Eclipse madness

Post by AndreyB »

arm-none-eabi-gcc: Command not found
Eclipse cannot find ARM gcc.
Is your ARM gcc in PATH?
Have you restarted Eclipse since installing ARM gcc?
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
NBytevenom
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2017 8:23 pm

Re: Eclipse madness

Post by NBytevenom »

kb1gtt wrote:Did you get a proper validation when you did this step?
Validation: in cmd, type "arm-none-eabi-gcc -v" and you should see "...gcc version ... something"
Yes I did.
NBytevenom
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2017 8:23 pm

Re: Eclipse madness

Post by NBytevenom »

russian wrote:
arm-none-eabi-gcc: Command not found
Eclipse cannot find ARM gcc.
Is your ARM gcc in PATH?
Have you restarted Eclipse since installing ARM gcc?
So I changed the PATH variable to path (case change).
Now I have this error: ".dep/hal_usbh_msd.o.d:1: *** multiple target patterns. Stop."
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14327
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Eclipse madness

Post by AndreyB »

Not enough information.
1) please confirm where did you get source code from
2) please confirm how does 'make' work from command line
3) please confirm if you eclipse project file is any different from rusEfi eclipse project file
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
NBytevenom
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2017 8:23 pm

Re: Eclipse madness

Post by NBytevenom »

russian wrote:Not enough information.
1) please confirm where did you get source code from
2) please confirm how does 'make' work from command line
3) please confirm if you eclipse project file is any different from rusEfi eclipse project file
1) I used desktop Git to download the repository onto my computer
2) 'make' only works if I'm in the "Gnu Tools Arm" directory
3) The eclipse project file should be the exact one as the one in the Git repository.
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14327
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Eclipse madness

Post by AndreyB »

NBytevenom wrote:'make' only works if I'm in the "Gnu Tools Arm" directory
This is a really bad sign. You have some sort of a path issue. Maybe you have multiple copies of make? Maybe something else? But 'make' from command line while inside firmware folder should compile & link rusefi. No point in trying eclipse until this works.

Maybe 'make clean' once in a while while you change stuff? Maybe post full output of 'make' after 'make clean'?
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
Post Reply