How to use Trigger gap override

It's all about the code!
Post Reply
JPh
Posts: 162
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2020 10:51 am

How to use Trigger gap override

Post by JPh »

I tried to use cool new feature :
2021-10-31 16_05_44-Trigger Gap Override.png
2021-10-31 16_05_44-Trigger Gap Override.png (16.63 KiB) Viewed 3570 times
but need some help to use on this trigger shape :
Trigger logger2.png
Trigger logger2.png (7.39 KiB) Viewed 3570 times
to start with same parameters than standard 60-2 decoder what are the values to put in the fields ?

Here is the .csv file from trigger high speed logger :
2021-10-30_low RPM normal polarity.csv
(663.35 KiB) Downloaded 76 times
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 12795
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: How to use Trigger gap override

Post by AndreyB »

Step 1: update to even newer firmware and bundle to see
image.png
image.png (34.66 KiB) Viewed 3560 times
step 2: take values from console, with verbose trigger

"from" and "to" are the values you want to copy. Also see how far index goes and use value for "length" (well, index=0 would mean length=1 and index=2 would mean length=3, sorry for that)
image.png
image.png (6.18 KiB) Viewed 3560 times
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
JPh
Posts: 162
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2020 10:51 am

Re: How to use Trigger gap override

Post by JPh »

Can you explain the relative position of 5 gaps please ?
I suppose they are the 5 previous gaps of the sync event?
The numbers are ratios?
The gap override count selects how much gaps we look back so the value must be between 0 and 5 ?
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 12795
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: How to use Trigger gap override

Post by AndreyB »

Yes, current UI allows from 1 to 5 ratios, each expected ratio defined by range start and end.

There are very limited notes at https://rusefi.com/docs/html/

I've just added tooltip "How many consecutive gap rations have to match expected ranges for sync to happen"

The best way would be to look at verbose sync output in rusEFI console.
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
JPh
Posts: 162
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2020 10:51 am

Re: How to use Trigger gap override

Post by JPh »

Here is verbose sync output file asked above.
trigger info 60_2 renault.txt
(31.95 KiB) Downloaded 70 times
Last edited by JPh on Sun Nov 07, 2021 11:45 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 12795
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: How to use Trigger gap override

Post by AndreyB »

What is the context? Are you showing example? Asking for help? Reporting success?
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
JPh
Posts: 162
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2020 10:51 am

Re: How to use Trigger gap override

Post by JPh »

I do not understand the sync process :


2021-11-06_16_49_03_605: EngineState: TRG rpm=268 time=822 eventIndex=114 gapIndex=0: gap=2.517 expected from 2.250 to 3.750 error=No
2021-11-06_16_49_03_605: EngineState: TRG rpm=268 time=822 eventIndex=114 gapIndex=1: gap=1.000 expected from 0.750 to 1.250 error=No
2021-11-06_16_49_03_620: EngineState: TRG rpm=268 time=822 eventIndex=0 gapIndex=0: gap=0.587 expected from 2.250 to 3.750 error=No
2021-11-06_16_49_03_620: EngineState: TRG rpm=268 time=822 eventIndex=0 gapIndex=1: gap=2.517 expected from 0.750 to 1.250 error=No
2021-11-06_16_49_03_620: EngineState: TRG rpm=268 time=822 eventIndex=2 gapIndex=0: gap=0.674 expected from 2.250 to 3.750 error=No
2021-11-06_16_49_03_620: EngineState: TRG rpm=268 time=822 eventIndex=2 gapIndex=1: gap=0.587 expected from 0.750 to 1.250 error=No
2021-11-06_16_49_03_620: EngineState: TRG rpm=268 time=822 eventIndex=4 gapIndex=0: gap=0.995 expected from 2.250 to 3.750 error=No
2021-11-06_16_49_03_620: EngineState: TRG rpm=268 time=822 eventIndex=4 gapIndex=1: gap=0.674 expected from 0.750 to 1.250 error=No
2021-11-06_16_49_03_620: EngineState: TRG rpm=268 time=822 eventIndex=6 gapIndex=0: gap=1.007 expected from 2.250 to 3.750 error=No
2021-11-06_16_49_03_620: EngineState: TRG rpm=268 time=822 eventIndex=6 gapIndex=1: gap=0.995 expected from 0.750 to 1.250 error=No

eventIndex=114 gapIndex=0: gap=2.517 says that this gap is 2.517 times longer thant previous ?

eventIndex=114 gapIndex=1: gap=1.000 says that this gap is same length as previous ?
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 12795
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: How to use Trigger gap override

Post by AndreyB »

JPh wrote:
Sat Nov 06, 2021 7:59 pm
eventIndex=114 gapIndex=0: gap=2.517 says that this gap is 2.517 times longer thant previous ?

eventIndex=114 gapIndex=1: gap=1.000 says that this gap is same length as previous ?
yes.
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
JPh
Posts: 162
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2020 10:51 am

Re: How to use Trigger gap override

Post by JPh »

Thanks for that confirmation.
Next : is gapindex=0 always related to a pulse beginning with a rising edge and ending with a falling edge?
Is gapindex=1 always related to a pulse beginning with a falling edge and ending with a rising edge?

PS : the purpose of all this questions is to get a correct understanding of trigger decoding in order to write a page about how to use the trigger override feature.
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 12795
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: How to use Trigger gap override

Post by AndreyB »

JPh wrote:
Sun Nov 07, 2021 7:37 am
Next : is gapindex=0 always related to a pulse beginning with a rising edge and ending with a falling edge?
Sometimes but probably not in your case.

There is a setting controlling which fronts to account for. For VR we do not respond to both rising and falling, for VR we respond to EITHER rising or FALLING. so it's pulse from previous rising to current rising, totally ignoring falling.
image.png
image.png (4.96 KiB) Viewed 3086 times
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
JPh
Posts: 162
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2020 10:51 am

Re: How to use Trigger gap override

Post by JPh »

"Use only rising edge" seems not to have an effect on detailed trigger messages.

With or without it, it reports 114 events (should be 116 for à 58 teeth wheel)
JPh
Posts: 162
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2020 10:51 am

Re: How to use Trigger gap override

Post by JPh »

I gave the trigger gap override a number of trials.

All tests failed to synchronise.

In first trial, I set the gap "from" and "to" values to 2.00 - 3.00 for first gap and 0.50 - 1.50 for second gap (gap count set to 2). I tried also 0.50 - 1.50 for first gap 2.00 - 3.00 for second gap. the purpose was to mimic normal 60-2 opération.

Second test used gap values from trigger message informations.

Third test used gap values calculated from measured tooth time values.

Conclusion : user needs more info to successfully use this new feature.

Can somebody help and provide infos ?
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 12795
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: How to use Trigger gap override

Post by AndreyB »

For VR we definitely absolutely have to skip on of the fronts. Let's not even try both fronts. Reminder that two options are "only rise not inverted" and "only rise, inverted"

I see the gaps you've tried but I do not see console output when you try those gaps. Need to see more data to help.
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
JPh
Posts: 162
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2020 10:51 am

Re: How to use Trigger gap override

Post by JPh »

My problem is that when I switch on tunerstudio to trigger gap override I loose sync. When I go back on the console engine sniffer and verbose trigger message displays nothing. Am I doing something wrong?
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 12795
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: How to use Trigger gap override

Post by AndreyB »

That's unexpected. The whole point of verbose is to print regardless of sync or no sync.

It sounds that you report that override feature breaks everything completely. That is totally possible because to be honest I did not manually test override feature.

I am out of time to look into this deeper :(
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
JPh
Posts: 162
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2020 10:51 am

Re: How to use Trigger gap override

Post by JPh »

I have a warning "shaft event during trigger misconfigurated".

It's not a problem for me that you have no time now to go further since I have sync now a can continue RUSEFI work.
But this is a nice feature and I'm ready to play beta tester again...
Post Reply