HPFP control strategy

It's all about the code!
ssmith

HPFP control strategy

Post by ssmith »

I'd like to implement the HPFP control strategy. I pushed a first draft of what I think will work: https://github.com/rusefi/rusefi/pull/3453
It is based heavily on an existing standlone ECU control strategy, so I won't claim to have come up with it myself. I did however write all the code.

First, some background on how HPFP works. Note I am not an expert but this is what I found in my research.

There are two basic types of pumps. A solenoid pump, like the Bosch HDP5, works by having a pump be driven by lobes on a camshaft (or something similar). There is another type (used on, say, a BMW N54) but I don't know much about it other than it seems to be much more rare. I think it can be driven by the same type of ECU (for example, Motec does not have separate ECUs for the two pump types) but I'll just ignore this type for now.

For the solenoid type pump, the pump has a certain volume. You can activate the solenoid to request that the pump start pressurizing. Once it reaches a certain pressure, it is effectively self running and won't unlatch until the pump reaches the top. This means that if you are going to activate the pump, you activate it for a certain number of degrees BTDC of the lobe peak. You can't just activate it for the first x% of the lobe, it has to be the last x% of the lobe. Within this pump type there are two different solenoids - normally open (Bosch) and normally closed (Hitachi maybe?). I don't know much about the latter.

Thus activating the solenoid has two functions - replace the fuel consumed by the injectors, and add to the pressure of the rail. We can hopefully calculate the former, but it's really hard to calculate the latter (unless you model the volume of the rail).