Page 2 of 2

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Posted: Mon May 19, 2014 7:39 pm
by puff
file info has file created time, which is more exact than date. btw, you can learn the date after flashing the firmware - it's in the caption bar of the java console. the problem is if the day is good, the world wil see more than one firmware, which potentially leads to some misunderstanding...

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Posted: Tue May 20, 2014 2:38 am
by UnaClocker
Really shouldn't be releasing compiled versions more than once a day. We should have known good stable builds, not the bleeding edge "Oh, I tried this new trick and it didn't work out, sorry about your pistons" versions - obviously there's a time and a place for alpha alpha test versions, just need to have a stable version that gets periodically updated.
And my computer shows the date that I extracted the files from the zip, and the zip is dated the day I downloaded it. So that kind of file info must be highly operating system dependent.

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Posted: Tue May 20, 2014 2:59 am
by AndreyB
Yes you are right that the date should go into the file name and that would be the most user-friendly solution, but this and a zillion of other small improvements all cost time. We are still a bare bones operation, so I've added a line containing the date and time into the svnversion.h file which comes with the bundle. That's less user-friendly, but this I can do faster.

Yes you are right about a stable branch vs development branch, but again - we are a bare bones operation here, people come and people disappear. I do not have time to develop & test it properly, the people with real engines are not active, blah blah blah. (it's not THAT bad - there is some automated testing see http://rusefi.com/wiki/index.php?title=Development:Software:quality_assurance - without these tests it would have been impossible to develop anything)

Unfortunately right now I am not sure if we have enough for a nice stable branch - all this is still raw. We need more effort to get anything worth a branch, and currently there is not enough to attract & keep people. (Now that I am thinking about that, the version before the new high-precision timer was good. It's all in SVN history so maybe it would become a stable branch one day - current version with the new scheduler seem to still hang up randomly)

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Posted: Tue May 20, 2014 3:15 am
by UnaClocker
Yeah, that's cool, I understand. Another one of those things for the to-do list I mentioned in another thread. We'll get more contributors eventually. People who can both code microcontrollers, and understand the intricacies of the internal combustion engine and it's processes are pretty rare.

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Posted: Tue Jul 19, 2016 2:24 am
by tomiata
I've added a line containing the date and time into the svnversion.h
Is this expected, yesterday's build for 7/17/16 firmware bundle shows:
#define VCS_VERSION "10233"

If I do an "svn update -r10233" the svnversion.h file shows:
#define VCS_VERSION "10205"

Is that because the sequencing of updating the svnversion.h file vs. the last file updated for a build?

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Posted: Tue Jul 19, 2016 1:37 pm
by AndreyB
tomiata wrote:If I do an "svn update -r10233" the svnversion.h file shows:
#define VCS_VERSION "10205"
svnversion.h is updated with current SVN version locally while compiling but it's not being updated and/or checked into the repository on every commit. I just manually commit fresh svnversion.h into SVN mostly to trigger new build without changing the rest of the source code if build has failed for some reason.

This way the content of svnversion.h within a bundle reflects the right SVN version but not the actual content of the SVN. I believe back with CVS there was a native way of having true repository versions in the files, but not with SVN.

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Posted: Sat Feb 18, 2017 6:15 pm
by Dschantz
Hi,

i just bought my self an STM32F4 Discovery STM32F407 Cortex-m4 Development Board to test the rusefi. I have loaded the firmware whit out a problem but when i connect the micro usb to use the console software the computer do not detect the hardware. I have installed the driver as described. And i use the mini usb for power. Is there a jumper setting that i am missing ? When i reset the board all the 4 led blink ones but i have one green blinking not a blue as described.

Best regards

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Posted: Sat Feb 18, 2017 6:20 pm
by AndreyB
Welcome to the forum!

Can you upload a video of what you are doing to youtube? Problem is there are too many LEDs on the discovery and too many of these are red or green. I am not sure which green you are referring to.

Technically there are two firmwares to upload - discovery board firmware (optional upgrade from default weird version) and rusEfi firmware. I believe you have not uploaded rusEfi firmware. How did you do it exactly? Worth mentioning that rusEfi console own upload buttons are broken at the moment, you have to use st link utility.

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Posted: Sat Feb 18, 2017 6:29 pm
by Dschantz
Thanks for the reply,

I used the st-link link software to upload the firmware. And i downloaded the firmware from the build server.

There are 4 green led in the center for the board. When i did power up the board for the first time with out the rusefi firmware these led where blinking. I will make a movie later on.

Thank you.

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Posted: Sat Feb 18, 2017 10:53 pm
by Dschantz
How can i upload both firmware ? and where do i get the discovery board firmware ?

Thanks

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Posted: Sat Feb 18, 2017 10:56 pm
by AndreyB
discovery firmware is not important for you at the moment - but that's st link utility > ST LINK > Firmware update

rusEfi firmware is probably what you want to update - st link utility > target > Program... and point at some rusefi file from uncompressed http://rusefi.com/build_server/rusefi_bundle.zip

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Posted: Sat Feb 18, 2017 11:14 pm
by Dschantz
I have done this part:
rusEfi firmware is probably what you want to update - st link utility > target > Program... and point at some rusefi file from uncompressed http://rusefi.com/build_server/rusefi_bundle.zip

But when i connect the micro usb to the computer it is not detected, There are no com ports

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Posted: Sat Feb 18, 2017 11:17 pm
by AndreyB
Did you have a chance to make a video of how the board looks after the firmware update?
What operating system are you using?
Can you please post a screen shot of your Device Manager window if you are using Windows?

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Posted: Sat Feb 18, 2017 11:37 pm
by Dschantz
I`m sorry i cant get my youtube account to work, but i uploaded the movie to my google drive


I`m using windows 7
device.png
device.png (45.71 KiB) Viewed 45668 times

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Posted: Sat Feb 18, 2017 11:39 pm
by Abricos
ha ha ha )))) all led GREEN ))))
where did you buy it ??? link

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Posted: Sat Feb 18, 2017 11:43 pm
by AndreyB
WHAT IS THIS? Where did you buy and what _exactly_ was it called? How much did you pay for it?

This looks different from my discovery boards: no ST logo, no revision number on the board next to the logo, audio jack is not black.

But on the other hand the right LED is blinking so it does look like rusEfi firmware.

Do you have a USB/TTL device by any chance to try the non-USB serial port?

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Posted: Sat Feb 18, 2017 11:44 pm
by Dschantz
I found it on ebay, did not pay much for it. i have a usb/ttl device

http://www.ebay.com/itm/321990090213

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Posted: Sat Feb 18, 2017 11:55 pm
by AndreyB
Dschantz wrote:i have a usb/ttl device
I believe your board is not authentic, I would love to have one like that for my collection. Looking forward the exact eBay link.

With TTL you can do the following:

See http://rusefi.com/wiki/index.php?title=Manual:Software:User/en

Once the USB TTL Serial device and drivers are installed, connect GND wire to GND on the brain board
connect RX wire of the TTL to pin PC10
connect TX wire of the TTL to pin PC11
3) Set up the new serial port @ 38400 with 8/N/1 no flow control using your favorite terminal
4) Hit button 't' on the keyboard. You should get something like this:
4073 Alive

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Posted: Sun Feb 19, 2017 12:00 am
by Dschantz
http://www.ebay.com/itm/321990090213

My english and english grammar is not that grate so i apologize :roll:

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Posted: Sun Feb 19, 2017 12:03 am
by AndreyB
The picture on eBay shows ST logo and MB997C (older) part number - I believe you should request a full refund because your board is not real. LEDs colors are different - I believe eBay would take your side in this claim.

Where are you located?

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Posted: Sun Feb 19, 2017 12:05 am
by AndreyB
Would you allow me to post your video on youtube? I think it's pretty hilarious.

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Posted: Sun Feb 19, 2017 12:17 am
by Dschantz
Yes you can post the video on youtube.

And thanks i will ask for a refund =)

but it looks like the usb/ttl did the trick :P

I live in norway
rusefi.png
rusefi.png (107.33 KiB) Viewed 44919 times

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Posted: Sun Feb 19, 2017 12:22 am
by AndreyB
Dschantz wrote:i will ask for a refund =)
I believe http://www.mouser.com is big in Europe? You want manufacturer Part #: STM32F407G-DISC1

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Posted: Sun Feb 19, 2017 12:26 am
by Dschantz
Thanks =) I use https://www.elfadistrelec.no for buying parts, i see now that thay also have it :P

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Posted: Sun Feb 19, 2017 2:42 am
by AndreyB
@ can you please post a detailed picture of this board?

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Posted: Sun Feb 19, 2017 12:41 pm
by Dschantz
IMG_1766.JPG
IMG_1766.JPG (2.41 MiB) Viewed 44904 times
IMG_1765.JPG
IMG_1765.JPG (2.9 MiB) Viewed 44904 times

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Posted: Sun Feb 19, 2017 5:10 pm
by Abricos
It may be the elimination of these problems (which I have highlighted in the photo) will help you ...

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Posted: Thu Apr 25, 2019 6:05 am
by Old Grey
The Wiki and Forum says to use the rusefi.hex, but when I did my tutorial 6mths ago the bundles(snapshot_20181013_1510_rusefi & snapshot_20180929_2303_rusefi) didn't have a rusefi.hex, so I used rusefi_release.hex.

It seams to work with both so I don't really know if there is a difference, but is there a difference, or more importantly is the rusefi.hex in the new bundle correct.

Re: Setting up the board with pre-compiled binaries

Posted: Thu Apr 25, 2019 11:58 am
by AndreyB
rusefi.hex or rusefi_release.hex or rusefi_debug.hex is same thing for our purposes.