Tuner Studio Integration

It's all about the code!
Post Reply
izmirliss
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2013 10:38 pm

Tuner Studio Integration

Post by izmirliss »

Hello,

I need to help about tuner studio integration. Is there any tutorial that tells how can i communicate with tuner studio step by step. I have got the STM32f4 Discovery board with rusefi, and usb cables are connected to board.

I just need to basics... Thanks in advance...
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14292
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Tuner Studio Integration

Post by AndreyB »

Is any of the LEDs blinking? How many USB cables are connected? Have you installed serial-over-usb driver?

To start using TunerStudio, you have to create a 'New Project', choose 'Custom/browse' and select our rusefi.ini configuration file.

Which version of the firmware have you compiled?
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
izmirliss
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2013 10:38 pm

Re: Tuner Studio Integration

Post by izmirliss »

Blue LED is blinking and two usb cables are connected to computer, i have installed to the serial_over_usb driver (its looks as OK in device manager) and i've load to this compiled version ==>
russian wrote:Just to make things easier I will also publish compiled versions at http://sourceforge.net/p/rusefi/code/HEAD/tree/trunk/firmware_binary/

The folder contains the .hex file along with the version.txt which tells how old this binary is - so far this would be done manually.
and i think i'm in fault with rusefi.ini file :S
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14292
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Tuner Studio Integration

Post by AndreyB »

izmirliss wrote:I think i'm in fault with rusefi.ini file :S
Help is on the way!

Please download firmware_binary.zip - it contains a fresh version of the .hex file and rusefi.ini is now included into this bundle. You are pretty close. When you program the discovery with the new rusefi.hex and create a new tuner studio project with rusefi.ini you should see them connected.
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
izmirliss
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2013 10:38 pm

Re: Tuner Studio Integration

Post by izmirliss »

Thank you, i'm thinking to try this night and i'll make you know about advances
izmirliss
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2013 10:38 pm

Re: Tuner Studio Integration

Post by izmirliss »

Hello friends,

Finally yesterday i've connected to Rusefi without any problem :D... And i've got new questions:
1)Is there any firmware version with Manifold Air Pressure - Rotation Speed Map ?
2)Else can we make a Manifold Air Pressure - Rotation Speed map with myfloat getMap (void ) function http://rusefi.com/docs/html/map_8h.html ?

Thanks for helps...
frig
contributor
contributor
Posts: 569
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2013 8:05 pm

Re: Tuner Studio Integration

Post by frig »

Manifold Air Pressure - Rotation Speed Map ?
Its not enough. We need "speed density" algorithm implementation for quality work. But now we need good sensors reading. For example - MAP reading is too simple now, integration sensor calibrations is still in progress.
skype: frig_frig
izmirliss
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2013 10:38 pm

Re: Tuner Studio Integration

Post by izmirliss »

@frig
I think you are talking about a system that can changes the current map values for optimum values (calculated by a algorithm) am i right?
frig
contributor
contributor
Posts: 569
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2013 8:05 pm

Re: Tuner Studio Integration

Post by frig »

No. To calculate engine VE using MAP and table we need Speed Density algorithm (try to google). This algorithm considers air temperature and pressure to calculate air density. If we do not do it - on any intake air themperature change we have wrong VE and wrong mixture.
Its not to hard, but at first, i think, we need configarable thermistors, MAP, crank position sensors, and other.
skype: frig_frig
jedediah_frey
contributor
contributor
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 1:43 pm

Re: Tuner Studio Integration

Post by jedediah_frey »

frig wrote:No. To calculate engine VE using MAP and table we need Speed Density algorithm (try to google). This algorithm considers air temperature and pressure to calculate air density. If we do not do it - on any intake air temperature change we have wrong VE and wrong mixture.
Its not to hard, but at first, i think, we need configurable thermistors, MAP, crank position sensors, and other.
P*V=m*Rs*T

m/V=P/(Rs*T)
ρ = P/(Rs*T).

R[specific] (dry air) = 287.058 J/(kg*K)

P and T both have to be in absolute terms. That means adding 101 kPa to P at sea level and 273.15 K to T.

mass of air in the cylinder = cylinder displacement * ρ * VE.
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14292
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Tuner Studio Integration

Post by AndreyB »

Back to reality of current implementation, what we can do pretty easily and what we should do would be a TS property that would control what is used as a key to existing table lookup.

Right now it's hardcoded to be getMaf() in https://svn.code.sf.net/p/rusefi/code/trunk/firmware/controllers/algo/fuel_map.c

We need it to use either getMaf or getMap or getTps depending on TS configuration - I have just created a ticket, anyone capable of basic programming can improve this :)
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
izmirliss
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2013 10:38 pm

Re: Tuner Studio Integration

Post by izmirliss »

frig wrote:No. To calculate engine VE using MAP and table we need Speed Density algorithm (try to google). This algorithm considers air temperature and pressure to calculate air density. If we do not do it - on any intake air themperature change we have wrong VE and wrong mixture.
Its not to hard, but at first, i think, we need configarable thermistors, MAP, crank position sensors, and other.

Can't we configure to the system with minimum and maximum values of the sensors?
Post Reply