[help needed] msDroid

It's all about the code!
Post Reply
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 11416
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

msDroid

Post by AndreyB »

What do we know about msDroid?

There is http://www.msdroid.com/ which has MS all over it but not much info like the license or source code link, if this software is open source. Does anyone know anything about msDroid?
https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239
3400tZ
contributor
contributor
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 5:30 am

Re: msDroid

Post by 3400tZ »

It is not open source. If you have any specific questions about the software, I should be able to answer (I do have source code access) so I should be able to help. Just hit me up on Skype.
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 11416
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: msDroid

Post by AndreyB »

Well, it's a show stopper I guess.

Image

update: there is also http://dtadroid.com/
https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239
3400tZ
contributor
contributor
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 5:30 am

Re: msDroid

Post by 3400tZ »

The bottom line of that is that we don't want to promote counterfeit MS (anything that is against the MS licensing). Since rusEFI doesn't fall into that category, I don't see any problem to support it.

DTAdroid is pretty much just a rebranded MSDroid (95% same code) to be used with DTA ECUs.
puff
contributor
contributor
Posts: 2861
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 11:28 am
Location: Moskau

Re: msDroid

Post by puff »

you managed to connect? bluetooth or usb? how do i enable otg or whatever is needed? (my android recognizes usb drives, so i guess otg works fine)
User avatar
rus084
contributor
contributor
Posts: 678
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 1:40 pm
Location: Russia , Stavropol

Re: msDroid

Post by rus084 »

this programm support only ftdi usb devices?
3400tZ
contributor
contributor
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 5:30 am

Re: msDroid

Post by 3400tZ »

USB FTDI, USB Prolific and Bluetooth
puff
contributor
contributor
Posts: 2861
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 11:28 am
Location: Moskau

Re: msDroid

Post by puff »

that's a pity. what bluetooth data rate is required? (we have to set up speed of tuner studio port and the bluetoot module)
3400tZ
contributor
contributor
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 5:30 am

Re: msDroid

Post by 3400tZ »

Can you elaborate on why it's a pitty please... The app doesn't care about the bluetooth data rate, that's between the bluetooth adapter and the ECU.
puff
contributor
contributor
Posts: 2861
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 11:28 am
Location: Moskau

Re: msDroid

Post by puff »

Can you elaborate on why it's a pitty please
i presume the usb used in discovery board is neither prolific nor ftdi. It's a ChibiOS/RT Virtual COM Port (PID:0x570, VID:0483 - STMicroelectronics), and that's what is a pity.
For some reason I couldn't connect to it via bluetooth either (got the log file). I added rusefi.ini to the corresponding folder, but it didn't help… Besides, it seems my screen is too small: when I open the can pass through settings - they are never saved, probably, there should be a 'save config' button but I don't see it.
User avatar
kb1gtt
contributor
contributor
Posts: 3715
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 1:42 am
Location: ME of USA

Re: msDroid

Post by kb1gtt »

FTDI makes a chip specifically for androids http://www.ftdichip.com/Android.htm

The data from that FTDI chip is either TTL or typical 232.
Welcome to the friendlier side of internet crazy :)
3400tZ
contributor
contributor
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 5:30 am

Re: msDroid

Post by 3400tZ »

From my quick research, sounds like we're dealing with a CDC/ACM USB device. Support for that would need to be added to the app. Possibly this would work?: https://github.com/ksksue/PhysicaloidLibrary/blob/master/PhysicaloidLibrary/src/com/physicaloid/lib/usb/driver/uart/UartCdcAcm.java
puff
contributor
contributor
Posts: 2861
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 11:28 am
Location: Moskau

Re: msDroid

Post by puff »

I am pretty much sure this should help. I'd like to be among the first beta-testers :D If you add this support I wouldn't need to mess with soldering ftdi chip on frankenstein ;)
Bluetooth is a separate problem. What is strange is I am able to pass communication test easily with tuner studio, but it does not work with msdroid. Another strange observation is when in bluetooth mode my tuner studio works sort of a slower than with direct usb connection working at the same speed. As Andrey says, in usb connection baud rate doesn't make any sense, the board works at the maximum available speed, and this could explain everything. Or, when in Bluetooth mode it might be overflooded with errors, which makes bluetooth connection work slower :?:
User avatar
rus084
contributor
contributor
Posts: 678
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 1:40 pm
Location: Russia , Stavropol

Re: msDroid

Post by rus084 »

why msDroid send "Q" and "S" symbols when in rusefi.ini defined "H" ?

I downloaded rusefi.ini and moved it to msdroid ini files directory . connected power to bluetooth , connected tx line to logic analyzer . Started msdroid , pushed "connect to ecu" , and started recording on the logic analyzer programm .

In msdroid logs i saw rusefi.ini file , but it doesn't use definitions from rusefi.ini
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 11416
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: msDroid

Post by AndreyB »

https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239
User avatar
rus084
contributor
contributor
Posts: 678
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 1:40 pm
Location: Russia , Stavropol

Re: msDroid

Post by rus084 »

[video][/video]
it's works !

but having some problem :

Code: Select all

INI File errors
Line 410 : rpm : Got too many parameters for scalar output channel "rpm", going to ignore some
Line 423 : AFRactual : Got too many parameters for scalar output channel "AFRactual", going to ignore some
Line 425 : VBatt : Got too many parameters for scalar output channel "VBatt", going to ignore some
gauges from this error doesn't works .
User avatar
rus084
contributor
contributor
Posts: 678
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 1:40 pm
Location: Russia , Stavropol

Re: msDroid

Post by rus084 »

update rusefi.ini from 28 january to current .
added 2 new errors and msdroid doesn't connect to rusefi :

Code: Select all

line 154 : veLoadBins : incorrect number of arguments for array constant "veLoadBins", excepted 11 or 12 but got 10
line 156 : afrLoadBins : incorrect number of arguments for array constant "afrLoadBins", excepted 11 or 12 but got 10
User avatar
kb1gtt
contributor
contributor
Posts: 3715
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 1:42 am
Location: ME of USA

Re: msDroid

Post by kb1gtt »

Was that a bluetooth module? If so was it a ITEAD_HC-05?
Welcome to the friendlier side of internet crazy :)
User avatar
rus084
contributor
contributor
Posts: 678
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 1:40 pm
Location: Russia , Stavropol

Re: msDroid

Post by rus084 »

it was HC-06 bluetooth module
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 11416
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: msDroid

Post by AndreyB »

If only we had a chance to troubleshoot this with the *droid developers :(
https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 11416
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: msDroid

Post by AndreyB »

https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239
User avatar
rus084
contributor
contributor
Posts: 678
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 1:40 pm
Location: Russia , Stavropol

Re: msDroid

Post by rus084 »

Tryed to connect it again
Used last version of rusefi simulator and rusefi.ini . Connected via wifi
But something went wrong
Image
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 11416
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: msDroid

Post by AndreyB »

Такое ощущение, что он не нашёл rusefi.ini на телефоне? или нашёл, но ему не понравилось?
https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239
puff
contributor
contributor
Posts: 2861
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 11:28 am
Location: Moskau

Re: msDroid

Post by puff »

ещё бы знать, как туда этот файл помещать...
с ДР!
User avatar
rus084
contributor
contributor
Posts: 678
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 1:40 pm
Location: Russia , Stavropol

Re: msDroid

Post by rus084 »

файл то нашел , закинул его в /sdcard/msdroid/ini
когда в ini меняю signature на ту что выдает сообщение ошибки , в следущий раз в сообщении она выводится уже не 2 а 3 раза


спасибо)
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 11416
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: msDroid

Post by AndreyB »

@ you were asking for the status of msDroid. The status is unclear - I have no idea why does not not work and if the problem is anywhere on the rusEfi firmware side or on the msDroid side. Unfortunatelly msDroid is not open source so we really depend on the author :(
https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239
User avatar
darxfame
contributor
contributor
Posts: 259
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 10:06 pm
Location: Moscow

Re: msDroid

Post by darxfame »

@russian ok. I heard you. I make connect with autor and ask him manual to connect rusefi to MSDroid
Post Reply