narrow band oxygen sensor

It's all about the code!
Post Reply
User avatar
rus084
contributor
contributor
Posts: 678
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 1:40 pm
Location: Russia , Stavropol

narrow band oxygen sensor

Post by rus084 »

our code can works with only wide band oxygen sensor :
http://sourceforge.net/p/rusefi/code/HEAD/tree/trunk/firmware/controllers/sensors/ego.cpp
do we need just add this code ?
case narrowBand:
sensor->v1 = 0.1;
sensor->value1 = 15;
sensor->v2 = 0.9;
sensor->value2 = 14;
break;

Image
User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 14292
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: narrow band oxygen sensor

Post by AndreyB »

Done
Very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions

Always looking for C/C++/Java/PHP developers! Please help us see https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
User avatar
rus084
contributor
contributor
Posts: 678
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 1:40 pm
Location: Russia , Stavropol

Re: narrow band oxygen sensor

Post by rus084 »

thanks
Tomin
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 8:03 pm

Re: narrow band oxygen sensor

Post by Tomin »

If sensor->v1 and v2 are values for "switchpoint", it is not a good idea, I think.
It should be somewhere arround 0.5V.
0.9V is too high for rich condition and 0.1V is too small for lean condition.
Some older lambdas tends to shift whole voltage characteristic down (even under 0Volts in lean !),
so 0.5Volt is more trouble proof approach.
Tomas
User avatar
rus084
contributor
contributor
Posts: 678
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 1:40 pm
Location: Russia , Stavropol

Re: narrow band oxygen sensor

Post by rus084 »

we use interpolation , at 0,5v it will 14.5afr virtual .
Number-One
contributor
contributor
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2014 2:59 pm

Re: narrow band oxygen sensor

Post by Number-One »

You are using one wire o2 sensor?
User avatar
rus084
contributor
contributor
Posts: 678
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 1:40 pm
Location: Russia , Stavropol

Re: narrow band oxygen sensor

Post by rus084 »

no , im using 4wire sensor . (+12v heater , gnd heater , gnd sensor , output sensor)
if your sensor is narrow band , this code will work with your sensor
User avatar
kb1gtt
contributor
contributor
Posts: 3758
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 1:42 am
Location: ME of USA

Re: narrow band oxygen sensor

Post by kb1gtt »

Single wire O2 needs the engine running for aprox 20 min before the O2 readings are used for tuning and adjustments.

4 wire (with heater) needs heaters turned on and engine running for aprox 5 minutes before O2 readings are used for tuning and adjustments.

The O2 readings are bogus until the sensor is warm. Some sensors turn off the heater after they have warmed up, some keep the heater on all the time.
Welcome to the friendlier side of internet crazy :)
User avatar
rus084
contributor
contributor
Posts: 678
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 1:40 pm
Location: Russia , Stavropol

Re: narrow band oxygen sensor

Post by rus084 »

i keep heater all the time . because if i turn off it , sensor works only at big engine load .
puff
contributor
contributor
Posts: 2961
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 11:28 am
Location: Moskau

Re: narrow band oxygen sensor

Post by puff »

probably, depends upon location of the sensor...
User avatar
rus084
contributor
contributor
Posts: 678
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 1:40 pm
Location: Russia , Stavropol

Re: narrow band oxygen sensor

Post by rus084 »

yes , my is far from cylinder head .
User avatar
kb1gtt
contributor
contributor
Posts: 3758
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 1:42 am
Location: ME of USA

Re: narrow band oxygen sensor

Post by kb1gtt »

Yes a sensor that's closer to the engine will need the heater less. If you are too close to the engine, you'll get to hot and shorten the life of your sensor. The heater control has many variations. Some will PWM after a while to help keep warm, but not over fatigue the sensor.
Welcome to the friendlier side of internet crazy :)
Number-One
contributor
contributor
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2014 2:59 pm

Re: narrow band oxygen sensor

Post by Number-One »

I will fit my sensor in the final of the exhaust. 2 stroke engines are diferent, i can't use sensor after cylinder head.
Tomin
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 8:03 pm

Re: narrow band oxygen sensor

Post by Tomin »

kb1gtt wrote:Single wire O2 needs the engine running for aprox 20 min before ...
4 wire (with heater) needs heaters turned on and engine running for aprox 5 minutes ....
It is totally overstatemented. 20 minut ? No, it is much faster.
5 minutes is also too long.
If you would like, I can find some link on youtube with live data on I4 Duratec engine just after cold start.
There is a closed loop in ?one? minute cca.

I think it is not a good idea to try read some AFR from narrow band sensor. You can use it for detect UNDER or ABOVE 14.7/stoich position only,
nothing more. Any interpolation from NB sensor is bad path, I think.
Tomas
Post Reply