Need help with Frankenso 0.5 board, maybe short circuit or something is missing

Hardware inside and outside of the ECU
Post Reply
azasaw
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2019 7:05 pm

Need help with Frankenso 0.5 board, maybe short circuit or something is missing

Post by azasaw »

Short background story, while playing with sensor inputs accidentally connected 5v pin to 12v source, blew my MAX9926/TPIC8101 and some pull up/pull down resistors. Now they have been replaced but I think i have more blown parts.
Question one: Can a stm ship be shorting too but still can connect to pc and communicate with tunerstudioand.

Question two: In attached picture there clt/iat sensors data but NO SENSOR CONNECTED, shouldn't raw volts be 5v?
Tempeture.PNG
Tempeture.PNG (82.94 KiB) Viewed 225 times
And when I connect fake 300 ohm load it should be showing around 80C by NTC sensor data but it always stays stuck at around 40-50c.
CLT temp.PNG
CLT temp.PNG (58.04 KiB) Viewed 225 times
Second time posing and now with pictures, I hope that everything is understandable.

User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 10516
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City

Re: Need help with Frankenso 0.5 board, maybe short circuit or something is missing

Post by AndreyB »

A1: any kind of partial damage is possible

A2: 4.5v is close enough to 5v. We do not know what exactly do you power with what and how exactly.
https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239

azasaw
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2019 7:05 pm

Re: Need help with Frankenso 0.5 board, maybe short circuit or something is missing

Post by azasaw »

A2: ecu is powered by a bench power supply 12v and amp draw is around 0.09-0.10. It is connected to a 12v-switch pin and ground connected to a big pad labeled GND near the sd card slot.
Power.jpg
Power.jpg (4.02 MiB) Viewed 221 times

azasaw
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2019 7:05 pm

Re: Need help with Frankenso 0.5 board, maybe short circuit or something is missing

Post by azasaw »

And checking the 5v rail I have 4.99v, and voltage after pull up resistor is 4.98v or at pin that clt/iat connects i have 4.98v.

User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 10516
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City

Re: Need help with Frankenso 0.5 board, maybe short circuit or something is missing

Post by AndreyB »

So this is a real stm32 Frankenso without discovery? Very few people run those.

You need to investigate ADC reference voltage schematics and if it matches your "ADC vRef voltage" setting.
https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239

User avatar
kb1gtt
contributor
contributor
Posts: 3647
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 1:42 am
Location: ME of USA

Re: Need help with Frankenso 0.5 board, maybe short circuit or something is missing

Post by kb1gtt »

Can you check the op-amp circuits? Those could be broken, or the STM32 could be broken. Do you measure the proper volts on the STM32 pin, then read an incorrect value in TS? Currently My guess is that the op-map is not providing a proper signal to the STM32, so the STM32 then provides a bad signal to TS.
Welcome to the friendlier side of internet crazy :)

azasaw
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2019 7:05 pm

Re: Need help with Frankenso 0.5 board, maybe short circuit or something is missing

Post by azasaw »

AndreyB: Yes Frankenso without discovery, you mean this?
Vref.PNG
Vref.PNG (398.07 KiB) Viewed 204 times


kb1gtt: op amp with no sensors connected have an output of 4.91v on leg 8/9 and 13/14, and at stm32 pin I haves 2.45v

User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 10516
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City

Re: Need help with Frankenso 0.5 board, maybe short circuit or something is missing

Post by AndreyB »

Yes, what do you measure there and what does "ADC vRef voltage" setting say in Tuner Studio?
https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239

azasaw
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2019 7:05 pm

Re: Need help with Frankenso 0.5 board, maybe short circuit or something is missing

Post by azasaw »

I have 3.27v on pins and in tuner studio i have 3.00.

User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 10516
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City

Re: Need help with Frankenso 0.5 board, maybe short circuit or something is missing

Post by AndreyB »

change 3.0 to 3.27v

it could be that discovery and Frankenso VDDA schematics is different
https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239

azasaw
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2019 7:05 pm

Re: Need help with Frankenso 0.5 board, maybe short circuit or something is missing

Post by azasaw »

Yes changed it to 3.27 now the raw voltage dial shows around 5v, but I still have the same problem the temperature doesn't move past 50c and with nothing connected shows 8c, doesn't correspond to ohm calibration.

What voltage I should be getting at an stm32 leg with a disconnected sensor? I have 2.45v.

User avatar
AndreyB
Site Admin
Posts: 10516
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City

Re: Need help with Frankenso 0.5 board, maybe short circuit or something is missing

Post by AndreyB »

op-amp divider ratio is 2:1 so 5v becomes 2.5v
https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239

azasaw
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2019 7:05 pm

Re: Need help with Frankenso 0.5 board, maybe short circuit or something is missing

Post by azasaw »

For clarification purposes but dose, the op-amp has inside divider ratio or are two resistors like R214/R215 does that, because at op-amp output leg I have 4.91 but after those resistors, I have 2.45. and after those resistors track goes straight to the stm32 pin

User avatar
kb1gtt
contributor
contributor
Posts: 3647
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 1:42 am
Location: ME of USA

Re: Need help with Frankenso 0.5 board, maybe short circuit or something is missing

Post by kb1gtt »

Yes the op-amp has a divider. Yours appears to be a correct 2:1 step down. The ADC is limited to something like 3V, so we have to step down the 5V to below 3V.
Welcome to the friendlier side of internet crazy :)

azasaw
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2019 7:05 pm

Re: Need help with Frankenso 0.5 board, maybe short circuit or something is missing

Post by azasaw »

So it seems that the stm32 chip being broken is the culprit of strange reading I'm getting in tuner studio.

Post Reply