[info] Greetings Arkansas Duratec V6

Your chance to introduce yourself and to ask your first question
Post Reply
caish
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2019 1:18 am
Soldering skill: yes
Coding skill?: yes

Greetings Arkansas Duratec V6

Post by caish » Tue Apr 23, 2019 1:27 am

Hello from Arkansas.
I joined up because I'm seriously considering a project build.
Being of limited means, and I'm a Linux User, I love open source stuff.
Though i understand there seems to be no Linux port, thats fine, but an Android port would be cool, with ability to tune from your android based car stereo. No PC needed...
So off to the races.
I got a 95 Ford Probe, 2.0L
I want to drop in a Ford/Mazda Duratec 3.0L v6,
Since it seems Ford has made it nearly impossible with PATS etc to create a stand alone ecm from a stock one.
Can/Is rusEFI able to control SEFI/spark etc of the 2005 model?
I don't have much in the way of specs yet,
Future plans would be a Turbo, but for now.
Replacing a lazy 115 HP four with a 220hp 3 liter would be cool.
I've read lots of the site, and seen many engines running, but there is a little difference between running and having a driving tune?
Thank you very much....
Love the work you all have put in...

User avatar
russian
Site Admin
Posts: 9521
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Soldering skill: yes
Coding skill?: yes
Contact:

Re: Greetings Arkansas Duratec V6

Post by russian » Tue Apr 23, 2019 1:46 am

Hello and welcome!

At the moment I am only aware of 500 meters total driven with electronic throttle body, this one needs it's first champion. A 2005 car could have one?
caish wrote:
Tue Apr 23, 2019 1:27 am
but there is a little difference between running and having a driving tune?
Fair point :) Just updated https://rusefi.com/wiki/index.php?title ... ent_Status marking a few cars which did 3000+ km on roads or race tracks.
https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239

caish
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2019 1:18 am
Soldering skill: yes
Coding skill?: yes

Re: Greetings Arkansas Duratec V6

Post by caish » Tue Apr 23, 2019 1:56 am

I found a donor car, was looking at for the powertrain swap.
You bring up an interesting point, I have not went to look at it yet (3 hours away) and I honestly don't know if its drive by wire.
Now you got me wondering if some earlier versions, like a Lincoln LS 3.0 had a cable throttle body.
I know the Mercury Cougar 2.5L is same family Duratec, and it has a cable, but might be smaller, and I bet some of the DOHC Taurus models too.
If that is overcome to a regular throttle body/IAC could rusEFI be capable?
I seen the fours/videos etc racing.
Just wasn't sure it would be the right choice....
Thanks again.
Which model would be the correct for the application?

User avatar
russian
Site Admin
Posts: 9521
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Soldering skill: yes
Coding skill?: yes
Contact:

Re: Greetings Arkansas Duratec V6

Post by russian » Tue Apr 23, 2019 2:03 am

I have no idea what limitations we could hit to be honest. I did not touch a v6 block in my life, I've only looked at those - I do not know anything about the specifics of this engine. Port injected or direct injected? :)
caish wrote:
Tue Apr 23, 2019 1:56 am
Which model would be the correct for the application?
Which board you mean? Frankenso
https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239

caish
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2019 1:18 am
Soldering skill: yes
Coding skill?: yes

Re: Greetings Arkansas Duratec V6

Post by caish » Tue Apr 23, 2019 2:41 am

russian wrote:
Tue Apr 23, 2019 2:03 am

Which board you mean? Frankenso
What model would work for a standalone ecm?

User avatar
russian
Site Admin
Posts: 9521
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Soldering skill: yes
Coding skill?: yes
Contact:

Re: Greetings Arkansas Duratec V6

Post by russian » Tue Apr 23, 2019 3:20 am

caish wrote:
Tue Apr 23, 2019 2:41 am
What model would work for a standalone ecm?
I do not understand. What model of what?
https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239

User avatar
kb1gtt
contributor
contributor
Posts: 3407
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 1:42 am
Location: ME of USA
Contact:

Re: Greetings Arkansas Duratec V6

Post by kb1gtt » Tue Apr 23, 2019 9:32 am

Hello and welcome along. Have you found the wiki? Here is a link you might find interesting.
https://rusefi.com/wiki/index.php?title ... enso_board

I suspect you are coming from the MS frame of mind, where they have many upgrade models. We don't have sub modules like MS does.
Welcome to the friendlier side of internet crazy :)

caish
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2019 1:18 am
Soldering skill: yes
Coding skill?: yes

Re: Greetings Arkansas Duratec V6

Post by caish » Tue Apr 23, 2019 12:05 pm

What pieces do I need to order,
To complete the engine control module?
Frankenso, Frankenstein, etc.
That does not seem to be clear on the wiki, leaves one a bit confused at least to me, I don't want to order one piece to find I should have ordered this one instead...
Sorry if I wasn't clear....

User avatar
russian
Site Admin
Posts: 9521
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Jersey City
Soldering skill: yes
Coding skill?: yes
Contact:

Re: Greetings Arkansas Duratec V6

Post by russian » Tue Apr 23, 2019 1:51 pm

https://rusefi.com/s/howtocontribute
very limited telepathic abilities - please post logs & tunes where appropriate - http://rusefi.com/s/questions
my skype is arro239

caish
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2019 1:18 am
Soldering skill: yes
Coding skill?: yes

Re: Greetings Arkansas Duratec V6

Post by caish » Tue Apr 23, 2019 6:28 pm

russian wrote:
Tue Apr 23, 2019 1:51 pm
https://rusefi.com/wiki/index.php?title ... e:For_Sale is the comparison

Are you looking to assemble? I recommend https://www.tindie.com/products/russian ... o-diy-kit/ with all options

Assembled? https://www.tindie.com/products/russian ... ll-bundle/
Thank You, I can solder wires together, but no way i could solder up a whole circuit board, so it would for sure be an assembled unit.

Post Reply